We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and very cheerful!”
Review of Wiriya House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wiriya House
Ranked #141 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and very cheerful!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very simple but comfortable, in an excellent location and so reasonably priced that you can't fault it!
The rooms were basic but had A/C and were clean. The pool area was very nice and one of the ladies that was at reception everyday spoke very good English, was helpful and very funny! She helped us plan some trips and arranged everything for us. We actually stayed a lot longer than we intended!
All the main part of town/nightlife is a 5/10 minute walk away.
Very good value!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Verity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
10
38
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Put properly in perspective based on price, service and amenities, I think Wiriya is a great value for money. It's an ageing building and the rooms are basic but for about AUD $20/night with a lagoon-style pool, A/C, huge room with ensuite, fridge, sitting area, wardrobe and desk I think your expectations will surely be exceeded based on the cost. Located on a quiet street, Wiriya is still very close to all the popular cafés and attractions in the Old City. The hotel itself is spotless and attended to very well with daily service to the room and fresh water. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. The restaurant doesn't seem to get used though I'm here in the low season. Excellent value and good for a any visit on a budget.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CunningCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my two adult kids. Great place for the price. I would stay here again! Great staff or owners. Do have to climb stairs. You might want to be on a lower floor. Very clean! Close to busy street to catch a cab. Close to everything. Short taxi ride to train station.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
976 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Wiriya is tucked in around the residential areas a couple of corners from the southeast canal. It is family owned and the owner works there to relieve the main staff. There are two young staff who cannot speak English. They were the only ones at the front desk when I needed something and it made it very difficult to get what I needed. There are loyal guests though who stay and return regularly. I heard from one of the guests (couple) that they get a complimentary ride to and from airport if you stay two nights. Well, I stayed 5 nights and they told me 150 baht to airport. But perhaps they are favored as they are regulars and returnees.

The rooms are average looking with minimum decors. Doors are hollow and flimsy, showers are so cramped. Pool is in a very shaded area. Also, avoid breakfast or meals there as I don't think they are valued reasonable. Walk around the corner for a better meal instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiana_Jonesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Wiriya House during our stay in Chiang Mai and it served as a good place to sleep / shower. For the price we paid, this is a great option for budget-minded travelers looking for a convenient location. It is literally a 5 minute walk to get to the southeast portion of the Old City in Chiang Mai. The main area by the Thappae gate (eastern gate of the city) is maybe a 15 minute leisure walk away, so no need to waste money on tuk-tuks or cabs.
Rooms are basic (get the A/C rooms if you can't handle the heat well), but do the job and are in decent shape.

Room Tip: I would definitely request a room with A/C if you can't handle the heat too well. I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxima81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I come to Chiang Mai quite often. This is the best friendly / quiet / well located / clean guest house around. I hate to tell people because I like it quiet, but I write as I like to give them more business. Good Value and Friendly. Also blues pub across the road..Great Thai food.. Limited menu but authentic Thai Curry is 'to die for'.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Everytime I come to Chiang Mai,I make a point of booking a room at the Wiriyahouse.
It has a good location,in a quiet street,not far from the canal/food market at Chiang Mai Gate.
(A tuk tuk from Wiriyahouse to the Night Bazaar is approx. 40/50 Baht).
All rooms come with either aircon or fan,essential in the hot season,and also have a mini-fridge and international TV. Bathrooms have hot water showers. All rooms are cleaned daily.
There is a lovely swimming pool for the use of guests and an outside seating area.
They have a kitchen/dining area for lite snacks and breakfast.
The staff are very friendly and WIFI is Free, but signal strength is patchy.
Definately great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch1ldofthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#296 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#125 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#165 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#108 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
#176 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
Royal Panerai Hotel Chiangmai
#111 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiriya House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiriya House

Property: Wiriya House
Address: 10/4 Rajchiangsaen Rd. Soi 1 Kor, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wiriya House 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wiriya House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing