We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Guest House
Ranked #253 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine, for the price”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a couple of days.. The room was okay but I didn't like the bathroom. Too small, and most of the time no water from the shower.
But it's close to everything, the food in their restaurant is great and very cheap (when you compare to other hotels/guesthouses), and the swimming pool is sooo great!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    66
    50
    27
    29
See reviews for
11
84
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My partner and I booked this guest house on a recommendation from a couple in bangkok. After 14 hours on the train we thought to have a swimming pool on arrival would be nice and refreshing....

We didn't even get that far!!

We arrived to a dark and dirty reception area where a few guests were on laptops probably searching for better places to stay, our initial reaction was thank god we had only booked two nights.

We kept faith as we had paid for one of the best rooms (Lanna Style) but when shown upstairs it was just as bad as reception, the bathroom was tired and bed linen looked like it had not been replaced for years and the balcony was not even big enough for a plant pot.

We moved out straight away and found somewhere cheaper and nicer, basic but for half the price (Top North Guest House).

The swimming pool at the Top North was twice the size as the one at the Royal Guest house which was no bigger than a bath tub, after the stresses of travelling all night and half the day it was good to finally relax somewhere that was clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet place just outside the Old City, less then 5 minute walk to southeast gate. Nice clean room, swimming pool and a friendly staff. Hotel itself is a little dated. WiFi in room is very spotty.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Near the eastern gate of the Old City. Near Food Market. IMHO far from the Night Bazaar (walk very far, only a Tuk-tuk). In the guesthouse there is Wi-Fi, pool. We would like to have a room with a balcony. We were assured that there is a balcony. Balcony, really is, but to be there unpleasant, it's just a little room for the air conditioner. We lived on the second floor. The room is large. The room had a TV and conditioners. Only at the guesthouse of 7 floors, but no lift. A lot of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Next time, I would have moved closer to the night bazaar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kukla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I booked through Agoda for 350 Bath a day and got a room at fifth floor. No elevator. Chiang Mai in december and january you don´t need a/c. I miss a towel in the room, but I got one from the maid. There is a pool. Internet available for 20 B/hour. All people working at the hotel were very nice.

I found two restaurants 100 meter from the hotel, where you can have thai food for 30 Bath.

This is the place If you want a decent stay in Chiang Mai for a low price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roskarlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed in a standard room with a rate of 500 THB per night. A good cheap price, room was fine - had the benefits of TV and a Fan. Swimming pool is really a large bath and doesn't get much sun so we didn't end up using it. Location cannot be faulted and the staff who work there work round the clock and still manage to be helpful and smile. But I would say that you could find a nicer room for this price in Chiang Mai. All in all we probably would return. I recommend to everyone to use the deposit safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riva Del Garda, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I usually don’t leave a negative feedback, I don’t care if the hotel is old, because it was really cheap for price, but a little bit of cleanliness, should be normal.
The third day we were staying there, me and my Boy friend was in the shower there was a crazy guy who tried to push the door, i started shouting that this is not his room, but he continue for some seconds (luckily there are 3 locked of the door, i locked the doorknob and another one, (it wasn’t a thai guy, it was a western guy anyway) and the strange thing is that he open the door with his key, how it is possible a guest can open my door? At 6.00 p.m, if we are in the room, and there’s only two key, ours and the reception for cleaning the room, and in the morning same thing a guy tried to open the door again, I immedietly asked the reception that afternoon but she can’t explain me why somebody have the same key of mine, so she call the manager and she said that she will fixed the doorknob the day after.
We feel really unsafe that we leave the next day, atleast the manager gave me the money that i paid for other 2 nights that we should stay, i didn’t expected, we just wanted to leave that Hotel, on the door there where written that they are not responsible of any loss in the room, but the thing is, i still don’t understand why a western guy can opened my door, is the doorknob are the same with the other room? Eventhough theres a free locker near the reception, you still don’t feel safe to leave your back pack in the room.

Positive:
the reception was very nice, and the manager gave us the 2 nights we haven’t spent there.

Room Tip: spend a little more money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#301 of 384 in Chiang Mai
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#133 of 384 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#189 of 384 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ampawan
Ampawan
#230 of 384 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baan Gong Kham (Boutique Lanna Resort)
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#156 of 384 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Guest House

Property: The Royal Guest House
Address: Kothchasarn Rd. Soi 4 T.ChangKarn | A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal guesthouse Chiangmai is only five minutes away from Thapae gate. It has over 70 rooms (air-conditioned and fan). A swimming pool and wifi are available for free. We have a restaurant and bar than serve all-day American breakfast as well as local dishes. Tour booking can be made at the lobby (e.g., one day trekking, elephant riding, bungee jumping). Motorbikes and cars rental is also provided. Although there is no elevator, you will find better views on the higher floors overlooking Doi Suthep temple. Friendly and helpful staff are here to make sure you enjoy your stay 24/7. One guest summarized our strengths as "good Price, Place (location), and Pool". We agree and call it "3Ps". Follow us on our FB page: Chiangmai Royal guesthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing