We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED THIS PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KETAWA Pet Friendly Hotel
Ranked #68 of 833 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very simple but nice design. The staff was super friendly. When we arrived and told them how two were leaving in the morning very early, before even thinking about it the lady said she'd prepare bagged breakfast for us. Little things to make your life easier, and in friendly ways. So nice and charming. One of the best night sleeps we had too. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stock210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We arrive the hotel at 10pm after getting lost driving. Three staff went out to help us, so friendly. Every room in this hotel has a theme and I think we got the "earth" one? And even the toilette products like the shower gel and shampoo are tailor-made from natural plants to fit for the theme of the room. Such original idea!
The hotel is located along the river, the area with buzz night life and bunch of good restaurants. It's also close to the nimman night life area too.
The restaurant is nicely designed as well. It was a pity that it was too cold to swim so we didn't use the swimming pool. Will visit again :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I are long time visitors to Chiang Mai having stayed at a multitude of hotels.
Ketawa Boutique has to be one of the best we have ever stayed in terms of staff friendliness and professionalism, comfort, location and quietness. The room was clean, well appointed in nice linen and pillows, a quality hot pot and coffee/tea choices, fine plasma TV, and room to spreadout and store your luggage and clothes.
Breakfast is basic and there is no full service restaurant- but that does not detract from this boutique as there are plenty of places to eat a block over (recommend "Good View") and up the road north on 106 are some very famous Khao Soy restaurants. A 20 minute walk and you are at the Night Bazaar.
But I return to the greatest strength of the Ketawa Boutique- the staff. Friendly, professional and always helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff_Gop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Found this swanky boutique hotel at "budget price" by luck. We ended up with tangerine room. Hotel was designed by owners sister & is run by owners daughter. We found ALL staff very helpful & spoke reasonable English. Asked us note down any improvements they can make. Don't be disappointed by the somewhat rustic/modern aspect, we feel it makes the hotel different from others & still gives you all the comforts you need. It may be tucked away & off main road but easy enough to get around.
We come back given the chance & would recommend it. We especially liked the "budget price, that included breakfast" we got away with approx $65AUD per night.

Room Tip: Depends on what colours you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at the Ketawa for seven days and thought it was a very quiet hotel in an out of the way location. It is located across the Ping River away from the hustle and bustle of the city although it wasn't too far to walk. Those with walking difficulties however or who want to be in the heart of things would be advised to stay elsewhere. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and we had received good service from them. The breakfast was always excellent and freshly made each morning after choosing from the varied menu. They managed to make the perfect boiled eggs every time. The outside of the hotel is finished in a washed concrete style which is continued inside the rooms. This is not to my taste and made the rooms look a bit depressing. We were allocated the Charcoal room and after a few days we asked to move as it was just too drab. The staff were very accommodating and moved us to the Terracotta room which was much better with a window to the front of the hotel. The pool is small and unheated it is also out of the sun so we didn't use it, and neither did any other guests while we were there. You can access the Riverside restaurant from the back door of the car park and be seated at a table within a couple of minutes from leaving the hotel. This restaurant is not the one on the actual riverside but across from it; both have the same name and menu. The food there is excellent. This is also a quick way to the night market and town. In conclusion the hotel is a good place for those wanting a 'quiet' place to stay in Chiang Mai at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: The Terracota room had more light than the Charcoal room. It has a window to the front road which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have heard about this hotel from my lovely friends when we ask where is the best place to stay in Chiang Mai, they definitely recommend this place. They visited Ketawa last year with great experience. We strongly agreed with them;
1.The staffs are all girls and they served you with professional.
2.The location is super perfect. At night, you will get to the main road easily and there are many restaurants along the river. Do not forget to try Crispy Pork Leg at the GoodView!
3.We got our favorite color which we had confirmed from the hotel, Turquoise, which is large and the pillows are soft also the bed that made us don’t want to wake up!!!
4.Breakfast was delicious and in a good portion. Try Omelet with Ham&Cheese or Pancakes! They served you with fresh coffee, we love Cappuccino.
5.Nice decorated hotel which is very trendy and stylish as the hotel’s name.
Come and try! They made our trip perfect and memorable. We will return and confirm our friends that it is truth about this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I was in Chiangmai during Dec 23-25,2012...The first day I booked at Le Meridian Chiangmai and would like to extend my stay at that hotel but no room available. Therefore I need to find new place to stay for the second night. Unfortunately major good location hotel or B&B was fully booked except Ketawan Boutique Hotel which cost me THB2,980 while at Le Meridian , I paid THB3,700.
which is 720 baht more expensive but service I gained at Le Meridian is much more better.

The money I paid at Ketwan was super expensive comparing to service I got, the room and facility the place provide to the guest...terrible!! If I have other choice, I would not check in there.

The hotel location was deep in the small road, you have to walk around 5 minutes to the main road, dont talk about walk in the night time which I wont recommend!!!

Ketawan is in my black list place in Chiangmai. I won't go back there again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasithorn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chotisukan, Owner at KETAWA Pet Friendly Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

"PEOPLE" may like or dislike in the same thing depend on their mind.

It is hard to make everybody like the same thing.

But we keep trying to do our best though it is hardly possible...

Because it is nature of "PEOPLE"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#25 of 402 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 402 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 402 in Chiang Mai
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#105 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nat Len Boutique Guesthouse
Nat Len Boutique Guesthouse
#94 of 991 in Chiang Mai
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KETAWA Pet Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KETAWA Pet Friendly Hotel

Address: 121/1 Bumrungrat Soi 2 | Tambon Watkate Aumphoe Mueang, Chiang Mai 5000, Thailand (Formerly KETAWA Boutique Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 833 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £33 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — KETAWA Pet Friendly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfy boutique hotel located in the heart of Chiangmai "historical wat kate" area near Ping river with famous restaurants like the good view and riverside and famous cafe like Woo and Vieng Joom On within 10 minutes walk from the hotel. We are pet friendly (in limited areas) and we have a dog cafe nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Zenrooms, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your KETAWA Pet Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing