We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainforest Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainforest Boutique
Ranked #55 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We only paid approximately $100aud per night for two rooms, one being a boutique room and the other being I think a deluxe superior.. The rooms were quite spacious and clean, the bathroom in the boutique was a lot nicer than the superior and the water got a lot hotter.. I found myself having a few not so warm showers :( the breakfast wasn't anything to brag about, the currys were always good though except when they put fish balls in ! You will need to make sure you print the address in Thai though as many tuktuks won't know it as it's not right in the city.. It's probably about a 10minute ride to the night bazaar and 100baht for 3 people. If you're after a taxi for tours we managed to get mr lucky out the front for 500baht for the day which we found quite cheap. The staff are all quite friendly as well which always makes a plus!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank geebee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    353
    150
    53
    22
See reviews for
155
353
61
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I travelled with my wife and stayed for 2 nights. I loved the town of Chiang Mai and its a must visit. When I was looking for hotels I stumbled upon rainforest.

To start with the hotel facilities were pretty good. The pool was awesome, the complimentary breakfast was good. The room was decent, the bath tub was a bit unclean. My problem was with the reception, they were a bit distracted and were unable to tend to many guests. The hotel is ideally located away from the action so its calm.

The best touch was the free ride to night market at 8 PM and we also used the tour packages from the hotel which I felt was good. We also booked the services of Mr lucky who is a tour operator just outside the hotel. So overall the hotel was nice with decent food but could use a better attentive reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeRoy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We traveled all throughout Thailand with another couple. We chose this hole because of the ratings and what people had said. I suspect there is another section of this hotel that we were not
Aware of. The room was extremely dirty. Nothing worked. The sheet was torn and tattered.
Thank goodness we only stayed there one night. The area of the hotel was in a bad neighborhood
And far away from everything. The hotel is nothing like the pictures! Very deceiving.
Please be aware when staying here. Very very disappointed !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The stay was nice and quiet. The reception staff is friendly and efficient. We asked to change room on our arrival because it was located close to the street and were afraid it would be noisy, they promise they will do so on the next day and they did.
The reception also helped us to book tours to the elephant camp and to the night safari.

The pool is nice but a little bit small.

We almost had all our lunches and diner at the restaurant. The prices are cheap, the food is good and quickly served and the staff very friendly. We often eat after the restaurant was supposed to be closed but they never said anything and allways served us with a smile.
The hotel has a familly vibe that is more than welcome on vacations.

Room Tip: book a room in the boutique wing for nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calendria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The resort is located about 3km from chiang Mai old town but only a few hundred meters from the train station. Taxi drivers will try to charge you about 200baht from the train station but the trip shouldnt cost more than 50baht as it's almost next to the station.

The resort is nice. do take mosquito repellant with you. We stayed at a luxury room with an own private lanna style bath tub. was a really nice experience. The room doors don't have any insulation so try to avoid room 115 if possible as everyone will be walking past you at all times as the stairs are right infront of the room. Otherwise a good nights sleep. This was the first time staying in a room with no window!

The construction sight behind the resort wasn't as aloud as we thought and you can hang by the pool without it disturbing you. The breakfast is okay. Your typical asian fiesta and some western food aswell: toast with jam, pan cakes, cerial and egg station.

The best and only way to get to Chiang Mai old town is by taxi or tuktuk. Don't pay more than a 100 baht. The hotel offers a oneway transfer to the night bazaar daily. There are really good hawker stalls next to the train station where to eat cheap food.

we can recommend the resort for a short stay. We stayed for fove nights, We wouldn't stay there two weeks but for five days the resort was nice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pykami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great experience for my first solo travel. They have an english speaking staff who are very helpful and friendly. They helped me organized my daily tours, transportation to city proper during my stay. The room was big, clean and quiet. Buffet breakfast has an excellent choices of foods.
A very relaxing place with pool though i didnt try using it yet it looks cool to me.

Though its quiet far from the city proper. It will cost you a minimum of THB 100 one way.

A must recommended place to stay. :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kaycee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for a week in November. We paid around $45 a night for a deluxe room, the room and bathroom were very nice, especially the large square bathtub.

This is the most expensive place we've stayed in Thailand and although the room and hotel were lovely the service was lacking. Our phone and safe in the room didn't work, we mentioned this to the staff but unfortunately they didn't get fixed. Service is also slow in the restaurant, and the food although good wasn't as good as we were hoping for.

Overall nice place to relax, quiet and feels secure. Mr lucky and his family provide transport and information on private trips,very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyengland1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.1 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#41 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#43 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Property: Rainforest Boutique
Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing