We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guesthouse??? Its more along the lines of a comfortable small hotel!!!”
Review of Awanahouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Awanahouse
Ranked #18 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
1 review
“Guesthouse??? Its more along the lines of a comfortable small hotel!!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Awana house has got everything most of the travellers need in Chang Mai: clean nicely decorated rooms with a extremely comfortable beds, small swimming pool to cool down, restaurant with tasty inexpensive food and last but not least very helpful staff!

Exceptionally good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snejanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    170
    30
    14
    3
See reviews for
95
216
69
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Awanahouse was probably the best guesthouse we stayed in, in our month travelling through Thailand. It is on a very nice location, quit, but in the centre of the city. You can walk to the night market and all the temples in Chiang Mai. The sundaymarket, which is very nice, is around the corner. Also the personel is fantastic!! They help you out with everything you want. They can also easily arrange renting a motorbike. The rooms are very nice and clean!! We got new towels every day! There is also a little swimmingpool and a terrace where you can order some lovely food or fruitshakes!! :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2009

we liked every aspect of our stay at Awana.
the location was very good: very quiet and yet right in the middle of the center, right near the sunday evening market: perfect.
the accomodation was excellent, especially with a small child: a small refreshing swimming pool, an nice and quiet place to eat breakfast, baby chair available, nice fresh rooms, always clean (cleaned every day)...
the personnel is super super friendly: they helped us with every question we had: taking trains, taxis, sightseeing, buying stuff...
we would go back right away.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tijgetje_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This hotel is situated right downtown in Chiang Mai, on a quiet street but close to all action. The rooms are nicely decorated. Bathrooms are just allright, but balconies are great. Mountainview is a bit more expensive and nice, but streetview is also nice and just as quiet (we had 2 different rooms). The pool is nice after a day of sightseeing. Staff is very helpful. We didn't try the restaurant.
The Brix hotel bar around the corner has great breakfast and live music each night, which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaV_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutchy1973
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

In June I've stayed 6 nights at the Awanahouse, a guesthouse almost next to the old gate.

I had room 202, a very large room with all the things you need: fridge, bed, aircon, shower, toilet. The staff is very friendly and willing to help you with all your questions.

I will def. stay again in Awanahouse next time in Chiang Mai

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch1973y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2009

This place was wonderful. It is a lonley planet pick. The staff spoke decent English and was very helpful, accommoating, and welcoming. Meals were available as well. Rooms were good sized as was the bathrooms (according to Thai standards). They cleaned the room well although there were a line of ants here and there...my guess it was more due to the time of year than other...Location is right off the main road, it is easy to come and go, all drivers can take you easily to Thaipae Gate and you are home...There is also several massage places all down the alley...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReemaRani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We were instantly made welcome at Awana after an unpleasant experience at SK House. Awana is in a great location, just inside Tharpae Gate. It is very quiet, We had a large room with a balcony for 600bt, It had lots of amenities not found in other guesthouses eg-phone, wardrobe, bedside lights,FRIDGE, information folder, & securty lockers near reception. The pool was pleasantly cool, & there is a small sundeck, along with pool table on the top floor. But, their best asset is the Dutch owner & staff who are very friendly & helpful & courteous!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy007Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#55 of 383 in Chiang Mai
881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 747 in Chiang Mai
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tamarind Village
Tamarind Village
#14 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awanahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awanahouse

Property: Awanahouse
Address: 7 Ratchadamnoen Road, Lane 1 | Thapae Gate, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Awanahouse Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing