We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Enjoyed a week at Studio 99 just before Christmas 2013. Stayed in Apartment 1 which is on the ground floor next to reception - no steps - yeah.

The apartment was simple and clean. The bedroom is separate to the lounge which enables going to bed at a different time to your partner if there is a need.

Location wise you won't get much better - Thapae Road is a short walk from the apartment but without the noise of being on a main road. It is also a short walk to the night market.

Only downside was the TV reception which wasn't much good - but this didn't bother me. The free wifi reception was very good.

There is an additional charge for electricity usage - not a bad thing as it encourages modest use of things such as the air conditioning. It cost us about AUD 10 (300 baht) for the week.

The lady at reception was always willing and helpful.

We would come back here when next in Chiang Mai. The big pluses are location and cleanliness.

Bernie and Liz

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 1 which was on ground floor next to reception. Gets a little bit of noise no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernienLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here last year and were happy to come back again. The apartments are very spacious and well appointed. My only criticism however concerns the linens. The towels and sheets are very tired and need urgent replacement.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, General Manager at Studio 99 Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you Debbie for taking the time to leave a review here on Tripadvisor. I am the new manager here at Studio 99. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the sheets and towels, when we took over the hotel/serviced apartments at the beginning of this month, the linens were our first priority. As of today all towels have been replaced as have all of the bed sheets that needed replacing. We hope that you would consider to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I spent a week in a ground floor Garden Apartment Type B and really enjoyed it. The room was very modern and clean and all the staff at reception were very friendly. Although the rooms have small kitchen facilities, I never felt the urge to cook anything given that great food is everywhere in Chiang Mai. The room does however have a good sized fridge.

Location wise, Studio 99 is tucked in at the end of a lane leading west off Soi 3 Thapae. It's quiet down there, not much around the immediate area. But it's only a few minutes walk to the popular streets like Thapae, Loi Kroh and Moon Muang.

I liked the style of Studio 99, and the longer stay rates are really good. Oh, and there's security on the building when reception is closed (even though I did sneak past a couple of times without waking him up:). A good place to stay for more than a few days.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have a small outside garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We've enjoyed our stay at this convenient location close to Thapae Rd/Gate. Accommodations are clean and comfortable down a quiet Soi. Only thing missing, from making this in the 5-star league, would be a nice pool to relax by.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RANDELPOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with my family of 5 grown ups, and the setup was perfect for us.

Price was reasonable, location quite strategic along the main street, close to the night bazaar and Thaepae gate. The place was really quiet and peaceful at night, but it did not feel unsafe walking back during the night.

The rooms were spacious, comfortable and the water pressure in the toilet was strong, which makes taking baths such a joy. The facilities were sufficient although the fridge didn't seemed cold enough.

The only downside was that they did not have a storage room for baggage while waiting to check it, and was left behind the counter while we went out to walk about. The lobby was also not air conditioned, so it was really hot while waiting for check in and after check out whilst waiting for our taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A pretty good location with breakfast available further down the street and a wat (temple) along the soi you'll be walking to the main street. The wat is a quiet one but very nice to just walk around in contrast to the more touristy ones. There's a local family right across the facility that offers cheap laundry. The bedrooms and living area are big, not much to complain about.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank ashkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Viewed a video online prior to booking, did not quite match what we found. There for a week, no linen change one small towel per person. Lights, not all working. Air conditioning was cold and could not be changed, no screens on doors, to leave doors open meant mossies invaded. It was clean and the facility was central for our needs. Staff friendly and helpful on a wet evening, given umbrellas without asking. Location is quiet, taxis easy to get at end of Soi, found it was a recognised destination by most red taxi drivers. Electricity cost of almost 3,000baht was a bit much for time there given that we spent most of our time out and about. We did our own breakfasts which was easy with a cooking hob, crockery and cutlery were adequate.

Room Tip: We were three people husband & wife and wifes sister shared a two room apartment which was roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S, Manager at Studio 99 Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2015

Dear Gerry,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry that certain aspects of your stay were not to the standard you expected. Studio 99 has been under new management since early 2014. When we came in we very quickly replaced all linens and towels as well as running a full service on all of the air-conditioners, replacing them where necessary.

Another thing we did is to scrap the extra electricity and water charges for all guests. Our housekeeping team also now provide daily room cleaning and fresh towels and linens free of charge making our apartments even better value for money.

We do hope that your last experience with us will not deter you from staying again and that we have the opportunity to show just how much has changed in the last year or so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 392 in Chiang Mai
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,367 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 392 in Chiang Mai
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 99 Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 99 Serviced Apartments

Address: 48 Soi 3, Thapae Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 933 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £56 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Studio 99 Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Studio 99 Serviced Apartments offer the perfect balance of modern style living and convenience. All of our apartments come fully equipped to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Walking to some of Chiang Mai's most popular tourist destinations is a breeze with the central location offering easy access to the famous Night Bazaar, Old City Walls, Wat Phra Singh and Thapae Gate. Offering both 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, Studio 99 is ideal for families, groups and travelers looking to spend their time in Chiang Mai in the comfort of a hotel and the freedom of an apartment. Our friendly staff are always on hand to give helpful advice and knowledgeable suggestions on where to go and what to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Sawasdee and Cancelon so you can book your Studio 99 Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing