We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Medium Stay Apt.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chiangmai Smith Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Medium Stay Apt.”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A good clean building in a good location. Great restaurant in the lobby - avoid the "extras" such as the gym and the wifi and you have good value for money. Staff are friendly and responsive. No problem settling up and getting the deposit back in full when you checkout - unlike some medium or long stay places. Would definitely stay there again. Rooms are fine.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will tend to be quieter - but no view of direct sunlight. Other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    57
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
48
70
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Smith Residence. It has spacious rooms cable TV swimming pool up on the top, refrigerator, comfortable bed and close to everything. Went to the Walking Street market (on weekends only) and was only a short 2 block walk. The old city is straight down the road and is also about 2 blocks away. Great laundry women on site at VERY reasonable rates!! if you use her be sure to tip her well, her rates do not justify her services. There is also a modest restaurant on site, not much to write about but will work if you don't want to walk out the door for something else.

The place also has a roof top pool and small gym.

Many of the occupants there are long time stayers and come back time and time again, as will I the next time in town.

Room Tip: No elevator to floor 2,3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I would give this place a higher rating, but the extra HIDDEN charges were a real disappointment. And I think truly one of the worst things a hotelier can do to a guest. Let me start by telling you about their hotel van. It's a beautiful new van, and on the side of it is written "Smith Residence. Make you feel at home." Now this was really funny, because I often charge my guests a "rental fee" for towels when they stay at my home. That's right, I was charged 20 baht per towel and floor mat. But let me explain further...

Stayed for two months in (I think) a deluxe room on the 6th floor. 9000 baht per month, and you get access to the pool and gym (rooms below do not have access). 400 baht per month for wifi. They clean your room one time per week, giving you fresh sheets and 2 towels and floormat. At the end of the month you will be charged for electricity and water. You will also be charged a "rental fee" for the towels and floor mat. I was shocked. 20 baht each. (Has anyone ever heard of this?) There is no toilet paper, tissue, alarm clock, coffee maker or much of anything else in the way of extras. But the room appears clean, though getting dated/used quickly, and not as smart as the hip exterior makes it appear. The room had a refrigerator, microwave, tv (with HBO) and 2 glasses for drinking. At the end of the first month, my partner was told there was to be no smoking on the balcony outside the room anymore. This seemed to me to be a quick decision based on a fire alarm and evacuation that happened one day. So if you smoke, no smoking on your balcony outside. It was the very hot season, and we are on the sun setting side, so we used the air. We were careful to turn it off when we left and set it at about 25c. Our first month, the electric bill was 2300 baht. When we checked out after the 2nd month, the electric bill was an astronomical 4100 baht. I truly felt cheated as we didn't do much differently compared to the 1st month. And it's hard not to feel that way in this place, as you immediately feel like everything has a cost.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank buddhamind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anucha Y, Owner at Chiangmai Smith Residence, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
With reference to Buddhamind on 26/1/2013. For a two month contract, water and electricity is paid at the end of each month. Guests can request a meter reading at anytime during their stay should they be concerned about the usage. A charge is made only for the commodity used. There are no hidden extra charges.

Regarding the comment "Rental Fee" for the towels and bath mat. Towels are provided inclusive of the room fee. However, 20 baht is charged for each extra towel requested. This information will henceforth be added to the contract to avoid any further misunderstanding. Besides, only rooms rented on a daily basis include toilet tissues, toiletries, drinking water, electricity and water.

To comply with fire insurance regulations. Smith Residence is a non smoking establishment. The restriction includes the balcony areas. This ensures the safety of guests, staff, immediate neighbors and surrounding buildings. Designated smoking areas are provided within and outside the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

I've been visiting CM for many years but decided to base myself in Smiths this year. It was a good decision. a decent sized room with TV, fridge & micro wave, in room safe, a large bathroom and big comfortable bed. The room was clean and in good order. Air con was included but I seldom needed it. There is a small swimming pool and sun area on the roof and a reasonable gym. There is plenty of underground parking and a shop on premises that seems to be open almost all the time. Laundry and restraunt are on site but I didn't use them. You are perfectly located for the Saturday Night Walking Street which I enjoyed more than its more famous Sunday Walking Street. the southern edge of the old city moat is 1 minutes walk away, the airport is close - all in all, a very good location.

Downsides - to many. Checking in was a bit of an effo after a long day. Cash up front for the whole month was required plus a deposit equal to the months rent. Most people don't carry that amount of cash, so be prepared and visit the ATM first. There are not enough loungers by the pool. I will book again next year.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank yachtmasterjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 months and am so glad I did. It's a bit pricey for your average traveler but for a holiday or an extended one like I had its perfect. The rooms are amazing, immaculately clean. Beautiful roof top pool with a little gym. Restaurant and shop/bar in lobby. Wifi throughout and a very helpful staff. A beautiful view of the mountain right behind the hotel. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Have a drink at Papas shop/bar just off the lobby. A very friendly man with a lot of nice regulars having a few cold ones is a great way to relax at night time without having to go far. Top notch!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cashelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here for one month. I stayed in a superior room which was clean with a fridge and air con. Rooms are starting to show their age, but fine for somewhere to lay your head. Electricity and water are charged extra to the cost of the room when renting on a monthly basis and internet is 400 baht for a month so the initial rental price soon adds up, then 100 baht a day to use the swimming pool. Plenty of local eateries close by and lobby restaurant is resonably priced and of a good quality. Rooms are serviced once a week, but usually meant a fairly early wake up call. Difficult to communicate with the staff at times.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I lived in the smith for 6 months.
We were traveling through Thailand (backpacking) and we chose to stay in the Smith from a recommendation of a couple of our friends...we didn't want to move.

The Pros:
- Room Rental is $300/month on the 5th floor (which includes access to the small pool on the roof and a basic fitness center with free weights, a treadmill and a few other machines - If you go to the higher floors, you get larger rooms for more money)
- AC is nice and cold!
- The beds are incredibly comfortable
- It get's cleaned weekly at no extra charge
- TV and movie channels are included
- Wifi in your room
- You will meet a lot of friends if you hang out downstairs
- There is a restaurant in the lobby that will deliver decent priced food to your room (fried rice for $1.60, etc.)
- Beautiful view from the top
- Awesome location next to the old city (easily can walk anywhere in the city in under an hour)
- Very accommodating staff that remembers your name
- Free parking garage for your Motorbike or bicycle below the hotel/apartment
- If you stay longer than 3 months you get around $30 off your monthly bill.

The Cons:
- Wifi signal is weak so we ended up buying a wireless router and plugging into the jack in our room
- Have to pay $10/month for access to the internet
- Internet is not very fast >1mbs and their firewall is really strict...no torrenting files allowed (you must go to the coffee shop around the corner)
- The cleaners don't clean to the standard of 'clean freaks'...they do a good job though.
- It's a little more expensive than the average long term stay here in Thailand...but still good.
- Have to pay for your utilities (we ran the AC almost all day, everyday and our bill was around $100 USD/month)
- It's really hard to leave (finding a new place) because everything is SO convenient and within reach

If you come to Chiang Mai, look us up and maybe we'll still be here to show you around! ;)

Room Tip: If you get a corner room, you get a mini kitchen for only $30 more a month! Stay on the 4th floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Full_Course_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#41 of 375 in Chiang Mai
537 reviews
1.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 375 in Chiang Mai
657 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Wipanan Residence
The Grand Wipanan Residence
#114 of 375 in Chiang Mai
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
0.8 mi away
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
#123 of 806 in Chiang Mai
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noble House
Noble House
#72 of 806 in Chiang Mai
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiangmai Smith Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiangmai Smith Residence

Property: Chiangmai Smith Residence
Address: 37-39 Nantharam Road | Tambon Haiya, Amphue Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 806 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chiangmai Smith Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
new URL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chiangmai Smith Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiangmai Smith Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing