We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very enjoyable look behind the curtain of Northern Thai cuisine

We did the Chiang Mai chef's tour with Moui and is was a highlight of our 8-day trip to Thailand... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Thomas C
Food, history and culture

We had a fantastic evening with Moui from a Chef’s Tour. From the moment she picked us up for our... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sara P
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 54 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chiang Mai
from US$65.80
More Info
from US$69.09
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
from US$44.42
More Info
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
52
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern thai food century egg laab burmese salads burmese restaurant local expert history lesson silk worms khao soi local market food stalls friendly guide great knowledge local ingredients delicious food small group northern thailand
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2018

I booked A Chef's Tour in Chiang Mai with Moui the tour guide. It was a fantastic afternoon and evening visiting carefully selected restaurants and food stalls across the city to taste local and regional Thai cuisine. Moui was a knowledgeable and passionate guide who was happy to answer any questions we could think of. Interestingly, I learnt about local northern delicacies and the Chinese and Burmese influences on Thai cooking which I didn't know about.

As part of the tour, we visited a local Thai market learning about herbs, spices and veggies unique to Thai cuisine and sampling some of these along the way. Other types of food we tried were: Laab (a spicy mincemeat salad), Khao Kha Mu served by a Cowgirl (stewed pork and rice dish with a egg & a variety of spices to add) and Sai Ua (lemongrass sausage), silkworms and crickets for the less faint hearted; and much

My tip would be to arrive hungry and be open to trying as many different dishes as possible, however you are under no obligation to try everything and I found visiting each neighbourhood across Chiang Mai just as much fun as the eating. Definitely a tour for anyone who loves food, travel and culture.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Natalie,

Thanks so much for joining Moui on her Chiang Mai food tour and to hear that you enjoyed the experience! Your guide said she had such a fun time showing you the food scene in her city. Hope you had fun on the rest of your Thai adventure!

All the best,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

This is a really good tour representing great value for money. It provides an opportunity to sample food and parts of the city that we would have otherwise struggled to find.

What really made the trip so enjoyable was the guide, Moui, who has a great knowledge of Northern Thai cuisine, friendly manner, and a strong command of English. One section that was particularly enjoyable was taking a walk through an indoor market which had a vast array of different food products. Moui's passion and knowledge really shone through here as she was able talk us through all the different vegetables, herbs etc. and we also tried some great stuff along the way too.

I would recommend trying not to eat too much beforehand as we were absolutely stuffed afterwards! In addition to the market there is plenty of food on offer along the way.

Would definitely recommend, was one of the highlights of our trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DanW2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Dan,

Moui mentioned she had a great time showing you all around! It's a lot of food, but we try to give a rounded look at the best dishes from Northern Thai cuisine. So great to hear it ended up being one of the highlights of your trip.

Hope to see you on another one of our foodie adventures soon.

All the best,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I are well travelled and often take a food tour to get to grips with local food and the local area. Having been to thailand on a number of occasions we wanted something a bit different to the usual Pad Thai, satay and papaya salad tasting and this tour really hit the mark. Moui was a fantastic knowledgeable guide who explained loads not only about the food we tried but all the raw ingredients in the market and Thai/Burmese culture and history too.

There is LOTS of food on this tour - definitely go hungry! We had only eaten breakfast but still struggled to do justice to the amount of food we were given and went home with bags of things for later. It may have been because there was just the 2 of us on the tour but I get the feeling this is usual! Also I've eaten a lot of Thai food but this tour covered Burmese food in thailand and food particular to northern thailand and local to chiang mai too so even if you think you know Thai food, there will be lots of new and unusual flavours to try.

If you're open to new flavours, have a good appetite and want some great local knowledge thrown in too then this is the tour for you - you won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukecharny, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you so much for joining us on our Chiang Mai Food Adventure by Truck and thank you even more for taking the time to write an indepth review of the tour. It really helps to give others a feel for the tours we run and we always love to hear that people have had a good time with our guides.

I hope you both have a fantastic time on the rest of your Thailand adventure.

All the best

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Attended this food tour about two months ago (sorry, this is long overdue), & it left us with a great memory. Not only for the food I tasted, sight I seen, but the hospitality that left its mark. I would boldly say this is a fool-proof choice for tasty local food, a condensed way to know about the city, and more important interacting with friendly people, like our guide Khun Pin. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank fi43125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukecharny, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thanks so much for leaving your feedback and we're so pleased to hear that its left you with some food memories. Pin said she had a great time showing you both around. Hopefully we'll see you both on another one of our foodie tours in the near future!

All the best,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve been on several food tours and this one was by far the best. Our female guide was extremely knowledgeable about the food, its origins, how it’s made, and its ingredients. We also visited a local market and was introduced to many fresh foods. This is a definite must when visiting Chiang Mai.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JoelG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukecharny, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi there Joel,
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write us a review. We're so pleased to hear that you had a good time with Moui in Chiang Mai. It's also great to hear that as someone who's been on food tours before, that yI ou enjoyed ours so much.
We hope that the rest of your Thai adventures were as much or more fun!
Happy Travels
Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews