We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Awanahouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Awanahouse
Ranked #18 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed 3 nights in the last floor with shared bathroom. It is clean, the staff is so helpful we saved a bunch of money with their advice. The rooms are cool and the swimming pool is amazing to refresh after a long day. 5 stars I definitely recommend. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnaCouto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    166
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
92
213
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Awana for three days. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. The bed was comfortable. As other reviewers have noted: this a quiet soi near Thapae Gate. Delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner places minutes away, or right across the street. (And thank you to Chamjira for the extra effort and bright smile, even after the night shift).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shenid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Awana House is in a perfect location in the old city. We traveled with 2 adults and 2 13yr old children. Our room had a queen size bed and a double bunk, basic private bathroom and a small balcony. Quiet room, no street noise at all! Laundry (cheap) outside hotel 1 min to the left. Good cheap food right outside hotel in a quiet Soi. Songkran was happening while we were there and it was amazing...once again...the best position!! 50 meters to the action. The pool was cool and refreshing as it was undercover! Staff were friendly and helpful. We can understand why this hotel is popular, many people turned up without a booking and were mostly turned away as they are usually booked out. Book in advance!! We have recommended this place to friends and family and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebrownjug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Nice comfortable place, on a quiet side road just off the Main Street through town.
Room was huge, nicely decorated, (as was the whole hostel), clean and big comfortable bed. Aircon, fridge, TV, and little balcony.
Breakfast was hit and miss, set breakfast was poor - small warm bread not toast, tiny juice etc, but muesli and fruit was good value.
Staff were nice and helpful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed quite a few nights in Awana around Songkran and in fact we were so well received that we decided to extend our stay. The staff and local manager were always available and helpful be it for giving us advice on where to go in Chiang Mai, where to do this or that and even help us with our travel arrangements. We went for a couple of days to Chiang Dao and they kept one of our backs for us even keeping our laptop in their office.
We had rooms on both sides and slept very well in both. In the back a new building blocks the view from certain rooms but they have tactfully decorated the balconies to prevent this from being a sore eye... Rooms are clean and cleaned daily, personal safe, fan, modern AC units (at least in our rooms, some other rooms had noisier ones which may still need to be upgraded), free Wifi, food (good) available, desk, closet, hot water (a bit too hot in the afternoon :)). Swimming pool and roof terasse.
No question about recommending Awana - great location, room and staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

As a solo traveller I stayed here early April for three nights. Prior to my arrival I had many e mails checking various things. Each time my question was answered quickly. My room was near reception which did not prove to be a problem. It was large and was of a high standard.
I ate in one evening and found the food to be very satisfying. The guesthouse is in a great location just off one of the main roads in the old town. It felt like coming into a village as the street was peaceful with all you could want. Small convenience store, cafe, massage. All of which I used and enjoyed. Thank you for giving me a lovely three nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEJ_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and very comfortable and the staff are knowledgable and helpful. The owner gave us great tips on getting to the famous temple in the surrounding mountains. The hotel location was great. There was so much happening in the old city and it was great to stay on a quiet, out of the way street, but still within walking distance to all of the action. It was Songkran and the celebration was an amazing thing to experience - we will never forget it :-). We had our two adult age children with us and it was easy to come and go to suit everyone's schedule preferences. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 821 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awanahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awanahouse

Property: Awanahouse
Address: 7 Ratchadamnoen Road, Lane 1 | Thapae Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Awanahouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing