We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Cute, Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Micasa Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Micasa Guesthouse
Ranked #257 of 711 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, Cute, Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in the Violet Room on the 3rd floor. It was 900 baht/night and it was beautiful. The room is a great size and the whole place just has a great feel to it. The location is perfect, internet is free for guests, the staff are very nice, and there is a travel agent right in the front lobby to help you plan your time in Chiang Mai. Our only issue was that there were some holes in the mosquito net over the bed and we left with a few bites. Hopefully, they will replace the mosquito net soon.

Room Tip: Violet room on the 3rd floor is beautiful! I think it's probably quieter than other rooms also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
16
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Quite frankly with a price for guest house in chiangmai Mai as it is, any small issues one could live with. Like in our case for example: we got a room with air-con, but it didn't really work and we had to open a balcony door to get some fresh air during the night. Unfortunately with the fresh air we also got many mosquitoes and noise from outside street.

I do not say this is something which really really bothered us, and they had those anti-mosquito scrims, but it somehow affected the quality of sleep.

On the positive side, staff was very friendly. Wifi worked in the room, toilets with showers and rooms were clean, so really no major issues. Price and location were perfect for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonNico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have stayed at Micasa during two separate trips. Both times were great. It's a simple guesthouse.. I really enjoyed how close it is to many food places and fun things to check out around Chiang Mai. Yes, it could get noisy.. but the noise didn't really bother me too much.

Right in front of Micasa, there are places to get your laundry done (30 bath per kilo) and to rent a motorcycle/scooter (about 200 baht per day).

The room cost was about 600+ bath per night, which isn't bad at all. considering it's a guesthouse and so close to center of activities in chiang mai

Room Tip: I have booked the downstairs room both visits. I figured the rooms upstairs would have been noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buzz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

This little guest house was perfectly postioned in a quiet lane near the Thapae road and 5 minutes from the old city centre. It was clean and friendly and felt like being in a family environment. The lobby is open to the street so it's fun to see the comings and goings. Good and cheap laundry right opposite. Some noise sometimes at night seems inevitable for the city centre but was not constant or overwhelming, and a pair of earplugs works wonders. There's a friendly lady who speaks good English and organises tourist trips and helped me with flight arrangements. Close to several of the hundreds of wonderful temples in Chiang Mai. Loved the city temples, massage shops, night markets and flower market, wide choice of excellent and very cheap food, and fruit smoothies (lady on the corner of the lane by temple is best and cheapest).

Room Tip: Guest house has wifi but it does not operate in all rooms although can always be used in lobby. '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaBi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed for almost 2 weeks at micasa guesthouse because we liked it so much! the staff is very friendly, they made us feel like being at home!
the guesthouse is also very nice looking, the cafe area is just beautiful and the rooms are also all individually decorated. we had a fan room with a small balcony, tv and fridge with a shared bathroom (only share with one other room though, and it was always very clean) for a very cheap price. the location is absolutely perfect, right between the old town and the night market on a quiet street, laundry is just opposite on the road.
anyway, it was one of our very favorite places on the whole trip!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southeastasiamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoi an
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

Hi,

stayed in Micasa for some weeks. Staff is very nice and the place looks beautiful. But there is quit some noise because the walls between the rooms are very thin.
Outside it is often terrible and we slept very bad. Dogs from the neighbour barking the whole night. The staff already spoke to him but his answer was that he lived at that place much longer before they started the guesthouse. Then there is a guesthouse a little futher and a lot of people pass by in the night , mostly making a lot of noise, drunk etc, just having a good time, but diffucult to sleep for us.
So, nice place, staff is very friendly but.......will not stay anymore because of the noise.

Kevin

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

My wife and me stayed here three nights and really enjoyed the cosy atmosphere of this guesthous, situated in a quite side road of the big Tapae Road. The architecture is very good and great attention has been given to every single details. You feel at home here... We had the Green room, large windows and tons of daylight. We first saw the Pink room, also quite cute but unfortunately no real window (kind of mosaic windows similar to the staircase windows). Very good breakfast, international newspaper and free internet makes it the perfect base camp to explore Chiang Mai and prepare a Top North expedition...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#112 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#155 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#156 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yourhouse Guesthouse
Yourhouse Guesthouse
#176 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stay With Me Guest House
Stay With Me Guest House
#130 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Thapae Hotel
Na Thapae Hotel
#209 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Micasa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Micasa Guesthouse

Property: Micasa Guesthouse
Address: Thapae Soi 4 | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Micasa Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Micasa Guesthouse. Comfortable, modern, clean, sophisticated accommodation in a designer decorated boutique guest house in the heart of Chiang Mai. Micasa is a warm, welcoming boutique guest house with 17 rooms, located in the renowned Thapae tourist area in the center of downtown Chiang Mai, North Thailand. Completed with tasteful renovations to an old shop front in 2007 and conveniently located in the middle of town close to all major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Micasa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micasa Guesthouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing