We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unparalleled Service - Would Never Stay Anywhere Else!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanna House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanna House
Ranked #475 of 711 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Service - Would Never Stay Anywhere Else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

This review is actually for August 2009, but I loved this place so much and I couldn't believe there were so few reviews that I had to write this one.

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lanna House after leaving Vanilla Place (no windows in our room there.) We walked in looking for a room and were given a large room on the top floor for about $22/night. The hotel is located right outside the main gate, near the Night Market and a bunch of restaurants and bars. It was by far the best experience we had in Thailand. The staff was unbelieveable. My boyfriend lost his passport the first night, so we had to cancel our trek. The staff helped us figure out how to get a new passport and helped us book activities around our consulate appointment. Knowing that we were disappointed to miss our trek, they even worked with a tour company to arrange for us to join a full-day trek and leave for our appointment early, sending a car to come get us. They went above and beyond, and without them our trip would have been ruined. I honestly could not thank them enough.

There is a great internet cafe with skype and good coffee and smoothies. The room itself was clean, quiet, and I liked the open bathroom. The breakfast was really good, especially if you just wanted to grab something quick before heading out on some activities, and included some American options too.

If you are looking for great value, you cannot beat the Lanna House. If I ever return to Chiang Mai, there is nowhere else I would ever stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    30
    24
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
24
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

I've stayed at the Lanna House quite a few times and really feel welcomed there. The staff is very friendly and always going above and beyond. There is a really nice internet cafe (internet free if you are a guest) that has some really good coffee and vegetarian meals. Really easy to relax if you have been busy traveling and wanting to catch up what else is going on in the world.

I will always stay at the Lanna House when I go to Chiang Mai!

Pros/Cons
LOCATION:
Pro: Location is very central to Chiang Mai. PERFECT if you are there on Sunday as it is a minute away from the Sunday Night Market
Con: Location is directly next to a loud karoke bar, but just make sure to get a room facing away from the street or toward the other end of the hotel and you will be fine!

ROOMS:
Pro: Enough space, good water pressure, and nicely decorated with free water.
Con: Beds can be a little hard

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bran92011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed two night in Lanna House. The location of this place is very good it is very close to the walls and very close to the night market.
The room was big and fine but they weren't as clean as I wanted it to be, it was not bad at all but it could be cleaner, the stairs were dusty.
The breakfast is basic but good.
there are some noises coming from a close Bar but it did not affect us at all because we arrive tired and fall asleep immediately.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiPi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

A nice little hotel just outside the city walls. We were given a large room on the top floor, nicely decorated and with a big bathroom. The room was very clean (just remember to put out the "make up my room" card), but the stairs were a bit dusty. It was a bit noisy at night because of a nearby bar playing loud music, but we were always so tired that we immediately fell asleep. Breakfast is basic but not bad at all, with some Thai dishes. The reception staff are nice and speak good English!

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — No lift!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Manu1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#112 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#73 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#170 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#156 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Thai House
Chiang Mai Thai House
#316 of 711 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stay With Me Guest House
Stay With Me Guest House
#130 of 711 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanna House

Property: Lanna House
Address: 267 Tha Pae Rd. | T.Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanna House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Lanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanna House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing