We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible location!”
Review of Villa San Pee-Seua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa San Pee-Seua
Ranked #29 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible location!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very fare away from city!
At Booking.com it says; "From Villa San Pee Seua, a short boat ride takes guests to Nawarat Bridge, which is a 5-minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar."
Thats right, every 2d day 5 pm!!!! Terrible (It cost 1200 extra for taxi / day.)

The room was of good size, with very good shower and a comfortable bed, but very dark room, with only view under the staircase to the 2d floor, se photo.

They also charger 4% extra when you pay by credit card

This place can only be recommended to families that don't want to go anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenthagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villasanpeeseua, Owner at Villa San Pee-Seua, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mr. Kenth

We are sorry that the percentage charge on credit card had disturbed you that much. But, if you can remember correctly, we did inform you that you did not have to pay by credit card and a few international ATM machines are just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. And, to be fair, a sign has been clearly displayed on the check-in counter that a 4%charge will be applied to any credit card payment. This is known to you way before you pay your bill on check-out. In addition, you have been around the city on a rented motorbike with your Thai wife (who can communicate easily with the locals) where you can not get lost to find an Exchange in the city if you intended to! We can not foresee any problem to avoid that percentage charge on credit card payment. The cost of your negligence should be born solely by you yourself not at the cost of our bad review.

Moreover, any accusation to justify your claim arising from your disappointment should be fairly based on straight facts -not on a half-truth or obscured facts i.e., you implied that to cover the shortfall of once in 2 days boat trip shuttle, guests have to pay for a 1200baht/day taxi to the city! The truth is as follows:-

1. We have a notice board just by the exit door in the lobby ,of which not a single guest can miss, informing our guests that there are 2 shuttle schedule per day to the city for free:- one at 10 AM in the morning another one at 5PM in the afternoon. The boat ride is just a supplementary to the afternoon shuttle at every other day (once at every 2 days). It is not the main and only shuttle schedule! Other than the notice board, every guest (you are no exception) are verbally informed at time of check-in about the shuttle services.

2. Off those free shuttle schedules, we can call in local taxi on guests' demand at any time of the day for a 150 baht/trip to the city. On their way back to the hotel, guests can call us thru a pre-program one button dialing on our cell phone given to the guests before leaving for the city. They have just to wait at any one of the two designated meeting points in the middle of the city. We will arrange the pick-up at 150baht/trip back to the hotel.

3. The obscured cost of 1200baht/day taxi is in fact the cost of a rent chauffeured passenger car per day. With that above mention system, we did see no point that anyone of our guest (including you-Mr. Kenth) will need any 1200baht/day chauffeured car! We say it's obscured because even if you pretended to forget what we have informed you on the above arrangement at time of check-in, you yourself have been in the Chiang Mai city for certain number of days on a rented motorbike someday (you told us so). You must have known that the 1200baht/day is not the cost of a taxi to take any sensible people just to the city-particularly you who must have someday, during your city stay, boarded a local taxi at the cost of 20baht/trip or 80baht/charter for the city commuting. It costs only 150 baht/charter to our hotel. The misleading 1200baht worth 8 trips! How would you come up with that idea of a rented chaffered car for going to the city if it is not by an intended misleading to justify your claim on the "terrible location". Besides, we have a strong believe that you yourself together with your Thai wife on a rented motorbike must know the bearing to our hotel or might even have a ride to our hotel before you decided to book our room. We are exactly where we show on the map in our website or in your booking agent‘s website. Most of our guests who moved from a city hotel have compromised on the distance to the nature environment at our location. The owner’s daughter even ask you personally when you were here if everything is alright and whether she can help you with anything, and your answer is no everything is ok. We never heard of a single complaint from you about anything on our location during your stay here up until you are charged for the credit card fee and the location becomes then the scapegoat!

We don't mind a straight fact review, but we worried about the misleading facts from any hidden agenda that may fulfill your disappointment but wasting others' time and marking a bad record unfairly to us! Reading into your review, it may seem that we over-accused you on the credit card fee issue since you are trying to disguise your true motive with a statement “they ALSO charge 4% extra when you pay by credit card” at the very end of your review to look as if it is a tiny matter and blame on the location of the hotel with statements proven to be all false. You can not refuse that you have expressed your true desire to your booking agent “Booking.com” who asked us to refund you the credit card fee (Refer to letter from Booking.com customer service captioned: Kenth Nilsson( 162318905)dated August 8, 2014 to us) and we refused. Your true motive to this review is now proven.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    70
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
112
70
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Prae was incredible, she absolutely made our stay at Villa San Pee-Seua. Not to mention the great breakfasts, free or easily arranged shuttles, cute rooms, great atmosphere and additional staff always willing to help. It's 15 minutes to town but we liked that.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A little bit far from Chiang Mai "squre", but stuff sending personal song teo to pick up you at every corner of that suay city after calling them via mobile, so distance no matter.

Hotel is really worth to stay in.

Strong reccomendation.

As for stuff - there were very nice clever and ready to help lady at reception, as I understand, she's a daughter of hotel' owner - I need such wife like her)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HectorWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We stayed at a 3 bedroom apartment and there was lots of room for several kids. The rooms were large but strangely set up - the main bedroom had an extra bed and the other rooms just had one bed rather than twins and doubles so 2 of the children had to sleep with parents and so much room wasted throughout the apartment. The rooms are basically furnished with no english speaking channels on the tv that I could find. The 4 bathrooms was useful. The other thing that baffled us was the breakfast. There seemed to be a good breakfast and a bad breakfast - we had the bad and it baffled us why other families were eating delicious pancakes and I was eating toast? We asked for pancakes and they said no so we asked someone else and they said yes and they were delicious and almost worth our begging.
The hotel is in a really nice setting with lots of relaxed outdoor setting and shallow pool (good for young children). We could not canoe as he river was too low to get it off the dock. Its about 15 to 20 minutes out of Chiang Mai. They have 2 shuttles a day and will organise for you a pick up in town when you are ready to go home which we thought was really helpful. Overall the staff and management were really helpful and friendly. We go to Chiang Mai and usually stay in the centre. This was cheaper for our party but I found being so far out a little dull. But for the kids a pool is a pool and they had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Myself and my husband needed somewhere peaceful and comfortable to just relax and do nothing after several months of travelling, and we found exactly what we were looking for here. Double room was huge, spotless and homely. There were two rooms, one was fan-cooled with a corner full of cushions to relax in, a wardrobe and a fridge with drinking water, kettle and tea and coffee also provided. The adjoining bedroom had air-con and was also spacious and really comfortable. The garden area was beautiful and peaceful. The pool is really small and shallow, but is perfect if all you want to do is sunbath and read and just cool off. Breakfast was lovely and served in the garden by the river. Service was a bit chaotic and disorganised, and seemed as if one lady was trying to do everything herself, but we never waited more than 15 minutes for breakfast, and you can also pre-order at a specific time if you need to be somewhere. The small fitness centre has a weights machine, stair-master and exercise bike and is perfect if you just want a quick workout. The hotel is located quite a good bit outside the city, which suited us fine as we just wanted to chill out, but if you want to be in the thick of things and like to be somewhere lively and atmospheric, then this may not be the best place to stay. There are two free shuttles provided into the city every day, and we never had trouble getting back for 150 baht. The hotel will also give you a mobile phone and you can call if you are having trouble getting back, and they will send a taxi for 150 also. I mistakenly left the phone after me one night in a shop, and the staff were so nice about it and organised to have it sent back. Thank you! There is also a large selection of dvds which you can watch for free, and a library with lots of travel books and some novels. There is a village a short walk away with a 7-11, Tesco, fruit market and lots of food stalls. People there are really friendly. Overall it is the perfect place to stay if you want peace, relaxation and comfort, while still being close enough to the city buzz. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed with my hubby & 2 kids. Riverfront rooms are great, even though the river isn't very pretty. Family friendly. Great breakfast included, staff are fantastic, however the location isn't great. Close to a new shopping centre Central Festival & the bust stop but a short tuktuk/taxi ride to markets & centre of town. They also have a free shuttle twice a day for guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

As soon as we set foot in the door we were made to feel right at home. All the staff were very friendly and the place was immaculate. We had a top floor room that overlooked the garden and river and it was very comfortable. It was quite hard to leave everyday for our activities as it was so nice! We got a good deal on agoda so I recommend you book on that website.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.0 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#45 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#10 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#7 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Seven Senses Guest House
Seven Senses Guest House
#26 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 733 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Pee-Seua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Pee-Seua

Property: Villa San Pee-Seua
Address: 220 / 2 - 220 / 9 M.7 | M.7 San Pee Seua, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Pee-Seua 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Pee-Seua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Pee-Seua Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing