We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for two weary walk-ins” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rendezvous Guest House
Ranked #209 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
KL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for two weary walk-ins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stumbled upon Rendezvous as refugees seeking alternative accommodation after a bad night at a nearby guesthouse. The lady manager let us view the room prior to reserving it, and for 550 baht we soon found ourselves installed in a spacious, cool and reasonably quiet room later that morning.

This review would be complete if we had had a later flight the next morning and been able to try the complimentary breakfast. We also had no opportunity to test the ambience of the cafe downstairs, but it looked both busy and relaxed when we checked in around 10AM.

The room was pleasantly cool despite not being air-conditioned, and the TV provided us with a bit of white noise and entertainment as we packed. Shower was good in terms of temperature (well-heated) and water pressure (excellent).

Location's great, with a pharmacy, money changers and lots of eating spots nearby. The Sunday night market is a mere 3-minute stroll away, and many other central attractions within reasonable walking distance.

There's a deposit for the room amenities (around 400 baht, I think) but we got it back with no problems even with our early morning checkout.

Also, the Peppermint Cafe next door is lovely, a great place to meet fellow travellers and to watch a bit of the world go by.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lluviaypapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    60
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
7
58
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Beautiful, clean, relaxing... the perfect place to stay in Chiang Mae, on a little lane just off the main road. Quiet, with great service, perfect rooms, and breakfast included, its also next to one of the best international cafe/restaurants, The Peppermint Cafe. Feel completely at home here and will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadisova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

I found this place by this page. And was a bit hard to find the tiny street, but the staff on the phone was very kind to help me find it. I loved the location because is a quiet, but central, part of Chiang Mai old city.
The room was big, with windows in both sides and well ventilated. Big double bed, with clean toilet, free fast wifi and breakfast. The staff was lovely at all times. Great price for $550 a clean big room with breakfast and wifi!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed 2 days at this guesthouse. We needed a place to stay only for sleeping and shower, as all day we were supposed to be in town visiting all the marvelous temples around.
so no need to get a marvelous room as we would never get any time to savour the luxe of a room.
Our main criteria was a nice mattress, as after a long day visiting temple, we needed to have a nice and comfy rest.
The rendezvous guest house was absolutely perfect for our requirements.
Then the last day, the owner proposed us after check out to keep our luggage in a big room closed by cadena and to put all the valuable goods in metal case that we should lock with our personal lockers, all this with no charge. so we enjoyed chiangmai to the very last minute with pleasure of not having our heavy big backpacks with us!
Sincerely, the room at 450bath per was a very very good deal!

Room Tip: room at the 1st floor is better and avoid luggages with weels : better backpack as no lift there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I have know the Rendezvous Guest house for over 20 years. It has changed over time for the better. 30 rooms in total right, at the Tapae Gate in the old city. Some rooms are more basic and fan only, but its all kept very clean and the restaurant is above average.

We booked ahead and got adjoining room for the kids wife and I. They for a guest house were great rooms on the third floor a short walk up. The two end rooms. Nice quite air with conditioners, and a balcony overlooking the temple below. Small but for the price a great value. Satellite TV in the rooms as well. We enjoyed the Olympics.

Included is a continental breakfast. A cup of real nice hot strong coffee served with cream or creamer, and sugar. A nice glass of fresh juice of your choice, a small plate of very fresh fruit and two nice pieces of wheat toast, with fresh butter and jam or marmalade.

You can book tours there as well with no pressure.

Yes it is a guest house, so at night you can hear doors open and close if you are an early sleeper, but its no big deal. The place is a great value for the price.









I must admit the owner Khun Preecha, and his wife Khun Sureewan, are old friends. Khun Preecha had one of the first guest houses in Chaing Mai . The Orchid Guest House. We met and became friends 34 years ago, my oldest Thai friend in the Land of Smiles. Great to see him and his family, I am sure he feels the same way.

Room Tip: This is a guest house so we are talking less than 20 UDS or 12 quid a night. If you plan to get out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loonbeek
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

nice, clean & cheap guesthouse, located in the center of chiangmai.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_Lien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawai, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

very good hotel, well positioned in a quiet street, not far from the sunday market
very cheap room with breakfast included,
clean room with fridge, tv, aircon.
employed are very friendly. we wake up the boss 1am, who opened a room and he didn't ask any passport or paper.
a very beautiful place to explore the town

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordane76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Yourhouse Guesthouse
Yourhouse Guesthouse
#166 of 710 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#45 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rendezvous Guesthouse
Rendezvous Guesthouse
#403 of 710 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#69 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#18 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Smile House Boutique
Smile House Boutique
#195 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Guest House

Property: Rendezvous Guest House
Address: 153 ridonchai Road, | Changklan District, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing