We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms on a budget”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loft Residence Chiang Mai
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a condominium renting our rooms to locals as well as tourists. Good quiet location- walking distance to local market as well as Tops Supermart. Some distance away from the old city. Very friendly to people on a tight budget. reasonably clean. refrigerator in room. Firm bed. good airconditioning. I wish they had better beddings and linen. On site laundry. Eating places close by.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

I've rented for a month. Rooms are located in the east of the night very loud. discos and theaters are very close. in almost all the shower-rooms water is standing on the floor, the doors are damaged, musty odor.
The room is equipped cheap. the hotel and the rooms are clean. Services friendly, inclusive of motorcycle hire well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 months. The staff was cold to Thai people, but very nice to foreigners. My fiance is Thai, and I am Asian-American, so they thought I was Thai at first, so they were a bit rude. Otherwise, they would take care of any problems we had right away; it was just they seemed to not like us for some reason. Especially the boy.

The price was extremely good, and we were comfortable in our studio. The problems were the noise at night time. It did not stop until 2AM usually. They said they could not move us to a room away from the club music. So for 3 months we went to bed at 2AM.

The other problem was the bed was really uncomfortable, but we got used to it after a week or two. And the water temperature depends on the outside temperature. When it was really cold outside, the water was cold, and when it was hot, the water was hot.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Loft residence is a fairly basic hotel, but it is cheap, and very clean, and the staff are super helpful, and they let us adopt their dog Jai Yai/ KiKi! Whom we still have now!
There are different choices of room sizes. There is a fridge, TV, shower, balcony etc etc everything you need for a basic stay, but it is no frills. You get long-stay expats stay here who are on a budget through to local Thai people. I love five star hotels, which this is not, but it is still nice and was good to be away from the snobs and brash people you sometimes encounter in the best hotels, and all the staff are awesome! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We arrived middle of January 2010 and were staying in a suite which was very spacious, clean and in good order. They seem to have got design back to front as the bedroom windows opened onto the corridor and you were looking at other peoples bedroom doors, so noisy as people came and went. The front door to the suite was right onto the stairs so everyone going up and down were also contributing to the noise factor and to add to this there was a bar ( 3 altogether) pumping out live. loud music from 5pm until early hours most nights. Were due to stay 2 months but booked out after first week as couldn't get any sleep, Shame really as the people who run it were very pleasant and the place itself was great value for money and in very good condition. Maybe ok for few nights but not suitable for long stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beentherenotdoneit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

The Loft residence is far too overpriced for what you get. I was quoted one price but when i arrived the price went up. The location (being far from the tourist areas) should be quiet but the residence is right beside a bar that plays loud badly performed live music until the late late hours making you not be able to even attempt sleep until 2 am every day. The music sounds like 3 or 4 different bands performing different styles and types of music at the same time. Maybe there is more than one venue right next to the residence. All i know is i never slept before 2 am because fo the noise. In addition the laundry service is almost double other much nicer places and every little thing is an extra charge. The 500 baht cleaning charge at the end of your stay is insane. When i made my reservation i was told i had to pay a deposit, after i arrived i had to pay more of a deposit (equal to the rent) plus the rent up from which is of course non refundable just so you cant' leave if you are dissatisfied. Also the wireless internet (which is an extra fee is you stay by the month) rarely worked correctly. I constantly had to go to internet cafes to do any online work (simple things like check email) was so poor. The beds are old and uncomfortable. Overall i do not recommend this place unless every other guest house and hotel and sofa in Chiang Mai is taken.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank medraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This new apartment building is in Santitham which is a trek from tourist areas, but it is clean, service is GREAT (no restaurant but they will order and deliver to you, and microwave to reheat). Tops supermarket is 2-min walk behind the building. I found a few things annoying though:
-the apartment is full of students and they love to party late (especially weekends til the morning), and boy they can be loud.
-read the rental agreement carefully, they charge 500B cleaning fee on check out (1month stay), while the cost of one time cleaning plus sheets is only 100B. With the rent at 5000B/month, this cleaning charge is excessive at 10%.

Overall a clean nice place to experience Chiang mai living like the locals, but if you are looking for tourist actions, this is not the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
956 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 395 in Chiang Mai
693 reviews
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Rim Ping Guest House
#385 of 825 in Chiang Mai
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,388 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft Residence Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft Residence Chiang Mai

Address: 30 Soi 4, Hussadhisawee Road | Chang Phuak Muang, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 969 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loft Residence Chiang Mai is a new, conveniently-located serviced apartment complex in Chiang Mai. Our apartments are tastefully designed and come fully furnished with all modern conveniences including Wi-Fi Internet Broadband, Satellite TV, refrigerator, wardrobe, telephone, dressing table, ensuite bathroom, air conditioning and balcony. A mere 10 minutes away from the Airport, Loft Residence is an affordable alternative to a hotel stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing