We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiangmai Smith Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Basic rooms but very clean, everything worked and I chose one with a small kitchen area which was very handy. After deciding to stay long term this time I looked at loads of long stay places and this was by far the best value. Tiny pool and my Tv was a little small but these are minor winges considering the location and price. Really recommend but don't use thwe restaurant its naff!!!!

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelbosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    57
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
48
70
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chang mai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed in a basic room which was Large yet poorly finished for example, no bedside lights but TWO florescent tube lights, dazzling to the point of painful. the staff staff were friendly and helpful, however they could use some help learning English. Location not the greatest, but plus's were off the road parking, swimming pool although v v small and gym. What I did Find it irritating was that the attached shop allowed people to smoke whilst sitting inside having a beer and that i had to pay 4 the internet, whilst in many places its free. IMO this place is ok but from my experiences there's better value to be had in Chang Mai

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superspurs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Smith Residence gets my "ok" rating. I have stayed in quite a few places in Thailand and it is convenient as a long term apartment type rental.

We rented the one bedroom suite for one month and were placed on the top (8th) floor.

The rooms are somewhat like the photos but expect "modern on a budget". Even by Thai standards. It's starting to show some wear but it was nice and clean. I will admit, I was disappointed compared to what I saw on the website.

The kitchenette wasn't very well appointed making it not very practical for cooking. Not even a kettle to boil water in. This was advertised as a service apartment so I expected more of what I needed to live a long stay life. Two cups, two plates, a frying pan, hot plate and microwave are pretty slim. Definitely not family friendly. No bottle water provided so be sure to bring your own.

The room size is nice and big and this unit had two bathrooms...one off of the bedroom with a full bathtub/shower (with shower curtain), and a guest half bath off of the balcony. Only two towels provided which is a little tough if you expect to use the pool. Fresh linens and towels were provided twice a week (although I had to remind them on two occasions during the month). No soap, shampoo or toilet paper....bring your own.

Air conditioning worked well. There is a separate unit in the bedroom which is nice. Electricity was extra on a monthly rental (not sure how it works for daily).

Probably the biggest draw-back to Smith Residence is that the walls are very thin and I could constantly hear the TV or people speaking in the next room (almost like they were in an adjacent bedroom).

The pool is quite small but clean with nice views of the city. The work out room has some basic adequate equipment...nothing special...one treadmill, eliptical, uni-gym and a couple stationary bikes. No AC though so you work up a good sweat.

The location... depending on what you're here for, it can be good or bad. It isn't really near anything so if you're here to do the tourist thing, be prepared to constantly paying for red car or walking a lot. If you're looking to live like a Thai in a Thai neighbourhood (there is authentic Thai street food at the night market very close - Chiang Mai Gate), you may like this place. The large grocery stores are a loooong way away (walkable but not with bags full of food and beverages). However, you can find most necessities (TP, Water, Beer ;)) for good prices at the Tesco Express a block away.

The staff were ok. Not really doing anything special for you but always available to answer questions with a smile. The reservation process needs work. I e-mailed them to ask for a suite and could never get a solid confirmation on whether I had a reservation or not. I'm assuming this was a language barrier. I did, thankfully, have my requested non-smoking suite when I arrived. They only accept cash for payment and I had to put up a full additional month of rent for deposit.

All in all, Ok place. Would I return? Maybe...it depends on what I'm in town for.

Pros: clean, large rooms, good AC, true non-smoking room, Thai street food.
Cons: insufficient room amenities, location could be tough for some, noisy, mediocre service.

Room Tip: Getting around the main town of Chiang Mai is easy and cheap once you know how. Flag down a red pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mowgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

July is kind of hot so its great to stay on a place that has a pool. The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily. The decor is a bit sparse, but they have nice bathrooms and its all tiles and modern.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bluewrenrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 8th floor for 2 months.

The apartment has modern decor, a small kitchen with hot plates and microwave, decent sized refrigerator with icebox, good bathroom, extra toilet, large comfy bed. LCD TV, aircon x2, DVD/CD player, electronic safe. Good sized wardrobe too. Great pool on the roof.

Apartment was well cleaned twice per week with new bedding, bathrooms cleaned, surfaces wiped, floors vacuumed and washed.

We had a view of the city, apartments on the other side of the corridor looked towards Doi Suthep - but they are 19000 bath per month.

Fast and STABLE onternet is exceptionally important to us as we need it for work and study. Happy to report that Smiths wired and wireless internet (which came free with the apt) was both speedy and reliable. We never had problems with our voip/skype calls. It just worked. It also had a 4 seat dining table from which to work.

There's a shop, a smiley laundry lady (40bt per kg), and a Thai restaurant downstairs. Food at the restaurant was ok - except for their curry - which was yuk. You can just call 102 and they will deliver food to your room.

Location is good with Chiang Mai Gate market at the end of the road. Of the nearby restaurants Ciccia's House restaurant 50 metres down the road is the best. It serves excellent Thai and Italian food.
It's an easy walk to bars and restaurants inside the Old City. It's easy to find tuk tuks and songthaews to take you futher a field.

If you rent a bicycle or motorbike, or even car, Smith has plenty of parking space.

Only downsides were that the walls are pretty thin, so noisy neighbours can be a problem. And (english) TV channels are limited to 3 movie channels, Al Jazeera, CNN, and AXN. Discovery Channel, Nat Geo etc would have been good to have.

At 18000 baht plus water + power its not cheap by Chiang Mai standards, but given the location and everything I've said above it is a really good, safe, pleasant place to live.
If we come back to Chiang Mai we would definitely stay at the Smith again.

Room Tip: Go for a 1 bedroom apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vickie710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I was paying < 600BHT a night for a nice sized room with little balcony.

There's a good restaraunt in the lobby with reasonably priced meals, a convenience store too, and laundry in the car park. Pretty much everything u need is in the complex.

Cheap wifi internet is also available.

Staff were firendly and helpful.

Your an easy walk to the markets near the CM central gate. Plenty of tasty meals to buy there.

I'd def stay here if I get back to CM.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I've stayed at Smith Residence three times over the past four years, each time staying for about one month. The staff are friendly and helpful and the place is always very clean and I would say that it is a good value except for one MAJOR problem -- noise. The building is cramped between two busy streets with constant traffic. There is construction going on next door, a motorcycle repair shop right across the street (they love to rev up the bikes at all hours of the day and night), a hospital nearby with a lot of ambulance traffic, and the neighborhood is overrun with yelping dogs that never shut up. It's too bad, since this is such a clean and well-managed apartment. But I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thaimeup05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#46 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Wipanan Residence
The Grand Wipanan Residence
#113 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#14 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
0.8 mi away
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
#120 of 820 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiangmai Smith Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiangmai Smith Residence

Property: Chiangmai Smith Residence
Address: 37-39 Nantharam Road | Tambon Haiya, Amphue Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 820 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chiangmai Smith Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
new URL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chiangmai Smith Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiangmai Smith Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing