We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can definitely get more for your money in Chiang Mai.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Guest House
Ranked #231 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can definitely get more for your money in Chiang Mai.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed in a standard room with a rate of 500 THB per night. A good cheap price, room was fine - had the benefits of TV and a Fan. Swimming pool is really a large bath and doesn't get much sun so we didn't end up using it. Location cannot be faulted and the staff who work there work round the clock and still manage to be helpful and smile. But I would say that you could find a nicer room for this price in Chiang Mai. All in all we probably would return. I recommend to everyone to use the deposit safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    66
    50
    27
    28
See reviews for
11
83
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riva Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

I usually don’t leave a negative feedback, I don’t care if the hotel is old, because it was really cheap for price, but a little bit of cleanliness, should be normal.
The third day we were staying there, me and my Boy friend was in the shower there was a crazy guy who tried to push the door, i started shouting that this is not his room, but he continue for some seconds (luckily there are 3 locked of the door, i locked the doorknob and another one, (it wasn’t a thai guy, it was a western guy anyway) and the strange thing is that he open the door with his key, how it is possible a guest can open my door? At 6.00 p.m, if we are in the room, and there’s only two key, ours and the reception for cleaning the room, and in the morning same thing a guy tried to open the door again, I immedietly asked the reception that afternoon but she can’t explain me why somebody have the same key of mine, so she call the manager and she said that she will fixed the doorknob the day after.
We feel really unsafe that we leave the next day, atleast the manager gave me the money that i paid for other 2 nights that we should stay, i didn’t expected, we just wanted to leave that Hotel, on the door there where written that they are not responsible of any loss in the room, but the thing is, i still don’t understand why a western guy can opened my door, is the doorknob are the same with the other room? Eventhough theres a free locker near the reception, you still don’t feel safe to leave your back pack in the room.

Positive:
the reception was very nice, and the manager gave us the 2 nights we haven’t spent there.

Room Tip: spend a little more money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here recently, and yes the rooms are a little dated, but for the price, location and refreshing pool they have, its pretty good value.

Personally I prefer the upper rooms since its quieter from both hallway noise (very few people stay up here) and street noise, although there is no elevator so its good exercise going up to your room.

I found the staff here pleasant and not pushy at all regarding their "tours", which is one reason I moved here from another guest house that would "push" their tours to you every time you visited the front desk.

Free wifi in the lobby is handy and the restaurant has pretty good food at fair prices. There may be a few nicer places to stay but there are many worse places than this for the price.

I plan to return here when I come back to CMai again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. Here are the good points and bad points in my opinion:

Good points-
Cheap
Good size, clean swimming pool
Free wifi in reception area
Good food
Location is good, 2 minute in Tuk Tuk from Night Bazaar
Laundry service is good and cheap
Friendly staff

Bad points-
Dirty rooms (cockroaches seen in room)
Really bad dated decor throughout

Overall if your looking for somewhere central and cheap this is a good base.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JackCarlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Located just outside the city center moat, the seven story Royal Guest House offers rooms at different prices with different amenities. Least expensive is on top floor with fan and sans toilet paper. Our third floor air con room is dreary and the air con noisy. Wifi Internet works in the room. Small pool here. Café in the lobby. A lot of bang for your baht.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

place is nice but aged. staff is nice. rates are average. cost 500 B for single room. had to pay extra for single supplement.
very basic. would stay again but there are so many other accomodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheaphead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I've stayed at a few cheap places in chiang mai, and this one has the best vibe about it. Sure the place is old, but the more positives than positives. no wifi about the 3rd floor, and the lower floors probably cost more than they are worth, but u can just stay on the 6th floor and take your laptop downstairs and sit by the pool. there's also a bar and restaurant downstairs. the food is slightly above average. its nice a quiet, i like it.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice and big, the more stairs you climb, the cheaper. nice view up on 6th floor. cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveThailand_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#292 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#133 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
Western House Hotel
#125 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#154 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vipa House
Vipa House
#235 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
Oasis Hotel Chiang Mai
#181 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Guest House

Property: The Royal Guest House
Address: Kothchasarn Rd. Soi 4 T.ChangKarn | A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal guesthouse Chiangmai is only five minutes away from Thapae gate. It has over 70 rooms (air-conditioned and fan). A swimming pool and wifi are available for free. We have a restaurant and bar than serve all-day American breakfast as well as local dishes. Tour booking can be made at the lobby (e.g., one day trekking, elephant riding, bungee jumping). Motorbikes and cars rental is also provided. Although there is no elevator, you will find better views on the higher floors overlooking Doi Suthep temple. Friendly and helpful staff are here to make sure you enjoy your stay 24/7. One guest summarized our strengths as "good Price, Place (location), and Pool". We agree and call it "3Ps". Follow us on our FB page: Chiangmai Royal guesthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing