We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever! Staff made it amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rainforest Boutique
Ranked #51 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best experience ever! Staff made it amazing”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Loved this hotel! Staff were very friendly and helpful. The best part of this hotel was the taxi service they have with a Thai family who are located just outside the hotel. (Mr Lucky...So friendly!) This family were amazing!! They took us anywhere we wanted to go (and even stayed waiting for us to bring us back when we did day trips) they showed us all the best tours and activities we could do, and I would 100% recommend to do Zip Lining! They went out of their way to help us and even offer a very cheap laundry service which saved us even leaving the hotel.

Breakfast was also a nice treat in the morning. Very nice pancakes! Very quiet and traditional hotel which was very relaxing before we headed off to the craziness of the Full Moon Party!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoibh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    372
    157
    56
    23
See reviews for
173
372
65
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The rainforest is à great hotel. The personnel is very helpful and helps you to make reservation for all the activities. They search with you for the most suitable activities. Rooms are clean en sufficient. Very good breakfast (Thai and Western). The price/ quality ratio is very, very good. It's located nearby Chiangmai.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SandervB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We found the staff helpful and friendly when ever we asked a question about tours. the breakfast menu was fine with quite a range of food suitable for many people from all over the world..The room we had was clean although dimly lit.. the shower was over the bath with the hose fitting a bit short for tall people to use. we had plenty of hot water though..No problems with wifi in our room and the air conditioner worked well. We used a tuk tuk from the old city to the hotel and it cost 100 baht and took about 10 minutes depending on the traffic.. Getting laundry done was expensive. over all a reasonable experience..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EchucaJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife stayed a couple of years ago in this Hotel and liked it a lot and so we booked it again. But this time the experience was not very good. The Room that we good was very old, dirty and should have been renovated a couple of years ago... We complained and got a room in the new wing. This room was much better, nice decorated, good big bath tub and we were happy. But than it started - for three days out of 4 there was no warm water - so we could not really use the bath tub... We asked about it and the staff just worked on it, but it did not work well. The breakfast is very bad for a Thai Hotel - we have traveled more than 10 times in Thailand and have stayed in all kind of places but this was really not good. As well the Internet did not work very well in our room. It always lost connections.
The Hotel is a bit out of town but that is okay.
Alltogether: It could be a great Hotel. The set up is nice and if the owners would invest a little bit in the upkeep than it would be a great place. Also, when we complained about the water - the staff not once said that they were sorry or anything like that. Too bad - we will not come again. It seems to me that the owners once cared for the place and now have decided to just make cash. Sad...

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharkfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

On our third week of travelling around Thailand, we checked in at this hotel. It was priced slightly lower than the others we had chosen to stay in but not that much.
I had chosen the hotel based mainly on reviews here.
There was 5 of us, staying in 2 rooms. Myself and my friend were sharing. Our room was extremely dingy and poorly lit. On inspection, our shower head did not attach to the wall and our air con was leaking. We requested to change rooms and moved across the hall. Again, our room was extremely dingy and had practically no natural light. In addition out safety deposit box did not work. The safety box in our friends room could be lifted out!

The carpets in the hotel were stained as was the bed linen. Laundry prices were also insane.
Having booked a trip, we were charged an outrageous price. When we booked a trip through the diver the next day, it was considerably lower. Where is this money going?

The restaurant, if you chose to eat there, was over priced and included a 10% service charge. Outrageous considering it too is dimly lit and worn.
Breakfast is average. After going for breakfast for 3 consecutive days, I was asked for my coupon on the 4th day. I had left it in my room but volunteered my room no. This was not good enough. As my room mate had popped out, I had no access to my room so I asked at reception for another voucher, only to be told my room number should have been sufficient. Farcical.
All things considered, this was ok. Sure, I had expected better based on the reviews here, but I was willing to let it slide.

Then it came to check out. What I can only describe as a cacophony of errors ensued. I handed over my card, only for it to be declined. When I checked my account however, the transaction was listed as 'pending.'
So basically the hotel/bank had messed up. The hotel did NOT believe me and this lead to it taking an hour for us to check out, bearing in mind we had a flight to catch.
Overall, I would not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dearbhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Didn't start great as we didn't get picked up at the airport but probably our fault for not confirming. It's a nice location just outside the main bit of the city just a short tuktuk ride and the hotel does free shuttle to the night bazzar. Nice pool very refreshing after a day in town. However the room was pretty average, my shower didn't attach to the wall luckily we had adjoining rooms so I could use my friends. My bed was great but theirs was rock hard. The staff weren't as helpful as at other hotels we had stayed but they were friendly enough. Breakfast was good and they do yummy cocktails! So overall this hotel is fine but don't expect to be impressed. I think we would rather have been more in the town but that's our opinion.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dixie-van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lovely small hotel, great for families (we booked the family room with two bed- and bathrooms), location a bit out from the city centre, but easy to reach with taxi or Tuc Tuc.
Great attentive staff, nice pool and simple but good breakfast. Would highly recommend it!
(You might want to choose another hotel if you like the big and fancy 5* hotel chains).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDBHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 386 in Chiang Mai
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 386 in Chiang Mai
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 386 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Boutique

Property: Rainforest Boutique
Address: 23/1 Charoenmuang Rd. | Soi 5 T.Tasala A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainforest Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest Boutique Hotel is perfectly situated in a serene area just off the main road and less than half a kilometer from the Railway Station.Our hotel allows you to take in the beauty and sounds of nature, offering a relaxing and tranquil environment, while still delivering all the amenities and facilities of larger hotels in town.Stay with us and enjoy peace and tranquility away from the noise and traffic fumes while still remaining quite close to the hustle and bustle of vibrant Chiang Mai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rainforest Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainforest Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing