We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Klang Vieng Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$690
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$416
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort(Chiang Mai)
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Anantara.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
48
37
7
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
37
7
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationaccommodation optionseast gateold citymini fridgetha phae gatebed dormstreet noisenice roomlocal marketwater pressurenight bazaarshort walkthe ground floorwould definitely stay here againtvthb
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Very clean Hostel. Close to the Sunday night market. Run by a young husband and wife team with a small baby - pleasant enough.Quite a few decently priced restaurants at the top of the street. Very well priced. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicespain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I had a sparkling clean, bright, spacious room here with reliable hot water and wi-fi (free). tv, a good air conditioning unit and refrigerator. The full sized bed was comfortable. The cool, white, marble like floor added to the brightness. It was in an excellent location, not far from the ThaPae Gate and it was a short ways up a street from the main road. You could be where the action is, but not have to hear it all night. The manager was friendly and helpful. It's pleasantly decorated. You leave your shoes outside and lock the door behind you at night. It feels like you're staying in someone's home. There's a courtyard with a coffee shop attached. There's a coin laundry nearby and lots of restaurants of every kind, as well as a couple of convenience stores.

There is room for improvement, though.

1. Reception is not open 24 hours. it isn't even open very late. Reception was closed on Sunday. i don't know if that's always the case, but it was closed the Sunday I was there.
2. There was an alley behind the room I stayed in with occasional foot traffic. It wouldn't have been a problem if I hadn't been able to see through the curtains. And if I can see out...
3. No one wants to hear a tour pitch as soon as they open the door and put their luggage down.
4. Not enough toilet paper provided.
5. Only one English channel on the tv (but if you're in Chiang Mai to watch tv, shame on you)

However, I will stay here again the next time I'm in Chiang Mai. Overall and for the most part, it was quite lovely.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room. There'll be no one walking by your window.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0vejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I really enjoyed my stay 6-night stay at this hostel. I had a superior air-con room, which was clean, spacious and very pleasantly decorated. The bed was wonderful - large and with a good mattress.

Baan Klang Vieng is located right next door to Ponganes Cafe, where they serve some of the best coffee in Chiang Mai, so one can count on starting their day with a cup of very good coffee. The location is central: on the edge of the old city district yet within walking distance from the Night Bazaar area. There's plenty on restaurants, cafes, massage parlors and 7/11s in the vicinity. The hostel staff can help you organize cooking classes and trips, and are generally very accommodating and helpful people.

There may be many accommodation options in the area but this one certainly stands out for its relaxing atmosphere, cleanliness and comfort. I highly recommend Baan Klang Vieng.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6thSymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I just need a couple of words to describe the Baan Klang Vieng Hostel: Friendly staff, nice location, quiet, clean rooms ... just go for it! An ideal place to escape the action after a long day visiting the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanusBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The lady running the place was very sweet and made sure I was taken care of. She even helped me schedule and early morning tuk tuk to the bus station the night before. I took a private room with ensuite bath and was very pleased in terms of space and cleanliness. There is an area for coffee and antiques decorate the place nicely. The massage place next door is great, as an added bonus. Temple bells are beautiful on the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingobroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews