We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 out of 5 star rating!”
Review of Villa San Pee-Seua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa San Pee-Seua
Ranked #28 of 746 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“6 out of 5 star rating!”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This is by far the best place we've stayed in during our vacation in Thailand! We stayed in the family appartment with 4 adults and 3 children ( two 4 year olds and a 1 year old): amazing place. The appartment was huge (240 sq mts) and more than great value for money.

Though everything has already been said about the location, rooms etc in the other reviews, it's really their service level that makes the difference. Whether it's the shuttle service downtown (by minivan or boat!) their help ordering take out food or the little farewell gift when you leave, these folks really do anything possible and more to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We've been to Thailand a number of times and you always here about the incredible friendliness of the Thai people. We were starting to question that still existed with mass tourism swamping the country, but the folks at Villa San Pee Seua have really set a new standard for Thai friendliness!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel_Pien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    70
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
115
70
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2010

1) The location of this boutique resort is stunning.You will have breakfast by the river, in very cute and comfy chairs, or even on the boat of the hotel. It is 15 minutes from downtown, and after busy days in Chiang Mai, you'll really like this peaceful place.
2) The rooms are great: wooden furniture, a safe, LCD television, wifi... You also have a reading room, complimentary tea and coffee, a small fitness room.
3) But the greatest thing about this place is the staff. It is a family owned hotel. The owner is SO lovely, and will want to cater to all your tiny needs (calling your tour agency to confirm your booking, drop you downtown in his personal car - an old Beatle!-, calling may restaurants to check their Christmas Eve dinner so that you can choose, taking you on a cruise on the river in the afternoon for free..). He speaks very good English (he studied in the States), and so does his daughter, who is just as helpful as his dad.
They just want everything to be perfect about your trip to Chiang Mai, and it worked!

NB: We've been there after a 2-day treck in Chiang Mai and we were so happy with the laundry service there (24hour, 50B for 1 kg of clothes!).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT_Chuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Close to downtown without the noise and bustle... with free shuttles to city centre. The owners are amazing and went out of their way to accommodate our every need. Enjoy a breakfast boat cruise or just lounge by the pool. You won't be disappointed.

Monika & Storey

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2010

While the hotel and grounds are beautiful and the boat trips are great, the people are really what make this place. So friendly and they went so far out of their way to make everything perfect for us, it was the best place during our month in Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phishy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, Liberia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I used to have a favorite place to stay when coming to Chiang Mai. It was The Chedi...stunning, riverside setting, beautiful grounds, fantastic service. Unfortunately, unless you can get an off-season deal, it's also ridiculously expensive. Thus, I decided to look farther afield..and that's when I found Villa San Pee Seua..and it's taken the crown.

How can a little boutique, family-run resort possibly compete with a five-star internationally-managed hotel you might ask? One word: heart. Yes, this place is gorgeous...it's set alongside an idyllic stretch of river with lush green lawns leading right up to the water, huge trees for shade in the day and filled with colorful lanterns at night, and even a small but perfectly enjoyable riverside pool and deck. Yes, the rooms are totally cute--I stayed in a Deluxe, which had a tiny downstairs garden/terrace, complete with fan and seating, and the upstairs bedroom offered all the comfort you need and a view to die for. And yes, there's free wifi everywhere, even right down by the river.

But what really sets this place miles apart is the people behind it...from the owner to his lovely daughter to the drivers and housekeepers, kitchen staff and groundskeepers, everyone here seems to love what they do. And they want to make you fall in love with this place and Chiang Mai. Much has been written about them already, but I can't emphasize it enough. They go out of their way to do anything they can to make sure you enjoy your stay in their home (and it really is, as their home is adjoining). From breakfasts, which offer a surprising amount of flexibility and options served in the most gorgeous setting you'll find, to the free anytime/anywhere trips into town, boat cruises (I stayed during Loy Krathong and the river cruise to the bridge was a highlight), restaurant recommendations that are highly personalised (are you looking for authentic northern, Bangkok-style northern/Thai fusion?, etc)...you just can't ask for more from the owner and his daughter. They along with all their staff put any five-star hotel to shame. They could only hope to be as good as this. Don't get me wrong--it's a no-frills kind of place. You'll shower in a wet bathroom style (i.e. no separate shower, just a handheld shower in the bathroom), the bed isn't plush (though I actually liked it) and there aren't hordes of staff swarming to wait on you--but at this price, you surely wouldn't be expecting that anyway. What you'll get in return is something special, unlike your cookie-cutter hotel experience.

All this and at an outstanding value--I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. And I encourage you to as well. Yes, it's outside the city--but I don't think anyone is hiding that. And because it is, you're just close enough (10 minutes by free van shuttle and fairly easy to get a taxi back at night) to town to enjoy it, but get to return to a perfect little nature retreat. It's the best of both worlds really. I lived in Chiang Mai for 3 years and couldn't recommend this experience more. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We chose to stay at deluxe room. The view from the balcony is truly amazing and very relaxing. I was able to finish 3 books brought especially for this trip, mission accomplished!!!! The Villa located not too far from the city. We were able to enjoy the day time travelling and go with lots of excursion trips, still, get amazing evening time on the boat and swimming just right next to the Ping river.

The owner (Tee) and his staff are truly amazing. One afternoon after a trip backed from the fight of the gibbon (super exhausted), we are so long for a relaxing massage. As soon as I mentioned it to the staff, they are so nice and have the massager delivered right to our room within an hour. Also, when we were talking to Mr. Tee about the food called “Roti” as we saw on the way back but couldn’t get a chance to stop and purchase. The next morning, I got a chance to try the Roti with my breakfast…. What else can we ask for? Tee, see you next summer !!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hotel offered townhome accommodation type with 3 bedrooms and 1 living room at a very reasonable price. My whole family of 5 persons can stay together within 1 unit, enjoy river view and traditional thai message on the old-teak boat. Breakfasts are yummy and staffs are nice. Hotel is a bit far from the city but still within the range of local transportation like “Red Car” and “Tuk Tuk”. With the free shuttle van provided by the hotel and the accessing of local transportation, we have no problem traveling back and forth between hotel and most of the attractions in Chiangmai. Compare to the explicit view along the river and the cozy feeling received from the staff, it worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_MCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.0 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 383 in Chiang Mai
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
0.8 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 746 in Chiang Mai
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#7 of 746 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baan Hanibah
Baan Hanibah
#25 of 746 in Chiang Mai
346 reviews
4.1 mi away
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
Swiss-Lanna Lodge
#11 of 746 in Chiang Mai
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Pee-Seua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Pee-Seua

Property: Villa San Pee-Seua
Address: 220 / 2 - 220 / 9 M.7 | M.7 San Pee Seua, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 746 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Pee-Seua 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Pee-Seua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa San Pee-Seua Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing