We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean inexpensive stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanna House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanna House
Ranked #494 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
taree
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good clean inexpensive stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at lanna House for 2 weeks as I had some dental work carried out and found the staff friendly, the rooms clean, the sheets white,and the internet fast.
I am coming back to Chiang Mai in 3 months and have already booked another room.
This place is the best value in town ....your stay includes a vegetarian breakfast and the coffee shop serves great coffee

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    30
    24
    7
    9
See reviews for
5
24
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

i stayed at lanna house for 3 nights & thoroughly enjoyed my stay with lanna house.

free fast wi-fi, nice air conditioner, big room, 24 hrs hot water supply , 2 complimentry water bottles per day, cleaned up room every day, a very friendly staff, centrally located (adjacent to tha pae gate), walking distance to Loi Kroh road and 10 mins walk to night bazaar.
being a vegetarian i luved the morning complimentary breakfast..

during the course of the day there used to be two girls and a guy during the night time at the reception and all of them were nice and always helping.
i dint know how to use the wi-fi, the girl at reception tried to help however she was not that tech savvy like me so she asked me to wait until her boss comes. within 15 mins i got a call from reception as the help had arrived and wi fi got connected..and not to mention with great speed.

they arranged me a reasonable taxi to the airport early in the morning.
whole area was clean and nice ambiance.
tuk tuk can be found just at the tha pae gate.
all the time i felt like being at home.
given a chance, i would defenitely like to stay with lanna house again ..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kishlay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed at Lanna House for a week, while travelling alone in Thailand. The room was large with AC that actually worked. Private bathroom (although curtain was a bit mouldy), complimentary drinking water and a decent TV.

The breakfast was lovely, although if you like your meat it's not going to impress as it's all vegetarian. There is a cafe attached to the guesthouse which makes lovely cakes and fantastic coffee. Next to the guesthouse there is a lively bar with live cover bands in the evenings.

All very close to Old Town, and a short walk from Night Bazaar.

The staff were super friendly and chatty, and there were loads of tours you could book with them. Great value - they even had a special 4 for 3 nights offer on.

In summary - I highly recommend Lanna House!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

The room, which included breakfast and wi-fi was very cheap and close to pretty much everything. It is an adequate place to keep your stuff and have a place to sleep, with a good central location for going out, but that's about it.

The room itself didn't feel clean - in fact, the cleaners did even clean our room one day when we were out (and we hadn't left a "do not disturb" on the door). Some of the room was in disrepair - the wallpaper and flooring could use replacing and our bathroom sink was very slow draining (which we told the staff about on the first day we were there, but was never repaired for the entire 5 days). This all made the room feel slightly unclean and dank.

The bed was incredibly hard and the pillows totally flat. I was quite happy when we got to our next hotel to have a decent sleep.

The cafe was good, it serves vegetarian food and was a good place to relax and have a smoothie.

The service was somewhat indifferent, I'd call it "as efficient as it needed to be". Basically, the staff does their job, but didn't really go any further than they absolutely had to. The staff was all young, sometimes playing video games at the desk at night or chatting on the phone. It gave the hotel a real "youth hostel" feel.

Stay at Lanna House if you want something cheap and adequate in a good location. Go somewhere else if you have slightly more money to spend and want a hotel that isn't just a place to crash.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weaselfactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here for a long term trip and was impressed with the staff. Free wifi and free delicious breakfast (Thai & American, homemade) make it a great value. The staff will go out of their way to help you. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 282911st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

this hotel was really worth it for the money. it was a big room, clean, free wifi and breakfast was included. if you compare the price with other guesthouses around which doesn`t serve breakfast and clean up your room daily, then you come to the conclusion that it is the best deal you can get for your money in chiang mai.

the staff was so friendly and always happy for a chat.
the breakfast is served in the internetcafe downstairs and was under construction during our stay.
so it will have soon a nice interior and a new design.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wutschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

This review is actually for August 2009, but I loved this place so much and I couldn't believe there were so few reviews that I had to write this one.

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lanna House after leaving Vanilla Place (no windows in our room there.) We walked in looking for a room and were given a large room on the top floor for about $22/night. The hotel is located right outside the main gate, near the Night Market and a bunch of restaurants and bars. It was by far the best experience we had in Thailand. The staff was unbelieveable. My boyfriend lost his passport the first night, so we had to cancel our trek. The staff helped us figure out how to get a new passport and helped us book activities around our consulate appointment. Knowing that we were disappointed to miss our trek, they even worked with a tour company to arrange for us to join a full-day trek and leave for our appointment early, sending a car to come get us. They went above and beyond, and without them our trip would have been ruined. I honestly could not thank them enough.

There is a great internet cafe with skype and good coffee and smoothies. The room itself was clean, quiet, and I liked the open bathroom. The breakfast was really good, especially if you just wanted to grab something quick before heading out on some activities, and included some American options too.

If you are looking for great value, you cannot beat the Lanna House. If I ever return to Chiang Mai, there is nowhere else I would ever stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#114 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.1 mi away
i Lanna House
i Lanna House
#55 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Origin
Hotel de Origin
#141 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay With Me Guest House
Stay With Me Guest House
#135 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#155 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanna House

Property: Lanna House
Address: 267 Tha Pae Rd. | T.Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanna House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanna House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing