We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in hectic Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Klang Vieng Hostel
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An oasis in hectic Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I just need a couple of words to describe the Baan Klang Vieng Hostel: Friendly staff, nice location, quiet, clean rooms ... just go for it! An ideal place to escape the action after a long day visiting the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanusBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    35
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
38
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The lady running the place was very sweet and made sure I was taken care of. She even helped me schedule and early morning tuk tuk to the bus station the night before. I took a private room with ensuite bath and was very pleased in terms of space and cleanliness. There is an area for coffee and antiques decorate the place nicely. The massage place next door is great, as an added bonus. Temple bells are beautiful on the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingobroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel is located close to Thapae Gate, so ideal for catching TukTuks or Song Taos or walking to Restaurants or anywhere else in the old city. The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily. It's very quiet but in the morning you can hear the wake-up bells of the nearby Wat (at 4:30) but I always fell back to sleep quickly (i have a very light sleep). Sometimes you also hear monks chanting. I found this very nice and peaceful. Also the wind chimes on the roof of the Wat. Very very peaceful and calming.
Attached to the hotel is a small cafe with a few chairs outside with excellent Cappucino (the best I had in Chiang Mai) and Iced Latte. A nice place for breakfast is close by (about 50m, in the same Soi), Angel's Secrets Cafe.
The owners and the personnel of the hotel/hostel are very friendly.
We didn't find any negative points.

Room Tip: Check whether rooms have twin or double beds. We could only a get a twin room, facing the side to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Stumbled upon this small place after getting off the 16 hr train from Bangkok. It's near everything and its very convienent. It's a little expensive for a single room but its very clean and very quiet. The owner is very nice and always ready to help you with anything although her English isn't very good. Her little girl (7 mths) is so cute!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

We loved this place! Stayed there for 3 nights and after a trip one more. For 700 Thb you'll get a great room, very well designed, really clean, at a great location and with a wonderfully nice owners. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaBoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

We booked a single room for the two of us by accident. The staff allowed us to see if it would work for us as they were fully booked for the night and had no double room available for us. We went ahead and agreed on sleeping there for one night and got a bigger room the other day.

The room was clean and had an A/C, TV, bathroom and wi-fi was available too. There's no balcony but there is a courtyard where you can sit.

Location is perfect as well, just like others say. The only con is that the matrasses are really hard and my back started to hurt after two days.

Other than that: go for it! It truly is a little gem and it has everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nienerds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here in 2009 with my 2 female friends it was amazing so clean,safe and staff are lovely especially Daisy who worked in the Cafe attached to hostel.
It was better than a hotel we had stayed in called the Porn ping which we should have really known by the name not to stay there so we were so happy to find this little Gem!
My friends are returning to Chang Mai and will be hopefully staying again if there is a room free as its amazing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliemin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#7 of 383 in Chiang Mai
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boonthavon
Boonthavon
#223 of 747 in Chiang Mai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The An-Teak
The An-Teak
#110 of 839 in Chiang Mai
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
TJR Boutique House
TJR Boutique House
#113 of 747 in Chiang Mai
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
House No. 11
House No. 11
#36 of 839 in Chiang Mai
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klang Vieng Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klang Vieng Hostel

Property: Baan Klang Vieng Hostel
Address: 127/1 Moon Muang road, Soi 5, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 839 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Klang Vieng Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Klang Vieng Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing