We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit disappointing - no pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smile House Boutique
Ranked #194 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bit disappointing - no pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First of all I would like to point out that they lie about having a pool, the pool is a 12 min walk away at the other smile house. For the amount we were paying we were expecting a pool, we have stayed in much nicer places with a pool for cheaper. The location is very good you are right in the centre. Also the room we had was very clean and nice but we had the problem of being upstairs next to the common area where children decided to run around and shout very early in the morning when we were trying to sleep. The wooden walls don't help with sound. Overall it's alright just disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maccaaaa29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
339 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have now stayed here 3 times and always feel happy with my stay. Friendly management and staff, very clean rooms and common areas. It has some nice communal areas that are very traditionally Thai. The place is stylish and simply furnished. Happy with everything as always.

One thing is that Taxis always take you to Smile Bed and Breakfast so tell them you want Smile house near Chiang Mai gate or better still ask the hotel for a card with their address in Thai it avoids wasting time going to the wrong location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daya101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of the Smile House is down a quiet lane just off the Chiang Mai market area. However it does not seem to be familiar to taxi drivers as more than once our driver got lost on the way and we ended up showing them on a map.

The staff are extremely friendly and it is an authentic thai hotel where shoes have to be left downstairs. The outside decking and seating area is great and peaceful, however the rooms are basic and the bathroom resembles a concrete shell.

We went on a 3 day trek in the mountains and left our larger rucksacks in the hotel reception where the staff kept them safe and no items were stolen.

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same. Building works on an adjacent building on one of the sides of t...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hugo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is near to the night market, overall the position is good. It is near from the shops and restaurants and chang mai gate, but on the other side the location is quite so the sleep quality is really good.

The staff was great and really nice. Standard breakfast was american but you have more options - ie Pad thai - Yummy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerkaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

a strange smell, ants, mozzies and the biggest spider ever - and that's just in the room. it was however clean with fresh towels every day. the outer wall was made of wooden slats and offered no protection against noise and insects. there was no soundproofing and sometimes it sounded as if next door were in our room. the tv was an old monstrosity, better to have a safe or fridge. our room was tiny and the bathroom with sealed plaster and no window was very grey and not inviting. pat on reception could not have been more welcoming and helpful, she held it together for us and removed the largest spider which my friend who has lived in thailand for over 5 years has ever seen. our deal included breakfast, i would advise the fruit only. just 50 yards away is a lovely bakery, this is a great venue for breakfast with seating and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed here for 5 days over xmas. The first thing I'll mention is how friendly Pat at reception was, always ready with a smile. The rooms were fine for the price, and it's quite a charming old house. I'd never stayed in that part of Chiangmai before (near the south gate), but it's a good location, most things are within reasonable walking distance and the "dark alley" that some reviewers have mentioned is lit at night, so I don't see what the problem is. Excellent Japanese owned bakery/cafe only 50 metres away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franciszorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this hotel and whilst it was reasonable, there were a few areas that could be improved.

The surrounding grounds of this guesthouse, including downstairs and upstairs deck area are quite peaceful to relax in, however the rooms are very tiny.

There was no fridge or safe in our room, and the walls of the rooms are very thin, so much so that you can hear people in the adjacent rooms talking.

The bathroom was equally small - and the open shower meant that the toilet and toilet paper were wet when using the shower.

One member of staff was very helpful and knowledgeable, however the other was not much use and often appeared confused at most of our questions - it depended on what time of day as to what staff was on duty.

Overall, not a bad place, but needs a few improvements as other hotels can be had for a similar price with better facilities. There is a night food market and 7 Eleven nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveller358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#143 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#293 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#132 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#111 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#174 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
2.1 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#176 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Boutique

Property: Smile House Boutique
Address: 3/5 Suriyawong Road, Soi 1 | Haiya, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smile House Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smile House Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing