We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SakulchaiPlace Hotel
Ranked #90 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were absolutely wonderful, both friendly and professional. The hotel is in a good location, it is off from the street so it is a bit more private and quiet, and it is an easy walk to the city. We enjoyed the pool daily, and the restaurant is wonderful.
The room was above and beyond our expectations. The bed was comfy, there was daily soap and water refills and the place was wonderfully clean and well maintained.
My (minimal) suggested improvements would be: an investment in blackout curtains, and perhaps a better seal on the balcony door leading to the outside.
We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_Emma-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    70
    29
    16
    7
See reviews for
21
68
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very nice hotel, room and bathroom are good, the staff from the reception and the restaurant is VERY nice and helpful. The food at the restaurant is good too. I did not use the pool but I think it's nice. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alizee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinian, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This place was clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. We were given complimentary juice drinks at check-in. There was no lockbox in the room, which made me uncomfortable. There were a couple mosquitoes in the room when we arrived because the door to the balcony doesn't seal correctly, so we stuffed the curtains in the crack and solved that problem. It's a 5-minute walk to the fancy Maya mall down the street, but didn't seem like a very convenient location to access Old City Chiang Mai. This was a great stopover hotel (we only stayed one night because we were dropped off and picked up by tour companies).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystiquemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I found this hotel pleasant. Stayed here 6 nights. The rooms are good and the place is very clean. Staff were friendly and location was fine for me, however some may prefer to be closer to city centre. Couple of bad points - the rooms did smell a bit like smoke, the gym only has 4 pieces of equipment, my biggest complaint is the noise. Because the building is tiled throughout, and walls very thin noise echos eg people walking up/down stairs, doors closing, tv in next room. You here all this easily without people even trying to be noisy. Made it difficult to sleep. Never ate at the restaurant so I cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Clean and quiet.Set back far enough from busy road to avoid traffic noise.Staff were friendly and helpful.Plenty of good eating places nearby.
Pleasant walk to old city.Large shopping complex nearby in opposite direction.Their pay extra for breakfast was a little on the thin side.Probably better to go down the street.All in all,a pleasant experience over a week.Would go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nardir3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Hamburgo, RS
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I've spent one week there and had a great time. The room was very quiet and they cleaned it every day. If you don't smoke, make clear that you want a non smoking room before check in. I got a room in the first floor with a strong smoke smell and they were able to change us but they had only a twin room available, not double as I was expecting. Better than nothing. Just the first floor has balcony but I think all this rooms have this smell.

Big fridge, and electric kettle were great.

Sometimes wi-fi was very slow (sometimes didn't even work) like in the evening. Pool and gym close too early, I didn't have the chance to try it...

Close to Maya Shopping Center (around 10 min by foot), which has lots of cheap food, CAMP (internet cafe), cinema, supermarket.

Good laundry place in front of the hotel (35 baht/kg).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I booked this place for a few days but this turned into two weeks, it's a great base if you are prepared to walk as the old city is around a 20 minute walk away but hiring a bicycle or scooter is a great way to see it all and you can do that cheaply.

Rooms and all very clean and big, i had the cheapest room and this had a balcony area and en suite, hot water, aircon (although i'd like to be able to control the aircon temperature easier) , nice pool and close to a big shopping centre which has some nice places to eat.

It's a nice escape from the bustle of a hotel on the main road or in the old city, only reason not 5 stars in rating is the location being a walk from the old city, but jumping on a red Songthaew (taxi/truck) is easy.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are located on the 1st floor and have balconies, from what I could tell the pricie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max99UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
B2 Green
B2 Green
#97 of 381 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#75 of 736 in Chiang Mai
432 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#155 of 736 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
B2 Thippanate
B2 Thippanate
#94 of 381 in Chiang Mai
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yesterday
Yesterday
#97 of 826 in Chiang Mai
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Little Lanna Cafe & Premier Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SakulchaiPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SakulchaiPlace Hotel

Property: SakulchaiPlace Hotel
Address: 10 Soi. Plubplung T.Changphuak | Muang District, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SakulchaiPlace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes off Huay Kaew Road in downtown Chiangmai, Sakulchai Place provides comfortable accommodations with easy access to tourist attractions, an on-site restaurant and massage services. Sakulchai Place is a 5-minute walk from Kaad Suan Kaew Mall and a 10-minute drive from the many cultural tourist attractions like temples. Rooms at Sakulchai Hotel are spacious and air-conditioned. They are equipped with a cable TV, fridge, minibar and coffee/tea maker. They come with private bathrooms with hot/cold shower. Services at Sakulchai Place include airport shuttle services, laundry, car rental and fax/photocopying. There is also a tour desk at the hotel. Klua Sakulchai Restaurant provides Thai and western dishes. Room service is also provided for the convenience of guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SakulchaiPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing