We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gongkaew Chiangmai Home
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Iv stayed here twice now and loved it both times! The staff are really friendly and offer tips on tours and places to go and see.
The hostel itself is clean, beds are comfortable, ac in rooms, laundry facilities. One of the best things about them is free tea, coffee, toast and bananas all day! They also have a really good fruit salad for breakfast, I was told its 450g of fruit, a bit too much for me but all the same really good!
A short walk to reach centre but I rented bicycle and it was great way to get around.
It's a great place to relax so if your young and want to drink then probably not best place for you but I needed somewhere to chill out before going home so this was perfect for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleyhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

I'm just finished an extended stay at the Gongkaew after spending the last week here.

The beds in a dorm room is 250 baht a night. The rooms are clean, have air con and a decent size.

The showers and toilets are all clean too. The water from the showers never gets hot but isn't freezing cold either.

The owners are really approachable and they will help you with anything you like. From booking trips, bikes, trains etc whatever. It's definitely a chilled out hostel and there are no loud parties here. That said you can meet people almost everyday here who will be up for food and drinks. At least I did.

The wifi is good but struggles in the room sometimes. They put in all the tea and toast you can have for free and they have a washing machine to do your laundry. It's 40baht but they provide washing powder too.

I would happily recommend this as a place to stay to any fellow backpacker

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The hostel is a nice little oasis tucked into Chiang Mai. We stayed in a 2 twin bed room, which was small but nice. The bed was a little lumpy, but the AC worked great. The water did not get very hot in the shower. The common area of the hostel is really relaxed, and the guests are very friendly towards each other. There are also computers available. We did have trouble using the wireless internet on our last night and day, but it was good other than that. I highly recommend the fruit and yogurt breakfast! It's huge, delicious, and cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

After exploring hectic Chiang Mai, finding such a quiet, calm guesthouse was a pleasant surprise. Staff are friendly and do anything to help. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Communal area is pleasant and a relaxed place to meet people. Mosquitos were a problem, so bring good repellant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Gongkaew would have to be the most relaxed and welcoming hostel we have stayed at. It has a lot of character and charm, partially due to the staff's admirable commitment to making sure those who stay have a memorable time in Chiang Mai. Family run, with goregous baby kittens, and an extensive garden space with frogs! The dorms we were in were extremely clean and everyone was so friendly. A must stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in Gongkaew for 3 nights and it's been really great. It is peaceful, the garden is really nice, there is free coffee, tea and toasts, as well as internet and wifi. The double room we stayed in is clean and get cleaned every day. The bathroom was big enough, the bed is big and comfortable. Also, the mosquito nets on the windows are efficient.
We were arriving late (10:30 PM) and they came to pick us up at the airport for 120 bahts, which is the exact price a taxi will charge you (I saw a sign inside the airport), and you don't have the problem to explain the taxi driver where your hotel is.
The only minus side I see is that it is fairly far from the "center", ie Tha Phae Gate. There are some local restaurants around, though, that are cheap and good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My taxi driver had no idea where this place was. Luckily, I had printed the map beforehand.

My room was very basic. Cement floors. Bed. AC unit. Shower. Toilet. It reminded me more of an mobile home camp in the US than a hostel. I made friends with a lizard who I suppose lived in my bathroom.

The computer area was good, but everytime I was there I got destroyed by mosquitoes.

It's also located pretty far from the downtown/night market scene. Oh well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corndog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
House No. 11
House No. 11
#30 of 969 in Chiang Mai
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gallery 24, Art Cafe Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Love CNX
Love CNX
#70 of 969 in Chiang Mai
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hug Bed and Breakfast
Hug Bed and Breakfast
#52 of 969 in Chiang Mai
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nature's Way House
Nature's Way House
#60 of 969 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
1.1 mi away
Absolute House
Absolute House
#20 of 969 in Chiang Mai
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gongkaew Chiangmai Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Address: 5/2, Soi 3, Singharath Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 969 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £9 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gongkaew Chiangmai Home 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gongkaew Chiangmai Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing