We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central clean and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Klang Vieng Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baan Klang Vieng Hostel
Sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Central clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Great location, in the restaurant and market district. Lots of traffic about but its because its central. The rooms are quiet though you need to rely on closed windows and aircon. I didn't like the quilt style bed fabrics, too hot to sleep in even in winter. I would like a verandah but it does have a courtyard you can hang out in. The people who run it are friendly and professional and will help book tours for you.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jay_pleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    35
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
38
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I found this sweet hostel/guesthouse while walking on the main strip. It's clean, simply and elegantly decorated, spacious, and did I mention clean? The woman in charge speaks a little English and is very sweet. I had no problems while staying here.

It is a quiet spot though, so best for families or solo travelers wanting quiet and simple accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssfOakland_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Happy to find a clean quiet accommodation in Chiang Mai with tasteful white walls and wood furnishings. TV, Wi-fi, and a/c included. Friendly service and welcoming atmosphere. Above average room for about the average rate for the area. Excellent coffee in attached breakfast cafe! Trustworthy staff gives kind treatment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1earthgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We booked the place after reading all the reviews here in TA and I (as an hygiene freak) can confirm that it is really very clean. Bathroom is spotlessly white, even the corner of the room and the window rail are dustless! Very well taken care of I should say, thanks to the housekeeper lady there.

It's true the bed is harder than normal, but that's ok for us, we dont like soft bed after all.

Strategic location too, about 5 mins walking to Sunday walking street, Thapea Gate; 10 mins walking to Warorot Market; within walking distance to most of the main wat in the old city.

Since we are travelling in a group of four, we also love the fact that they allow us to add two extra beds, 1200B. It's merrier that way ;)

Room Tip: Side room overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toymakerlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed at Baan Klang Vieng for 5 nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the stafft was really friendly. We caught a stomach bug on the food market and the lady couldn't have been more caring and even gave us some herbal medicine for free, so that we felt a lot better the next day. This hostel is great value for money and you can walk easily to all the sights and temples.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Best hotel we've been to in Asia. So clean you can eat of the floor. Quiet and small. A/C in the rooms icluding shower with hot waqter and toilet. The price is 1000 Baht a night. Was perfect for our Honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taltul29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
165 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Clean hostel with ensuite bathroom and very friendly staff. The furniture was new and the location was perfect. It was a little quiet when I was there but if thats what youre looking for, then this hostel is perfect. For internet access, try the cafe next door :)

  • Liked — new furniture, location
  • Disliked — quiet
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Bow Chiangmai House
Bow Chiangmai House
#315 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The An-Teak
The An-Teak
#97 of 786 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
129/3 Backpacker Hostel
129/3 Backpacker Hostel
#326 of 786 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
M.D. House
M.D. House
#188 of 710 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#17 of 786 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#19 of 786 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klang Vieng Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klang Vieng Hostel

Property: Baan Klang Vieng Hostel
Address: 127/1 Moon Muang road, Soi 5, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 786 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Klang Vieng Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Baan Klang Vieng Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing