We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, no atmosphere”
Review of Jungala House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jungala House
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great location, no atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This review is about the Eagle House 2 at 26 Rathwiti Rd, Soi 2 in the Old City, not the one on the Trip Advisor map, far outside the city walls, which is apparently an imitator.

Eagle House 2 is the home of well-regarded treks, but we did not take them. We were in town for the Loi Krathong festival and Eagle House 2 was the only place we could get a room at the last minute, even with its excellent location, which tells you something.

We got an air conditioned room at the back, with bath, away from the noisy bar next door, so at least we were able to sleep. For 370 baht it was basic, but a good value. The young man at the front desk was earnest and helpful.

But there are two problems with Eagle House 2. First, basic services. They nickel and dime you on things drinking water and soap. After a couple days, we did get new towels once we asked, but never had our room cleaned. Maybe we had to ask for that, too.

The second and bigger problem is the environment. Eagle House 2 has a large area within its walls which could become a pleasant place for guests to gather, but it is cold and sterile now. A good designer could make it far more welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juwart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    41
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
55
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

On Arrival the guesthouse was empty and had zero atmosphere. We were shown to our room by a less than excited receptionist! This place was recommended in our Rough guide!

Our room was nice, big bed and the shower was adequate. However our room did back into someones house and their children were very noisy.

The guesthouse did not sell any alcohol and was extremely limited in everyway, it was also allocated far from central Chiang Mai!

We stayed there one night instead of two, and would not revisit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules6525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

(a) Eagle House No. 2: Zero atmosphere
unattractive concrete structure, shower was not working properly, very noisy on weekends due to nearby entertainment district, patio does not invite to stay so you don't get to meet as many travellers as in other places. This place has zero atmosphere. Eagle No.1 seemed nicer. I will not stay there again. BUT:
(b) Eagle House trekking: A fantastic 5 star experience
The 3 day/2 nights trek to the hill tribe region ("ET2") will rank among the absolute highlights of each participants' Thailand trip. Hiking through forests unspoiled by man, via picturesque rice fields, up and downhill, crossing scarily creaking bridges and encountering water buffalo on the way would be enough fun and adventure for three days. But then there's so much more - meeting local tribesmen, getting to see what they do and how they live (and sleeping there, too), picking fruit along the way, tasting homemade liquor, swimming, elephant riding, river rafting, plus of course getting to know some really pleasant, interesting people and enjoying their company. Eagle House is certainly not the only organization offering trekking tours in the Chang Mai region. However, they distinguish themselves from the rest of the pack with their ecologically aware approach, by choosing more remote and therefore less touristy areas (in fact, throughout the whole trip we did not encounter a single other farang) and, probably, by choosing physically more demanding routes.
Our particular trip turned out perfect - wonderful weather, a physically fit group with pleasant personalities and good English, plus a great guide with vast knowledge of local culture, region and nature. "ET2", Eagle House's hill tribe trek, is a fantastic experience you will cherish for years to come. Personally, I find c. 2300 baht (plus drinks) great value for the money.
Here's who I think may want to consider choosing another trek, with a different company: if you are disgusted by dirt, lack a reasonably degree of physical fitness, cannot really communicate in English and think you cannot survive without modern civilization's luxuries, please be aware that: (a) You will get wet, muddy, sweaty and probably scratched by thorns or bruised when tripping over a root (b) You will do some serious hiking including steep ascends and descends carrying all your stuff plus water and sleeping bag. You will travel barely visibly paths, wade through water and be severely shaken for hours when traveling by sangtheaw via gravel roads in the mountains. This ain't no stroll in the park! (c) The participants of the group will be the only folks around you for a full three days - if you are unable to communicate with them, you will be the outsider and a burden (d) You will be sleeping more or less on the floor, suffer the seriously cold temperatures at night (and better not believe the blankets and the sleeping bag will keep you warm and cozy), there will be no warm water, you have no menu to order food from, toilets are very, very basic, and only available in the evening and morning. Plus you will have no mobile phone coverage, Wifi or TV. Please consider these factors before booking the trek.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Collins
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here for a few nights until we found a place with (alot less smoke) and a television. Polite staff, great food! Hot shower and comfy beds. Soi is noisy and alot of people coming by smoking various things. Good for backpackers, not so good for a family with children.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street to avoid smoke and noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here for more than a week in a aircon double ensuite room with hot shower. The room is good size, decent bathroom and good bed. The rooms have an extra (pad)lock to keep you stuff extra save.

The staff is friendly although only the manager (almost 100% available) is comfortable with English. They serve a good range of breakfast and lunch dishes at reasonable prices (approx. the same as other cafes close).

They clean rooms upon request.

The location is very convenient for the sights, cafes, bars and restaurants within the old city. This is also a negative as the bars produce quite some noise especially in the weekends.

They can provide various things to do for you and will provide you with directions when you ask. They don't push to sell you anything and we experienced that they will advice cheaper options if they exist. We would recommend the Chili Cooking Club for Thai Cooking classes.

We would recommend to book ahead at least for a few days in low season and completely in high season. We have seen scores of people try their luck but they seem to be booked (almost) fully even outside high season.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristofvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We booked a room in the Eagle House II for a total of five days in July 2011. The room we stayed in was definitely good value for the money we paid. It was clean, with fan and air condition, hot shower, and a basic interior with a big bed, a cupboard and a laundry rack. It would have been nice to have a safe in the room, but then that is probably more than you can expect for 320 Baht. Plus you could leave your valuables in the safe of the guesthouse, accessing it once per day. The guesthouse furthermore has a restaurant which serves wonderful breakfast, but as it is only open until 6 pm, we did not get to try the other food as we were usually still out doing something at that time.
What we liked the most about the guesthouse was the ecological and considerate attitude of the house, as well as all the trekking information we got from the staff. To give some examples for the former: the guesthouse charges 500 Baht, if you leave the air condition on while you are not inside the room, it offers you to refill your bottles with drinking water for a cheaper price than a new bottle costs, and the house does not offer trekking tours which are ”ethically doubtful”, for example visiting the longnecks in the area of Chiang Mai. Instead they offer plenty of trekking possibilities and other day trips, they have checked in advance. During the one we did, we had one hour of elephant ride, visited a hilltribe, did some trekking seeing the nature, and did bamboo rafting. It was a nice package.
At the time we were there, the guesthouse also displayed some information about agencies that try to win tourists’ confidence by showing their T.A.T. license number, suggesting they are the official Tourism Authority of Thailand, and then charging tourists extremely high prices for tickets and trips. All in all, we had the impression that the staff at Eagle House II really cared.
The Eagle House would be definitely our point of reference for a future stay. I am pretty sure that there are some more fancy hotels for some more money, but we felt very lucky to have stayed there, and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Eagle house 2 has been recommended because the rooms are of decent quality for their price, and they have a nice outdoor area. Unfortunately, the reception was so very rude, that we ended up moving to a different hostel before leaving Chang Mai. There are is other accommodation in Chang Mai that is equal value for your money where you won't have to wade through a morass of eye rolls and snubbing any time you want to ask a question. The impoliteness was shocking enough that it was the subject of jokes for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aureusrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#12 of 867 in Chiang Mai
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 762 in Chiang Mai
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#41 of 762 in Chiang Mai
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#71 of 762 in Chiang Mai
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 867 in Chiang Mai
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yourhouse Guesthouse
Yourhouse Guesthouse
#177 of 762 in Chiang Mai
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungala House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungala House

Property: Jungala House
Address: 26 Ratwiti Rd. Soi 2, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Eagle House No. 2)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 867 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungala House is a family friendly guest house in the old city of Chiang Mai, close to popular sightseeing spots, the day market and the famous Sunday walking street. We offer double, twin and triple rooms with fan, some rooms have an additional air-condition. All rooms have an en suit bathroom with hot shower. Free WIFI is available in the rooms and garden. The common area includes a self-service breakfast counter. The garden has a shady area and a roofed area ideal for rainy days. Plugs are available to recharge your electronic devices. Our garden restaurant serves traditional Thai cuisine. Staff speak, English, German, Thai and Karen. We also offer tour and ticket service to easy your traveling. You can also ask for information about our own trekking tours of Jungala Nature Treks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing