We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai) tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai)
from US$55.00
More Info
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
49
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern thai food century egg laab burmese salads silk worms khao soi food stalls friendly guide great knowledge local market local ingredients small group northern thailand take home rice pad thai herbs
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We really enjoyed the food tour we went on. We had Moui as our tour guide and she was amazing! Fully knowledgeable about the history of Chiang Mai and the various restaurants we went on. She often elaborated on why they chose certain food stalls and the stories behind each place and we really appreciated that. We visited the local market and learned a lot about the spices and herbs. It made the tour more than just good food...which there was a lot of. Also, major shoutout to Moui. She was so kind and generous with her time. Thanks again for the nice tour!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Marco,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience. Moui's a fantastic guide and really knows her stuff when it comes to Northern Thai cuisine and the history behind it.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Thailand!

All the best,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Moui was a brilliant host. Really warm and extremely knowledgeable on the surrounds, the food, the people of the region, the history of Thailand and, most importantly, the food regions of Thailand.
Can’t add much more than has been written in other reviews except to say the food is exquisite, exceedingly genuine and superb value for money.
Be warned: skip all meals that day! It’s a true gut buster!!
Very flexible tour and we felt we were being taken around Chiang Mai by a friend.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Storyteller543517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke C, Manager at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

So glad to hear that you had a great time with Moui, she really is a fantastic guide!

And of course we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed learning about the wonderful food and region, and that you certainly had enough to eat!

We would be delighted to welcome you on another of our tours any time.

Best

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We had the best food ever, a chefs tour took us around local areas where local people eats. You won’t find any tourist around as it is out of the walls. We visited a market where we were told all the main ingredients of North Thailand food. At the market we tried all kind of delicacies like sausages, century eggs and if you are adventurous you can also have some deep fried insects. We are the food in a local restaurant run by Burmese people where we also had some typical Burmese salads.
To continue we went to Chinatown to have noodles, fruits and smoothies.
The last visit was ginger drink with silky tofu. We were so full we could finish all food. So be prepared and have a light lunch or no lunch at all.
We had a lot of explanations about what North Thai people ate in the old times.
By the way, I forgot about the first dish, actually the best. Super soft pork with rice in a very famous stall in Chiang Mai.
I recommended this tour 100%

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Alejandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke C, Owner at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Alejandro,

Fantastic to hear that you felt that you had the best food ever. That's what we're aiming for here at A Chef's Tour, looking for those hidden spots that only locals know about. That pork dish from the Cowgirl is my favourite too!

I hope you had a great time on the rest of your Thai adventure!

All the best,

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We very much enjoyed our tour with Moui. She took us to some fantastic locations outside the city walls and we tried some unique and unusual foods. I felt like we got our money's worth and then some, as we took some food back to our hotel that we couldn't finish on the tour and ate it for breakfast the next day. I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank pjs678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke C, Manager at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi pjs678,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave a review! I am so glad you enjoyed the tour, and hope to welcome you on another tour in future.

Best

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

A group of us took this tour in early July and had a great experience. Moui guided us expertly through multiple street stalls, marketplaces and simple eating places that we would never have visited otherwise, and we got a first class insight into the fascinating, sometimes challenging and always delicious world of Chiang Mai street food and the local ingredients that make it so special.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank EGTM_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke C, Manager at A Chef's Tour (Chiang Mai), responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi EGTM_8,

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your tour with Moui, and that we were able to guide you through the wonderful world of food in Chiang Mai.

It really is a special place to explore and enjoy culinary experiences. We would be delighted to welcome you on any of our other tours in future.

Best

Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews