We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Guest House
Ranked #266 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Really nice entrance place with restaurant and swimming pool, free wifi.
Big rooms but very dirty and with huge cockroaches.
Convenient location.
Luggage-storage room for hotel guests for free.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Arrived in The royal Guesthouse few days before Sonkhran. Stayed for seven night with a small rebate. The place is old and not very clean but the architecture is great and they have a nice sunny pool. This is the reason why I choose this guesthouse... The place is crowded with nice backpacker and you can expected nice meeting in the restaurant near the reception. Of course the dishes are expensive, the rooms are expensive for what you get but if you consider this place for sleeping ans have some nice rest in the pool, its a good place near everything! Talking with tourists about the city, I realised that I was paying a high price (but it's high season and don't expect good deal, Songkhran is the moment of the year in Thailand!) Overall a good place, they didn't change our sheets bed every day but the service was ok, will go again for the pool ! (always a must when its 38 degrees downtown ;)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveReady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

With all the options that Chiang Mai offers in terms of accommodation, staying here is not such a good idea. I spent 3 nights there mainly because of the cheap price, but after looking around, I found places that for the same price where much nicer.
The building is an old, not taken care of, hotel, which has now converted to a guesthouse.
The main no no's of the place are the cleanness (lack of), the sheets and covers are not only old but I suspect not very clean, the cleaning service is not through at all (they just put the same sheets and covers without even making the bed, so your sheets end up moping the floor), and the too basic rooms for the price they have. Yes, everything works, but that's not enough when you stay in a nice city like Chiang Mai, that will probably catch you for more than a couple of days.
For arriving in Chiang Mai, and then looking for a nicer place, The Royal works; but do remember that for the same price you can find a place so much better, it's just a matter of looking around.
The ups is a friendly staff, but that doesn't account enough for the lack of many other things.
I changed to another guesthouse after 3 nights and realize that what I was paying was overpriced compared to the commodities of other guesthouses.
Would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruysolorzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We arrived hot and tired from a long bus trip and were greeted with a big smile and a choice of rooms in this funky crumbling hotel with seven floors and no lift. After settling for a room on the third floor that smelled the freshest, my husband realized his computer bag was nowhere to be seen. We galloped downstairs to see if it was in the lobby. No! The smiling receptionist noticed our distress, and after we explained the problem, she showed my husband the CCTV of the lobby. There we were with bags but no computer. Ergo we had left it in the songthaew from the bus station. She then put in a call to the bus station and managed to get the driver's name and number. Soon my husband was happily reunited with his machine.

So while our room had seen better days, and we would not have been surprised to see the cast of 'Hair' appear in the lobby, with young guitar playing backpackers sitting among the potted palms and by the tiny pool, the service went beyond the call of duty and the beer was ice cold.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tileduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

When we arrived at the Royal Guest house we were met by a very rude receptionist who became even more hostile when we asked to change rooms as we had paid double for the deluxe and got the same room as our friends (staying in the cheap room) to which the initial response was "all rooms are the same"
We eventually got moved to our deluxe room which was fine for the price of the hotel.. But the bathroom was very disappointing, the door had mold from top to bottom and was breaking apart at the bottom, the shower flooded the bathroom and the water smelled like egg! All in all I would opt for a newer guest house as it is very run down!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcusabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

For every budget. When we arrived we paid about 500 thb for a room on the first floor with private bath. Room was not special but reception, restaurant and pool were great. Second night we stayed on the 7th night in a basic room with shared bathroom for only 150 baht. Still free WIFI and a refreshing pool on a short walk (5min) from the center. Would definitely go back there!

Room Tip: Cheap is 7th floor but NO lift and just the basic! lower floor are more expensive and okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrevW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The room was basic and on floor 2 the Lanna room.
The area was good mid range between the bar area and the night Bazaar markets.

Room Tip: Good area not far from food, fun and bargains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#313 of 394 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#202 of 394 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#131 of 394 in Chiang Mai
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#145 of 394 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#143 of 394 in Chiang Mai
88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#169 of 394 in Chiang Mai
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Guest House

Address: Kothchasarn Rd. Soi 4 T.ChangKarn | A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal guesthouse Chiangmai is only five minutes away from Thapae gate. It has over 70 rooms (air-conditioned and fan). A swimming pool and wifi are available for free. We have a restaurant and bar than serve all-day American breakfast as well as local dishes. Tour booking can be made at the lobby (e.g., one day trekking, elephant riding, bungee jumping). Motorbikes and cars rental is also provided. Although there is no elevator, you will find better views on the higher floors overlooking Doi Suthep temple. Friendly and helpful staff are here to make sure you enjoy your stay 24/7. One guest summarized our strengths as "good Price, Place (location), and Pool". We agree and call it "3Ps". Follow us on our FB page: Chiangmai Royal guesthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing