We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Klang Vieng Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lux Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel M Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ampawan(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kavil Guesthouse(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roong Ruang Hotel(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
47
37
7
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
37
7
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationaccommodation optionseast gateold citymini fridgetha phae gatebed dormstreet noisenice roomlocal marketwater pressurenight bazaarshort walkthe ground floorwould definitely stay here againtvthb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is located close to Thapae Gate, so ideal for catching TukTuks or Song Taos or walking to Restaurants or anywhere else in the old city. The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily. It's very quiet but in the morning you can hear the wake-up bells of the nearby Wat (at 4:30) but I always fell back to sleep quickly (i have a very light sleep). Sometimes you also hear monks chanting. I found this very nice and peaceful. Also the wind chimes on the roof of the Wat. Very very peaceful and calming.
Attached to the hotel is a small cafe with a few chairs outside with excellent Cappucino (the best I had in Chiang Mai) and Iced Latte. A nice place for breakfast is close by (about 50m, in the same Soi), Angel's Secrets Cafe.
The owners and the personnel of the hotel/hostel are very friendly.
We didn't find any negative points.

Room Tip: Check whether rooms have twin or double beds. We could only a get a twin room, facing the side to the Wat.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this small place after getting off the 16 hr train from Bangkok. It's near everything and its very convienent. It's a little expensive for a single room but its very clean and very quiet. The owner is very nice and always ready to help you with anything although her English isn't very good. Her little girl (7 mths) is so cute!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We loved this place! Stayed there for 3 nights and after a trip one more. For 700 Thb you'll get a great room, very well designed, really clean, at a great location and with a wonderfully nice owners. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaBoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

We booked a single room for the two of us by accident. The staff allowed us to see if it would work for us as they were fully booked for the night and had no double room available for us. We went ahead and agreed on sleeping there for one night and got a bigger room the other day.

The room was clean and had an A/C, TV, bathroom and wi-fi was available too. There's no balcony but there is a courtyard where you can sit.

Location is perfect as well, just like others say. The only con is that the matrasses are really hard and my back started to hurt after two days.

Other than that: go for it! It truly is a little gem and it has everything you need.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nienerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here in 2009 with my 2 female friends it was amazing so clean,safe and staff are lovely especially Daisy who worked in the Cafe attached to hostel.
It was better than a hotel we had stayed in called the Porn ping which we should have really known by the name not to stay there so we were so happy to find this little Gem!
My friends are returning to Chang Mai and will be hopefully staying again if there is a room free as its amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nataliemin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews