We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful hostel in beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gongkaew Chiangmai Home
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful hostel in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at Gongkaeq Chiangmai Home for several nights before heading to Pai. The hostel has a lovely atmosphere, with the dorm buildings and private rooms arranged like little houses around the garden. There is lots of seating outside under an open-roofed area, and I loved the big comfy cushions and hearing the geckos and frogs at night whilst sitting out there.

Free toast available 24/7 was a great touch and there's a book exchange, two free computers and a washing machine (40B, can fit 11kg!) and racks/lines to dry your clothes on outside each 'house'. Rooms were clean with air con, reading lights and door locks. The showers and toilets were mostly fine, but there was a problem with the water on one of the days we were there.The front gate is locked at night, but guests are given a key so that they can get in if out later. The staff were very friendly and helpful in organising transport.

The location is ok - there aren't many places to eat, but you're very close to the Saturday/Sunday Walking Markets, where you can pick up great food (such as banana spring rolls for 5B), if you're there at the weekend. Other than that, there is also a 7-11 nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    31
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
33
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This place is very nice, beautiful outdoor area with great wifi and the staff are very helpful, didn't overcharge with bookings and always answer any questions. Rooms were clean as we're bathrooms. Nice and quiet and in the centre of town!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank emmalis93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Loved it here so much I came back after pai. It's great they book everything for you and help you get to places. It's a few minutes walk to the Chiang Mai area.
But loved chaing Mai there's soo much to do here and I love wondering around and seeing monks too

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyjeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Great location and the owners are really nice. Rooms are clean and the bathroom is okay for asia. Sandwiches coffee tea or hot chocolate free whole day. I stayed here in total 7 night (4 nights first time 3 night second time ) and had a great time and the owner noa helped us with everything! I stayed here during the loy krathong and we made our own flower things with the family for free! They also guide us to the best places during the festival. Couldn't stay in a better place, gong kaew I am looking forward to come back within a couple years. Thank you for the pleasant stay. Greetz, the 2 Dutch ladies and the Swiss girl!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dutch1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

The room and everything was ok, but our bathroom was terrible. The toilet was leaking and got worse over the four nights we were there, which meant it just smelt of sewage every time we opened the door. On the last night the tap under our sink started leaking too so meant we couldn't go to the toilet without our feet getting wet. 24 hours after having a shower and the shower floor remained wet, so very damp and smelly bathroom. However, free bottle of water each day and maid kept it clean. We did have a couple of cockroaches in the room (and geckos but we didn't mind them so much). Cheap airport pick up and drop off which was convenient. Wifi was ok but not great. Computers in communal area good for printing out flight information costing 5 thai baht a sheet. Free tea, coffee, bananas and toast available all times of day was really good! No laundry service, but use of the machine worked out cheaper! Staff always willing to help and booked us a few trips. Although when we arrived we asked the lady which was the best way to the nearest restaurant, she told us 'left then left' which we did and found somewhere good after a little bit of a walk. But the next day we went 'right then right' and realised that's were everything was! I don't know why she told us the opposite. Location is good, easy walking distance to everything in main part of Chiang Mai and really quick from airport which is good. Lots of wildlife at this place though, squirrels, frogs, geckos, chickens (really annoying rooster that wakes everyone up as soon as it's day light... But you get used to it), cats, dogs, bats and of course cockroaches! The only thing other than our bathroom which I didn't like too much was that if the communal area was loud with people coming back after a night out, it woke us up as we were in the little cabin right opposite it. Would recommend but they really need to fix the toilet first, otherwise, fine for a few nights, everything you could need. Comfy beds and couldn't hear people in room next to us, so apart from the frogs outside it was a very quiet nights sleep for a good price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zobug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was a neat little place tucked away in the old city. The location was pretty good as it was reasonably close to all amenities, while still being a fairly quiet property. (There was a mid-sized building construction site operating right next door when we stayed there, but it didn't operate at unreasonable hours, and looked like it would be completed in a couple of months anyway. Plus I can't exactly blame the hostel for something like that.)
The office, lounge area and bathrooms were a neat open concept style with nice roofs over them, but no walls (except, obviously, around the toilets and showers) The bathrooms were tidy enough, although the cleaning staff apparently cut some corners; toilet paper needed to be replaced more frequently, and one of the shower drains stayed quite clogged with hair for all three nights. Certainly nothing outrageous for a hostel, as always, check the TP situation before you use the toilet.
The downside to the open concept was that it gave the mosquitoes free reign everywhere except for the rooms themselves. Anyone travelling in Thailand will know that this is something of a malaria concern, although much less so in Chiang Mai than many other areas. I would also say that being so exposed to the elements gave the whole place something of a shabby feel, but again, I don't expect 5-star decor at a hostel. It just seems strange to see lockers, PC's, washing machines and furniture out in the open, and they all look a little worse for wear because of it.
The beds were pretty comfortable, my only gripe with the dorm room was that there was a big window in the door which allowed the exterior light in to shine in all night from the hallway directly adjacent. That won't bother some people, but I found the room to be too bright.
All in all I found the Gongkaew ChiangMai House to be a decent little place for a good price, and with very friendly staff who know the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have just left this hostel and it was awesome!! One of the cleanest hostels I have ever been in. I stayed in the 8 bed all girls dorm. It really could not have been cleaner. Really not sure how people can have a problem with cleanliness as they were cleaning the whole place every morning from top to bottom to the extreme!! There was even hot showers! Amazing! The Internet was amazingly fast I managed to Skype my mum in uk without a hitch. I stayed 3 nights and would have been happy to stay longer. The fabulous lady on reception hired me one of their shooters, she booked a fabulous cooking experience and all my travel requirements. I have been travelling for a year and so I can say this was one of the best! Enjoy!

Room Tip: If u are a woman, I would highly recommend the all girl dorm... Away from the smelly boys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#25 of 755 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hug Bed and Breakfast
Hug Bed and Breakfast
#46 of 755 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#18 of 755 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 755 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Absolute House
Absolute House
#29 of 755 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chiangmai Gate Capsule Hostel
Chiangmai Gate Capsule Hostel
#107 of 755 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gongkaew Chiangmai Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Property: Gongkaew Chiangmai Home
Address: 5/2, Soi 3, Singharath Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 755 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gongkaew Chiangmai Home 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Gongkaew Chiangmai Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing