We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute, comfortable, value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel
Ranked #415 of 824 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We loved Sawasdee Chiangmai House, it was rustic, not too big & not too small. A good sized boutique hotel. Pretty well kept & clean but decor is a bit dark. We found the location to be very good & the customer service to be great! Easy to get to the night market & temples. Sam the owner was wonderful with lots of great advice! All the staff was wonderfully accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Brittanny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Sawasdee, Sam and Mo were very helpful in organising things for us to do and extremely friendly. They organised some great days out for us, the highlights being Baan Chang Elephant Park and Thai Secret Cooking School. Rooms were large and clean, wifi strong and cold water was always waiting in the fridge!

We ended up staying twice as we came back after a few days in Pai as we really liked it here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This rustic guest house is well located in a quiet alley in the old city. Stayed here for two nights on short notice and based on tripadvisor reviews. However, I'm afraid the guesthouse did not live up to the enthusiastic reviews. While the standard room was indeed spacious, I found it dreary with lack of natural light. There were only three small windows with slatted glass windows and which we were unable to open because the hand crank was not working. The walls and floor are painted concrete. The unit was clean enough if you don't look too hard. No kettle in the room but there is hot water available in the lobby. I would be depressed to stay here longer. In retrospect, we know there are more comfortable accommodations at or below this price point in the old city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boomer-Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Quiet at night and easy walking to most markets and old town restaurants. The staff was so helpful during our stay, helping us with restaurant reservations and setting up excursions. We were a group of 10 ladies and on the go everyday. They started our day with a smile, serving us breakfast to order in their breakfast room. Rooms are large, our room had a small "living room" in addition to the bedroom and bath. We were there for 2 weeks during the Chinese New Year and The Flower Market a great time with a lot going on in Old Town. Laundry is inexpensive and if sent in the morning is back at the end of the day. There are many guest houses in Chiang Mai, but with the exceptional staff, this one stands out. We loved our stay and recommend you look into staying there if you are traveling to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudiKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed here recently & the hotel was everything I needed at a good price. Good location, comfortable & friendly staff. The night markets are not far from the hotel & I especially recommend the night food market just across the Chang Phueak bridge a short walk away, look for the lady with the hat selling pork & rice yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter although it wasn't noisy when I was there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gergmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right in the middle of the old city, with friendly staff and a nearby 7/11.
We stayed the first night in a delux room before moving to a standard room for 4 nights. Apart from the delux having a balcony and a slightly larger bathroom, there was no difference.

The rooms are large but cell-like, with prison-style cement walls painted a withering colour. The showers were only ever lukewarm.

There is no safe in the room which is a shame but otherwise the bed was comfortable enough and staff are very pleasant and friendly.

Breakfast is ok. Eggs (scrambled or fried) on toast, with ham (which I didn't eat), jam and fruit. Plus your juice of orange juice or coffee/tea.

It's a good hotel but don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catskitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for seven nights here just before Christmas.

Their excellent service was put to the test from the start as Expedia had messed up a reservation change we made by phone a month before our stay, which resulted in our original reservation being cancelled and no new reservation being sent. So...when we arrived, they didn't have us in their book. They were able to house us immediately for the first four days, then called around to find another room for the remainder and actually walked us to the hotel where the room would be so we could see the place. In the meantime, and while Expedia was busy trying to blame everyone but themselves for their error (I give Expedia zero stars for service!), another cancellation came in and we were able to stay at Sawasdee Chiangmai House the whole time, changing rooms halfway through the stay. I think we might have ended up in an upgraded room as well.

The marching band associated with the enormous school across the street did practice into the evening hours, but that was actually pretty interesting. There was the odd motorbike in the night on the narrow street where the guesthouse is located, but overall it was pretty quiet at night.

The breakfast choices were pretty standard -- eggs and toast, fresh fruit, coffee tea or juice, small crackers.

The bed was comfortable, the rooms were plenty big enough, showers worked decently.

The hot water an electric on-demand heater can produce is inevitably a little weak, there's just not enough BTUs there compared to gas. Everywhere we stayed with electric on-demand hot water in the shower meant a somewhat anemic flow or temperature -- to get one up to snuff meant sacrificing the other.

But the main thing, as with other guesthouses where we stayed (vs hotels), was the joy in getting to know the people who ran the place. And the staff was super-helpful from beginning to end.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#99 of 395 in Chiang Mai
122 reviews
1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#91 of 395 in Chiang Mai
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anoma Boutique House
Anoma Boutique House
#204 of 824 in Chiang Mai
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#39 of 824 in Chiang Mai
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel

Address: 5 Praplokklao Soi 13 | T.Sripoom, A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Sawasdee Chiangmai House)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 824 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £13 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are clean and well furnished with teakwood furniture, air conditioner, refrigerator, bathroom with hot and cold water, The Deluxe room has its own private balcony. To ensure a soothing and pleasant stay the big rooms are quite spacious at 32 square meters.Sabaidee Chiangmai Hotel is a cozy boutique guesthouse which decorated in the old Lanna style with hand painted wall mural. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sabaidee Chiang Mai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Chiangmai House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing