We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiangmai Smith Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, great location”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Had a great 3 month stay at Smith. The staff is what did it for me - extremely friendly and helpful! Also a great location, right near the Chiang Mai gate market and Saturday walking market. The rooms are spacious and get cleaned top to bottom once a week. One quirk: If you use your air conditioner and fridge be ready to pay about 2,000 baht or more for electricity every month. There are definitely cheaper options in Chiang Mai, especially when you count what you pay for electricity, water and internet. But if you're looking for a good location, clean room, wonderful staff, I recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabeth417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    57
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
12
48
71
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Smith Residence is a clean, modern hotel with all the facilities a traveller could wish for (nice restaurant downstairs, laundry service, air conditioned rooms, swimming pool and fitness centre), with fabulous location just outside Chiangmai Gate, were the famous Saturday market is almost on its doorstep. Tuk-tuks, taxis and public transportation abound, and it is walking distance from the old city centre and surrounded by great restaurants. The service is very good and the reception staff are especially friendly. I can truly recommend Smith Residence to anybody looking for short- or longterm accommodation in Chiangmai. The people who have lived there for a longer period are also very friendly and helpful regarding tips and information about the best places to eat, good entertainment and so on. One feels truly welcome there.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain have a nicer view, and rooms on the lower floors are less expensive than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Looked around town to see if any other options had arrived in CM but booked for a second stay in Smiths becuase I think its the best value for money (if you stay month or more), its clean and everything works. Always like to recommend a place that maintains a high level of service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

the kiwi shakes at the restaurant downstairs are amazing! the pool was a bit green but we still swam and didn't get sick.. the staff spoke good English and were really really helpful! would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amuroliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed for over a month and my room included weekly cleaning. The staff at the Smith Residence were always really nice and smiling. They kept my room spotlessly clean. Although, I only used the pool a couple of times, it was a nice option, especially on those hot days. AC unit worked efficiently for the room. Great view of surrounding area. Great area, just outside of the moat yet close to shopping and saturday night walking street market. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is the second time I am staying at Smith. I was here for a month last year and enjoyed every minute of it. There is a salt water pool on the roof, a great gym, a very good restaurant downstairs and ample parking if you come by car or rent a scooter and want to park underground (free).

The wifi is one of the fastest I’ve used in Asia. There is an LCD TV in your room with a heap of channels but I never used it. I do load up the fridge with local food and keep my stuff in the safe since it’s there anyways.

The rooms are large, clean, great bathrooms. I think all the rooms have king size beds if there is only one bed in the room and at least one desk area to work at. If you stay for a month, your room gets cleaned top to bottom every Thursday. If you stay on a day basis, they do it everyday.

There are a few quirks. Electricity is not included in monthly rentals, so using the A/C will rack up a few thousand Baht over a 30 day period. Not bad, given what a deal the place is otherwise. Wi-Fi is 200 Baht per week. I ran VPN here with virtual machines to Canada for work and it worked fine. If you are looking for a base for a while and want to work, this is a great place. Very close to the best food stalls/market in town too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Clean, basic room - large, refrigerator, shower, TV. We didn't spend much time in the room so it worked well for us. The breakfast is a bit overpriced so I'd suggest you go elsewhere. Excellent location near a thriving food market with dozens of evening food carts. We ate dinner for less than $3 each, most nights and that included a beer from the 7-11.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k8bemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#47 of 386 in Chiang Mai
553 reviews
1.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
#115 of 386 in Chiang Mai
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
0.8 mi away
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
Studio 99 Serviced Apartments
#116 of 863 in Chiang Mai
157 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kaysorn Residence
Kaysorn Residence
#54 of 863 in Chiang Mai
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiangmai Smith Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiangmai Smith Residence

Property: Chiangmai Smith Residence
Address: 37-39 Nantharam Road | Tambon Haiya, Amphue Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 863 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chiangmai Smith Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
new URL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chiangmai Smith Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiangmai Smith Residence Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing