We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Guest House
Ranked #265 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Have stayed at the Royal Guesthouse on 3 seperate occasions over the past year. Really liked the fact there is a swimming pool as some days its nice to just relax, sunbathe and have a swim. The rooms were cleaned everyday and although basic were extremly good value for money. If you walk out of the guesthouse and turn right there is a food stall that does the best papaya salad in the world for 20bht!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clayters85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stumbled over this place which is a few blocks from the entertainment area of chiang mai (bars, etc). The reception/bar/chill out area downstairs is very nicely decorated, cool and relaxing and there is a small swimming pool which was well maintained. Reception/bar was manned 24/7 by reasonably friendly staff with reasonable english and the walls were decorated with cool old school photos, statues, etc. Rooms started at 150 baht ($5US) for fan (no a/c) and a shared bathroom. I opted for the 300 baht room with fan and bathroom. The climate in chiang mai is cooler than bkk and I personally did not need aircon there. From memory the aircon room with bathroom was 400 or 500 baht. Lets not beat around the bush here, the rooms are very basic and very dated, almost a little creepy. Felt like something from hotel california... But I enjoy adventures and quirkiness and character and this place oozed it. Besides, I dont know about you but when I go overseas I dont spend much time in my room... I would definitely go back. If youre a little fussy when it comes to your room maybe look somewhere else

Room Tip: The building is 5 or 6 storeys tall and there is no elevator so if you dont like stairs get somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurer1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a couple of days.. The room was okay but I didn't like the bathroom. Too small, and most of the time no water from the shower.
But it's close to everything, the food in their restaurant is great and very cheap (when you compare to other hotels/guesthouses), and the swimming pool is sooo great!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My partner and I booked this guest house on a recommendation from a couple in bangkok. After 14 hours on the train we thought to have a swimming pool on arrival would be nice and refreshing....

We didn't even get that far!!

We arrived to a dark and dirty reception area where a few guests were on laptops probably searching for better places to stay, our initial reaction was thank god we had only booked two nights.

We kept faith as we had paid for one of the best rooms (Lanna Style) but when shown upstairs it was just as bad as reception, the bathroom was tired and bed linen looked like it had not been replaced for years and the balcony was not even big enough for a plant pot.

We moved out straight away and found somewhere cheaper and nicer, basic but for half the price (Top North Guest House).

The swimming pool at the Top North was twice the size as the one at the Royal Guest house which was no bigger than a bath tub, after the stresses of travelling all night and half the day it was good to finally relax somewhere that was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet place just outside the Old City, less then 5 minute walk to southeast gate. Nice clean room, swimming pool and a friendly staff. Hotel itself is a little dated. WiFi in room is very spotty.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Near the eastern gate of the Old City. Near Food Market. IMHO far from the Night Bazaar (walk very far, only a Tuk-tuk). In the guesthouse there is Wi-Fi, pool. We would like to have a room with a balcony. We were assured that there is a balcony. Balcony, really is, but to be there unpleasant, it's just a little room for the air conditioner. We lived on the second floor. The room is large. The room had a TV and conditioners. Only at the guesthouse of 7 floors, but no lift. A lot of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Next time, I would have moved closer to the night bazaar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kukla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I booked through Agoda for 350 Bath a day and got a room at fifth floor. No elevator. Chiang Mai in december and january you don´t need a/c. I miss a towel in the room, but I got one from the maid. There is a pool. Internet available for 20 B/hour. All people working at the hotel were very nice.

I found two restaurants 100 meter from the hotel, where you can have thai food for 30 Bath.

This is the place If you want a decent stay in Chiang Mai for a low price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roskarlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#304 of 389 in Chiang Mai
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
7days Hotel Patan
7days Hotel Patan
#197 of 389 in Chiang Mai
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vipa House
Vipa House
#216 of 389 in Chiang Mai
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mali's Room
Mali's Room
#142 of 389 in Chiang Mai
102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Garden Resort
Eden Garden Resort
#183 of 389 in Chiang Mai
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Northlands House Hotel
Northlands House Hotel
#133 of 389 in Chiang Mai
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Guest House

Address: Kothchasarn Rd. Soi 4 T.ChangKarn | A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £8 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Royal Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal guesthouse Chiangmai is only five minutes away from Thapae gate. It has over 70 rooms (air-conditioned and fan). A swimming pool and wifi are available for free. We have a restaurant and bar than serve all-day American breakfast as well as local dishes. Tour booking can be made at the lobby (e.g., one day trekking, elephant riding, bungee jumping). Motorbikes and cars rental is also provided. Although there is no elevator, you will find better views on the higher floors overlooking Doi Suthep temple. Friendly and helpful staff are here to make sure you enjoy your stay 24/7. One guest summarized our strengths as "good Price, Place (location), and Pool". We agree and call it "3Ps". Follow us on our FB page: Chiangmai Royal guesthouse ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing