We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service but nice room”
Review of Awanahouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Awanahouse
Ranked #17 of 746 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service but nice room”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked Awana house because of its high tripadvisor rating but I was left disappointed. The service from reception staff was rude and unhelpful even when I had severe food poisoning. They also speak very poor English which is difficult especially for a solo traveller who needs help. The room was clean with a comfy bed and wardrobe space but the bathroom was a let down, particularly the shower which took at least 5-10 minutes to warm up. It is however in a great location near the main old city square etc. but I won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    169
    30
    14
    3
See reviews for
95
216
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dangjin, Chungcheongnam-do, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for four nights, two nights on the third floor and two nights on the terrace, with shared bathroom. Overall, basic room and very clean! The staff were very helpful (helped us book a day trek to Chiangrai) and friendly.

Definitely would stay here again! The terrace with the shared bathroom is quite a deal! The location (a few minutes walk to the gate) is just fantastic! Close to everything! There was also a nice local restaurant nearby (to the left) that served fantastic grilled fish.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyhopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights, three in the room with the ensuite and balcony which was really lovely and one in the double shared bathroom which was nice aswell. However it was the staff that really impressed us about this place. My boyfriend left his kindle on a night bus from Bangkok which then got into the hands of the tuk tuk driver who gets you off the bus and brings you into the city. We tried to resolve this ourselves but could not get it back. The staff really went out of their way to help us and rang the guy every day, even offering to drive out themselves to meet him and get it, until he we got it back. They even did this when we changed accommodation due to awana being fully booked.Thank you so much to all the lovely staff who helped us :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poseidonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 10 days in Chiang Mai but unfortunately only 3 nights at the Awana Guesthouse. We've seen a lot of different hostels so far and we can definitely say that the Awana Guesthouse is the very best if them. We stayed on the 4th floor which gave us unlimited access to the roof terrace (other floors are only allowed to stay there till 10 pm.) and the chill out area. Our room was friendly, large and comfortable. We only payed around 400 Baht per night for two persons for this neat room with a shared bathroom (very clean). The hostel itself has several painted walls which create an awesome atmosphere. The roof terrace has a beautiful view on the mountains and you can watch the sunset. We would recommend anybody to book this hostel. Be quick, they have many reservations!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This guesthouse has an excellent location and very nice rooms for a good price. Walking distance to anything you would want and can also park your scooters in a safe, off street location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Cute hotel and right outside the fort walls. You can't beat this place for the price! Our room was a good size, with AC, clean bathroom and cable TV! It also has a pool and good massage place across the street. 2 minute walk to the fort area with great restaurants!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingChop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights over the New Year. The location was great, really close to the Sunday walking street and short tuk tuk drive to the night market. The rooms had some nice features including a balcony, a bug net, air conditioning, safety deposit box, and a tv. On the down side the room needed a bit of work... the toilet constantly ran, the dresser was useless unless you unpacked everything as it couldnt fit a standard size carry on, the bed was so hard(but that might just be a Thailand thing) and the room itself wasnt very sound proof. Besides that we enjoyed our stay... staff were helpful and polite and it was nice to have the added feature of security gates. Side note.... Try Lert Ros restaurant across the street. Amazing food, amazing prices! Good trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2922unwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,410 reviews
1.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 383 in Chiang Mai
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 746 in Chiang Mai
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Village
Tamarind Village
#14 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 839 in Chiang Mai
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awanahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awanahouse

Property: Awanahouse
Address: 7 Ratchadamnoen Road, Lane 1 | Thapae Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 746 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Awanahouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing