We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stay, good value for money”
Review of Lanna House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanna House
Ranked #490 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my time at Lanna house. The front desk staff are ultra friendly and helpful. For the price i paid it was a good deal. Location-wise I would say it's well situated, about a 10-15minute walk to the night bazaar.

Issues would be that bathroom shower area was too small, but for that price that's fine.

The major issue is mosquitoes. The management needs to do something about this. However, during my stay I just went down to the reception and requested for a insecticide which was then purchased and given to me immediately. This solved the issue during my stay.

Will stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rajeev_cri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Lanna House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Room was big enough for 3 persons although I booked the standard twin bed (extra 200 baht per night for addition of a bed). Clean room and bathroom unfortunately the sink hole was slightly blocked. Comfy bed and pillow. Hotel provides towel and a soap. However it was noisy during the night as there's a pub below. Good location, especially near Tha Pae gate (joined the Chiang Mai Marathon). Reception is friendly too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickymicky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Stay in 24May 2013 : Room is big enough with basic amenities: No shampoo but have little soap: still hotel not far from eveything u cud buy. seven eleven just 2 minutes walk 1 minute for mcdonald and Thapae gate

Best part is cheaper rate (800 pernight) though no Abf included but no worries plenty restaurant surrounded hotel: The other good thing that they provided bicycle rental only 50 baht for whole day

Wifi is workable fine: the downside is room has mosquitoes in it. u have too put anti mosquitoes lotion when go sleep or cover whole body with blanket and turn on air con in high fan high temp too get rid of them

still this is not much bothrr me
All in all; this hotel is fair worthy enuf for the price i paid whole 3 nights!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We find the rooms to be average but we find it acceptable given the price we paid. The plus point for this hotel is definitely the location, which is just minutes away from Thapae Gate. What I particularly like about the hotel is also the service, the reception staff have been most helpful. They recommended us the 1 day Chiang Rai trip and it was great, no regrets! They also helped us to arrange our transport to Pai as well and all these saves us time in looking for them ourselves. Oh, there's free WiFi too, which is great!

There's definitely other options available in Chiang Mai but I would recommend this hotel for it's price and location!

Room Tip: As it's located next to a pub, try asking room facing the back of the hotel and higher floor (if...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This was my third stay and I will be back. The staff at the reception was very helpful and went out of their way to assist me in some business matters. A room towards the back helps with the noise coming from the bar. The rooms I stayed in were simple and very clean. Yes, mosquitos are plentiful, but not only in this place. I got some spray down the road from 7/11. Wifi was always working well and at no extra charge. Credit card payment is accepted without an extra charge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etuthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed on the 3rd floor of this hotel from Jan 27th-31st 2013, never again! The hotel breakfast facility has been dis-continued, we missed the convenience of it rather than the quality. Very large double bed, but almost impossible to sleep with the creaking sounds created by the plywood base beneath the mattress, complained to reception and was offered the next door room which was as bad if not worse than the original room, we didnt take it. The free Wi-fi was at best very aggravating and annoying, on/off continuously and dire when it was on! The late night music from the next door "Inter" bar was very noisy and didn't help the overall experience in this hotel. The whole frontage of the hotel is now a clothes mini-market, partially restricting the entrance and particularly when 2 or 3 motor bikes were parked directly in front of the doors. Apart from the tiny hotel-sized soap bars, shampoo etc is not supplied. Although the room is well cleaned daily, the towels were very old and after one use smelled. The stairs carpet especially on the upper levels were torn and threadbare. When leaving the room the lock on the door was a single flimsy yale-type and in my opinion wouldn't take much effort to overcome. All-in-all for a hotel charging 700-750Bt/night a lot more should be expected, there are many other hotels/guesthouses in the general area offering much better value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henwan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

A friend and I stayed here for several weeks when we first visited Chiang Mai and had a lovely experience here. Though it is a bit more expensive than other guest houses, the location was great - just across from Thapae Gate and the Sunday Walking Street - and the rooms were clean and well maintained. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was modern and consistently had hot water, and the rooms were spacious enough for two people to share comfortably.

A vegetarian buffet breakfast was included with the price of a night's stay, and the food was delicious. My friend and I are freelancers and often worked in the cafe beneath Lanna House, which had good food and friendly service.

The Lanna House staff was pleasant, accommodating and helpful and were full of smiles every time we came home. The wifi was reliable, though it was annoying to need a new password each day.

The only downside was that, because of the live music at the bar next door, it can be a little loud at night when you're trying to sleep. Otherwise, Lanna House is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaseyH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Roong Ruang Hotel
Roong Ruang Hotel
#167 of 388 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#122 of 388 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
1.0 mi away
i Lanna House
i Lanna House
#17 of 891 in Chiang Mai
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#158 of 777 in Chiang Mai
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Thai House
Chiang Mai Thai House
#235 of 777 in Chiang Mai
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay With Me Guest House
Stay With Me Guest House
#118 of 777 in Chiang Mai
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanna House

Address: 267 Tha Pae Rd. | T.Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £10 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanna House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanna House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing