We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing escape that was right in the city”
Review of Yantarasiri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yantarasiri Resort
Ranked #161 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing escape that was right in the city”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

WOW! What an amazing place! We arrived at 10:00 at night to see it all lit up for Christmas. All rooms open onto the courtyard where the pool is. It's a tropical oasis one block in from the main strip, and within walking distance to anything you want (including a Starbucks which is tough to find in Thailand). You feel like you've escaped the city when you walk into this resort. The rooms are nicely decorated with local wood items. Bathroom had a rain shower and modern sink, toilette etc.

The chair on the deck overlooking the pool was so comfortable to sit and read a book, though a second chair (so we could both enjoy it) would have been nice. I called to ask but was told 1 per room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennyCrane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    158
    48
    13
    14
See reviews for
31
81
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a great little hotel. The pool area is very nice. The rooms are clean. I love the bathroom with the rocks everywhere, very cool. The bed is a bit on the hard side but I am coming from a therapeutic bed and I think every bed in Thailand is just on the firm side in every hotel. The grounds are very nice too. The area of this place is very hip and seemed to be for the younger crowd which was cool. Went to the I Love Godzilla Japanese restaurant on Godzilla St...a bit random but very good food. Oh and the bathtub we had could fit probably about 6 grown people it was absolutely huge! We only stayed here for two nights and moved only because we were hotel hopping. Id stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuapepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I'm from Chiang Mai and I have brought many of my friends to this hotel in the past but never ever again. It used to be a really lovely place with a great garden but this all changed. The last time I put up 'Yantarasiri regulars' there, they were again let down by the management of this place. The room was AGAIN moldy and with a very bad smell. Only after a fight, they were 'allowed' to change in a different room. One night the aircon did not work and only after having shouted at the staff they moved. I'm living in Thailand for 12 years and I know one should not shout but even this does not help in that place. I'm also living nearby myself and I only see Thai customers ourdays. No wonder...Thais do not shout and do not complain...They just don't go back but I have not seen many foreigners going in and out of that place anymore....AVOID

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cape068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very good hotel with very helpful staff. The Niminh area is very modern, and busy with affluent Thais in the bars coffee shops and restaurants, but not the old town type of atmosphere that many tourists are looking for. The lovely Yantarasri is a bit of an Oasis in this steel and glass environment. For those wanting to watch English Premier League footy the Cine bar is good, across the main road from the Yantarasri near the Mayflower hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I been in Chiangmai for a couple of days and ended my stay in Yantarasri Resort in Chiangmai. The resort looks impressive on the website but to my dismay was not what I had picture it yo be.

Although they call it a Resort and Spa, The spa is not much to talk about. The massage places on the streets I would think is far cosier. I do not recommend this place for people who are unable to climb up stairs because there is no lift. Rooms are cosy but floor boards are creaky, cupboard doors creak when they open and door creak too.

Staff here is not what you expect of the Thai Service. Arrival at the reception was a disappointment, throughout Thailand whenever I check-in there was that beautiful Thai smile and greeting but not at the Yantarasri Resort and Spa. I think they should change their name to Yantarasri Hotel and not Resort and Spa. I requested for a check out of about 30mins later then the schedule check out time of 12pm and the respond I got was you must check out before twelve because the maids need to clean the room for arrival of the next guest. Why should I check out
before 12 when check out is 12!!!!

Staff did not seem interested to provide service or that Thai Smile. I was at the reception or so call lobby checking out spa treatment.... none of the staff approached me to assist me but all seated and chatting away about 5 staff in the lobby.

It was a dissappointing end to my Thailand Vacation. Never will I ever stay here again at the price they charge I would have expected service of a high end hotel.

Room Tip: Think twice before booking a stay here...... I think there are better hotels at the price the Yantar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgmarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elanora, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is beautiful and the staff and facilities great. It is a hidden oasis in the middle of a bustling city. It give you a flavour of Old Chang Mai. Breakfast is good and the restaurant area makes you feel like you were there decades ago. Very peaceful and tranquil and the pool area is a delight. Definately value for money and can't recommend it highly enough. Situated in a Korean suburb Its away from the Old town and the tourist area thus the locals are charming as you are an unusual part of their day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamsps18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights and found the staff at the front desk extremely hard to communicate with. We made our reservations 6 months in advance, but were still put on the 3rd floor which had no balcony. We were traveling with friends who needed to be on ground floor for medical reason and even though I informed them prior to their check-in the staff did nothing to accommodate them. I was so excited to take a bath, but found there was no hot water. They came numerous times to try and correct the issue,but after three failed attempts I gave up trying. The spa was double the price of any of the other spas around, so I did not want to even try the spa. The website looks great and says there is 24 hour room service, but I found that not to be true and they did not offer room service at all. The TV only had a couple of english channels. Outside of our room the hotel had a lot of character, but that was about it.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a ground floor room because there is no lift on the permise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1AdventureTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
The Empire Residence Nimman
The Empire Residence Nimman
#172 of 383 in Chiang Mai
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Sanae Hotel
Sanae Hotel
#83 of 383 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Karinthip Village
Karinthip Village
#173 of 383 in Chiang Mai
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Craft Nimman
The Craft Nimman
#119 of 383 in Chiang Mai
13 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
Lanna Palace 2004 Hotel
#291 of 383 in Chiang Mai
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yantarasiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yantarasiri Resort

Property: Yantarasiri Resort
Address: 24/17 Nimmanhaemin Road Soi 6 Tambol Suthep | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yantarasiri Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Yantarasiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yantarasiri Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing