We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet place to stay”
Review of Lamchang House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lamchang House
Ranked #215 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Si Racha, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet place to stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Clean and quiet place located in the north east of CM, within the fortifications.
Cheap (250 Bahts for 2 people during Songkran !!!)
Very discreet & welcoming people.
Cheap bicycles and delightful muesli with fruit salad ...

Thank you :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentin_Morel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Legazpi, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here for more than a week and paid 150 Baht for single fan room. It was good enough for me. Though I was there in the summer, the fan was good enough to cool the room. I checked other guesthouses and it was too hot. The owner was very helpful in booking my trips. Breakfast was inexpensive. The location is great. My only complain is the thin walls. You can hear people from the other room talking. Other than that, it was good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ib_yang14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

You pay very little for the place. About 250baht for some rooms. It looks like a beautiful cool place on the outside. And they keep the place very clean. It's very basic, which is fine. You get a couple of showers with hot water but the rest have just cold. Breakfast is cheap and good. The only real problem is that the place is infested with mosquitoes at night. The most mosquitoes I've ever encountered in Thailand. And there isn't much street noise as others say (not bothered by street noise anyway) and the family wasn't loud the night we were there. BUT there are a few roosters that literally cock-a-doodle-DOOOO!!!! ALL NIGHT LOONG. Not just early in the morning. I'm talking from about 10pm until 7am and LOUD AS HELL. And every-time one of the budget travelers gets up to vomit in the bathroom because they went and got drunk you hear everything. Other than those couple of points, it's really a charming and fantastic place for the price you pay. Really simple fixed the owners can do for mosquitoes and the rooster crowing all night and it would be the perfect budget place really. The location is fantastic. We also had a scare trying to use the key to get into the main part to get to our room. It wouldn't work for ages until we finally jiggled it the right way and it luckily opened. I think our one night, one breakfast and one day renting a motorbike was enough. Maybe if I stayed longer I would buy some mosquito repellant spray for the room and ear plugs for the loud barn animals.
The french owner there is a bit easy to upset (which is strange that he chose Thailand to live) so be sure not to do anything that he feels is not trust worthy, even the slightest thing. If he asked to hold your passport or anything, be prepared to do it or he will tell you that he couldn't sleep all night worrying about it. Sort of dramatic.
If you don't' stay there at least go for breakfast.
Also why do all guest houses in Thailand have such a dodgy way of booking guests? You never know until the very last minute if any of them have a room because they have no system for booking in advance, and they might give away your booking to anyway who walks in. This place is a bit better than the rest, but are still in that strange system. I'm a bit turned off from Thailand because of some of the strange ways they do business.

Room Tip: Plan lots of mosquito repellant and ear plugs. Try your best to book in advance and stay for about 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Really good location and very cheap. Basic facilities, but expected for the very low price. Three cute dogs as well!
But there is no one at reception after 6pm so it is up to guests to lock the main door at night. One of the nights we stayed there, the door was left open and a man came in from the street and tried to get into our room. It was pretty scary!
Also quite noisy as the walls are very thin. Beds not very comfortable either, and only fans in the rooms, no air conditioning.
Even so, I would probably stay there again, because it's so cheap!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Our experience at the lamchang house was our least restful in all Thailand. There was people smoking cigarettes in the rooms constantly, it's right next to a busy side street that gets real noisy about 6 a.m., dead cockroaches being carried away by armies of ants, the toilet trash bins were full of poopy papers, and owner's children running around your ceiling from early morning until late night. They did sweep the street every morning though so IT was clean if that's what your into.. the prices were alright but next time we'de rather pay double and get some rest. Sorry lonely planet, your recommendation sucked!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here 3 nights on a strict budget - rooms were dark but extremely clean as well as the bathrooms. Owner was very helpful when booking us onto a tour. Only downside was that there was a fair amount of noise from the street and we were pretty much the only people staying.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent few days in this hotel. The room was dark and humid. The walls between the different rooms are very thin so it is very noisy. The family lives in the first floor and they woke up every morning around 6 and we could hear eveything especially the chlidren running.
They have an attached restaurant but the owner was so unfriendly that we did not want to spend too much time there. If you ask, they can give you the wifi password. One positive point : one shower has hot water. We paid 200bahts per night for a double room which is very cheap!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#139 of 383 in Chiang Mai
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai C.M. House
Chiang Mai C.M. House
#142 of 383 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#230 of 383 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#105 of 383 in Chiang Mai
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moon Dragon Hotel
Moon Dragon Hotel
#101 of 383 in Chiang Mai
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#241 of 383 in Chiang Mai
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamchang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamchang House

Property: Lamchang House
Address: 223 24 Moon Muang rd ,soi7,ds une rue calme et pourtant centrale 50000, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Lamchang House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing