We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to stay”

Northlands House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northlands House Hotel
Ranked #135 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fine place to stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights and I have nothing bad to say about this place. Yes, it's a bit old-fashioned but what do you expect for 400 Bhat per night? The value for money is really good here: A/C room, hot water, huge bed, the rooms are big so you can put your stuff out of your way, it's cleaned every day, they bring you new towels, toilet paper and soap, etc. There's free, very good Wi-Fi and there's even a TV with loads of international channels. The staff are friendly and the check-in / check-out was more than efficient! The only thing I would critizise here was the noise. The walls are thin so you wake up in the morning because the staff are running around outside. It's a simple place but everything is just fine here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zhanjiang, China
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. It is close to everything, so the positioning is good, the double room with A/c was only 500Baht per night and it was huge, and the staff were always friendly. However, in the same Soi (Moon Muang Soi 7) there are numerous other hotels, hostels, and guesthouses that look a lot more modern than this one. I would definately stay in this street again, but I would probably choose another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinchina2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was better than our previous accommodation with the same price. Double bed $500 baht per night. Good location. Nearby washing place in a internet cafe is friendly and good. They have drier, but not in other places where I asked. Around the street, there are nice cafes/restaurants. Basic, clean, T.V. hot water, friendly staff with little English. No problem with communication. We could leave our backpacks in their office while we were gone for 3 days for tracking.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We had a nice clean double room with AC hot water and a soft bed for 400 baht. The location is exactly where you want to be. The staff is not very helpful though, they speak basic English and when we asked to make a local call they directed us to the Internet cafe and would not help us out at all. For 400 baht thought it was worth it in that location

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alucier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
177 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We payed US$ 18/500 bahts for a double room with wet bathroom, hot water, TV with
cable, fan, AC, wi-fi in the room and excelent, frigo bar. They cleaned the room
everyday and changed the towels. They provided towels, soap and toilet paper.
They helped us with the tours, everything they sold worked out fine and as
promised.The restaurante has very cheap breakfast, the cheapest capuccino in town.
We did not try the food but the prices were cheaper than restaurants in town.
It is near Taphe Gate, near the sunday street market and the local food market. As
always in Thailand near a 7-11 and a Tesco Supermarket.
Do not let your first impression prevail, the hotel is nice and confortable.
They sell water at the hotel for the cheapest price we payed in Thailand.
Downs: the manager speaks little English but everything we asked was done.
The bedroom has to much light to sleep and it is noisy because of the bars around
the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

As has been previously said the location on Moonmuang soi 7 is spot on, besides that it wasn't my cup of tea!
Bed was too hard & the room was like a prison cell. The staff were fine though, helpful with getting my car parked & always friendly.
Wifi like so many places was hit & miss. There is an internet shop just next door though at 10bt/hr.
500bt a night in high season so expectations shouldn't be too high.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ningaloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Chiang Mai is full of beatiful and cheaper guesthouses. The only good thing is the location, but besides that NorthLand Hotel has not a good appearance, is old, the wifi does not work in the room and the staff is not very helpful.
Choose another place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaZaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#149 of 381 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#138 of 381 in Chiang Mai
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai C.M. House
Chiang Mai C.M. House
#141 of 381 in Chiang Mai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#169 of 381 in Chiang Mai
76 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#144 of 381 in Chiang Mai
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miami Hotel
Miami Hotel
#247 of 381 in Chiang Mai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northlands House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northlands House Hotel

Property: Northlands House Hotel
Address: 2 Moonmuang Rd. Soi 7, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Northlands House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Northlands House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing