We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panda House Chiangmai
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Panda. The young guy at reception was very helpful from the minute we arrived without having to ask. The rooms are basic but that's what you pay for. Food was good but you could probably find cheaper at the street markets. It seems to be run by a nice family. It is in a quiet earlier so you would get a great nights sleep. We booked for 2 nights and ended up staying for 4.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    28
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
2
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked for 3 nights and stayed 6. I loved that many generations of the same family are around the house all day. Kids doing their homework, young people working the reception desk.

The staff were very helpful with booking tours and making recommendations based on what we wanted to see and do. They also gave us free advice on transfers and onward travel to other countries (visas, border crossings, etc). We booked two tours directly through these guys and each was high quality. They helped with postage, transport and were always on hand with a friendly smile.

The hotel itself is basic. We paid about 500 B per night for a twin room. The bathrooms are very simple (but had both western and Thai showerheads). I travelled with laptop, i-phone, MP3 player, kindle and a large SLR camera. No dramas with any of the gear.

The food onsite is amazine. Some of the best Thai food we had. The hotel is within walking distance (we do like to walk) of everything - the insect museum, sat and sunday night markets and the night bazaar. We walked to the night bazaar (obviously) at night and felt totally safe.

The hotel is far enough away from the hubbub of tourist areas that you get a decent night's sleep but it's only a 10 minute stroll to the sunday night marketplace and all of the tourist joints and restaurants.

Panda House was a great choice for us. It was simple, it was cheap, it was well located, we felt safe (as mother and daughter travelling together) and the staff were kind and patient.

Room Tip: You either face the road or the drainage ditch at the back. The smell of fish sauce being made was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldlyWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Panda house Chiangmai

We stayed at panda house for three nights while in Chiangmai. We were not impressed with this run down, old, outdated hostel. The lady at the front desk gave us lots of booklets on the different tours but was not available to ask any of our questions regarding the tours. She sat behind a glass wall and let her 10 year old nephew answer our questions with his poor broken English. The location is not as centrally located as other hostels. The front lobby is filled with screaming children from 4pm till 11pm. When we wanted to leave our key at the front desk they put it in a basket on the counter. We were very worried to just leave it there so instead decided to take it with us. At the end of the hallway on each floor you have smoking areas. On a good note our washed laundry came back clean and smelling fresh. 
We are backpackers traveling the world for a year so we don't have too high of standards. It just would have been nice to have friendlier staff, quieter common areas and less mold in the rooms.

When you are in Chiang mai and don't have a hostel booked just take a walk around the downtown area and you will find loads. Don't settle for this hole in the wall.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Totally souless, a house I wouldn't keep a panda in. Dingy room with dirty bathroom. And a manky blanket.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingothailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praries
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

So my review might be alot better if we hadnt got ripped off by the travel agent on khao san who charged us 950 baht /night (double aircon) for this hotel and that there isnt much to do in the immediate area of the hotel, had to walk/taxi back and forth to our hotel to drop off bags from shopping was annoying. That being said its only a 40-60 baht tuk tuk ride to the markets/bazzar area or a 20 min walk. Just from walking around during my stay in Chiang Mai I found several other, nice looking guesthouses for half the price right beside all the action. I would not stay here again because of the location.

The hotel picked us up from the bus station with no issues, which was nice. The rooms are very big just like other posters have said. The rooms itself are clean and nice. The bathroom is small, old and could use some upgrade. The hot water works tho :) The lady at the front is very helpful and welcoming, she helped us arrange tours. The outside patio is very nice. The inside lobby of the hotel seems like their family hangs out there a lot although this is not unusual in Thailand so this isnt really a complaint but an observation....there is an elderly white male who I think is the husband of one of the thai ladies who works at the hotel who is always just hanging around the computers/tv/table area in his pj's even midday. It was a little off-putting to one of my female friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I booked a double room for 5 nights for 450 baht from my hotel in Bangkok. From the moment I arrived at Chiang Mai station (after a looong and delayed train journey) the service was excellent. I was collected from the station and driven for free to the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised by the room, it was the biggest and cleanest room I had stayed in for this price anywhere in Thailand. The TV was large too. The staff, in particular the lady 'Pek', were so friendly. One day I came down and ordered dinner too late so she went out on a moped and bought me some lovely Pad Thai, free of charge!! I also arranged a trek through the hotel staff, which was great fun and very cheap too. It is located just outside of the Old City and is about 10 mins walk to the night bizarre and riverside restaurants. They also have a cute dog named 'stupid'! (in Thai!)

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Socrates81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We have been in Chiang Mai 3 nights. Great new guesthouse. Huge rooms, with double bed, very clean. AC, TV and fun. A very nice atmosphere. The employees were helpful and friendly. They have their own laundry service, restaurant and travel agency. Is possible to contract the tours, trekkings, flights and others in the guesthouse.

And the price is adequate. The pick up service is included, and they carried us to the airport when we left Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,977 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panda House Chiangmai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panda House Chiangmai

Property: Panda House Chiangmai
Address: 427/4 Wichayanon Rd., Chiangmoi Muang, Muang, Chiang Ma 50000, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 839 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Panda House Chiangmai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing