We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SK House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SK House
Ranked #507 of 711 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

As far as guesthouses and hotels go SK house was without a doubt the best place we stayed in northern Thailand. Staff is friendly and helpful. Food is great and the pool and rooms offer more than what they charge. Very affordable, peacefull and safe. Would return any time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AliFoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    65
    56
    49
    48
See reviews for
17
98
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The reception staff was probably the worst we've experienced in Thailand. It was absolutely comical how grumpy and mean they were. You could walk in with a troop of singing monkeys and they wouldn't even crack a smile. Our room was nice apart from the ginormous cockroaches and the fact that they wouldn't clean it even after six days of us staying there (we had to take out our own trash). That being said, we did stay there for 6 days. I think we took it as a challenge or something. The popup cocktail bar at the end of the Soi is a must though (nothing to do with SK house). I challenge anyone staying at SK to make the reception lady smile. Bet you cant!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor around the pool are the best. Think the others are pretty awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmaGiavasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

old bar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

For the money you pay, this hotel is great value. It is large and busy but the rooms are adequate and clean, the bed comfortable and they even have a pool. All this for around $15!!
The hotel is well located and you can walk to plenty of places of interest and places to eat.
There is plenty of competition for hotels in Chiang Mai old town but I would return to SK if I returned to this city.

Room Tip: A the back you can get a roo m near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBarNel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

There is cheap and cheerful, and there is cheap and nasty. SK house has the rudest, most insolent and ignorant reception staff that I have met in the last 30 years of travel. I would say SK house is cheap and very very nasty thanks to their lack of performance. My advice is avoid this guesthouse at all cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Avoid!!!!! So we booked to stay here as I had heard it was a good place, friendly staff(later found out it was sk2!) bedbugs bit me about 30 times, didn't even see them!! Just beware!! Staff aren't friendly... When needing something at reception like getting your key back they don't even register you're there because playing computer games or on YouTube and Facebook! One of the restaurant staff was smiley but that was all!! Around 500bt a night, not worth it, much better places for half the price , all very near !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danelliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very basic rooms, sink in bedroom, shower cold and bed was pretty hard.

The staff is very nice and helpful. The swimming pool there is very nice but cold.

Don't go on the trip to see the Longneck tribe as it isn't the real deal, basically it is a market on a hill where they go to sell their things.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Can't say anything good about this place since we found bedbugs in the mattress two hours after arriving. We inmediatly asked for our money back and now we are in other guesthouse for the same price (250). We were in the A6 room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hiworld_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#71 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#96 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#27 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#18 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Changpuak Boutique House
Changpuak Boutique House
#242 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thana Hotel & Guesthouse
Thana Hotel & Guesthouse
#527 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SK House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SK House

Property: SK House
Address: 30 Moomuang 9, Sripoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #507 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your SK House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sk House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing