We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
Ranked #95 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I found this hotel pleasant. Stayed here 6 nights. The rooms are good and the place is very clean. Staff were friendly and location was fine for me, however some may prefer to be closer to city centre. Couple of bad points - the rooms did smell a bit like smoke, the gym only has 4 pieces of equipment, my biggest complaint is the noise. Because the building is tiled throughout, and walls very thin noise echos eg people walking up/down stairs, doors closing, tv in next room. You here all this easily without people even trying to be noisy. Made it difficult to sleep. Never ate at the restaurant so I cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    70
    30
    16
    7
See reviews for
21
68
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Clean and quiet.Set back far enough from busy road to avoid traffic noise.Staff were friendly and helpful.Plenty of good eating places nearby.
Pleasant walk to old city.Large shopping complex nearby in opposite direction.Their pay extra for breakfast was a little on the thin side.Probably better to go down the street.All in all,a pleasant experience over a week.Would go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nardir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Hamburgo, RS
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I've spent one week there and had a great time. The room was very quiet and they cleaned it every day. If you don't smoke, make clear that you want a non smoking room before check in. I got a room in the first floor with a strong smoke smell and they were able to change us but they had only a twin room available, not double as I was expecting. Better than nothing. Just the first floor has balcony but I think all this rooms have this smell.

Big fridge, and electric kettle were great.

Sometimes wi-fi was very slow (sometimes didn't even work) like in the evening. Pool and gym close too early, I didn't have the chance to try it...

Close to Maya Shopping Center (around 10 min by foot), which has lots of cheap food, CAMP (internet cafe), cinema, supermarket.

Good laundry place in front of the hotel (35 baht/kg).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I booked this place for a few days but this turned into two weeks, it's a great base if you are prepared to walk as the old city is around a 20 minute walk away but hiring a bicycle or scooter is a great way to see it all and you can do that cheaply.

Rooms and all very clean and big, i had the cheapest room and this had a balcony area and en suite, hot water, aircon (although i'd like to be able to control the aircon temperature easier) , nice pool and close to a big shopping centre which has some nice places to eat.

It's a nice escape from the bustle of a hotel on the main road or in the old city, only reason not 5 stars in rating is the location being a walk from the old city, but jumping on a red Songthaew (taxi/truck) is easy.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are located on the 1st floor and have balconies, from what I could tell the pricie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max99UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is about 1,5km walk from the west gate on the old city. If you like walking you can reach most of interesting places (restaurants/spa etc) in less 30 mins. The hotel is very near to a main street were you can take a cheap bus (20-30 bath) to reach the old city. Generally the hotel looks good. The breakfast cost 90 bath but don't expect a free huge and tasty buffet. You can order just one main dish (like scrambled eggs with bacon bread butter and marmellate). The buffet have rice, noodles, salad and some juice. Nothing special. The room are really quite; looks brand new but are not for the cleaning maniacs. Just over my had I've a big spider web. I won't remove it cause its perfect vs. mosquitos, but really does not look good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gic0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It's not as easy as some people might think to find a hotel in Chiang mai, which is clean & modern, with a pool & to be in a location which isn't isolated.
Within a 10 min walk are Kad Suan Kaew & the new Maya shopping centres, bustling Nimmahaemin road & many eateries. Songthaews (red covered pick up style taxi's) will take you into old town, night bazaar etc for 20bt.
Rooms are spacious & spotlessly clean with comfortable & not overly hard bed (not always the case in Thailand) large flat screen tv & decent hot shower. Tea & coffee making facilities are provided, along with a fridge & small table & 2 chairs.
We paid 900bt in high season for a deluxe. Breakfast is probably the weakest aspect, I tended to walk to Amazing Sandwich every morning. Food & drink bought from the small restaurant however were very good. Often at the swimming pool there would only be 1 or 2 people which was great, the only downside was the hotel doesn't serve alcohol. Late afternoon it's always nice to have a cold beer & watch the sun go behind Doi Suthep. Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. As long as the pricing remains sensible, we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ningaloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Location: This place is a tad far from the old city action - you'll have to hop a tuk tuk or songthew and say "Brat-do-ta-pay" (Pratu Tha Phae, east gate of the old city) to get there. However, there's also a lot happening, including a ton of great restaurants, in the area if you're willing to explore a bit.

Hotel quality: Clean and well maintained, especially the deluxe rooms, which are nicely decorated. Wi-Fi and other mod cons work well. Great value.

Main issue: Every hotel key seems to fit every door! I accidentally opened another door (as well as the second room we had) with mine, and another guest barged into my room by mistake. I'd consider staying somewhere else until this issue is resolved.

But if you do stay here: Give the doggies at the laundry next door a hug for me.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
B2 Green
B2 Green
#97 of 383 in Chiang Mai
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#135 of 383 in Chiang Mai
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#89 of 747 in Chiang Mai
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#32 of 747 in Chiang Mai
243 reviews
2.2 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#60 of 747 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunshine House
Sunshine House
#98 of 747 in Chiang Mai
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SakulchaiPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SakulchaiPlace Hotel

Property: SakulchaiPlace Hotel
Address: 10 Soi. Plubplung T.Changphuak | Muang District, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SakulchaiPlace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes off Huay Kaew Road in downtown Chiangmai, Sakulchai Place provides comfortable accommodations with easy access to tourist attractions, an on-site restaurant and massage services. Sakulchai Place is a 5-minute walk from Kaad Suan Kaew Mall and a 10-minute drive from the many cultural tourist attractions like temples. Rooms at Sakulchai Hotel are spacious and air-conditioned. They are equipped with a cable TV, fridge, minibar and coffee/tea maker. They come with private bathrooms with hot/cold shower. Services at Sakulchai Place include airport shuttle services, laundry, car rental and fax/photocopying. There is also a tour desk at the hotel. Klua Sakulchai Restaurant provides Thai and western dishes. Room service is also provided for the convenience of guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SakulchaiPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing