We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
affairtoremember
Tryon, North Carolina

Best for the young

Review of MO Rooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2012
We stayed at Mo in February, Chiang Mai being our third city on the trip. Our first room had no windows, something my wife didn't like. We moved to a temp room for the night but had to vacate that in the morning. Our final option was a room that had a bed about 42 inches off the floor. It would have worked in our youth but we're now in our 60's. After a nice conversation with Praphon he allowed us to cancel the rest of our plans and we cut our trip short. I have nothing but nice things to say about the staff and management but this is definitely a place for younger travelers. Very nice atmosphere in the hotel.
Date of stay: February 2012
Room Tip: Discuss the room layout with the hotel before booking. Location is fantastic, walk to everything.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£274
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.9 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£84
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£75
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£104
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.8 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £46
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    £94
  • Algotels
1.8 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £35
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £43
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £48
  • Hotels.com
2.2 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £243
  • Expedia.com
    £272
4.2 miles from MO Rooms
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
76
58
31
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
58
31
13
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I felt that designer who designed this artistic hotel might only focus on the design but totally ignore comfy and quality of living. Full of mosquitos, super small windows, outside of this windows are the mess of kitchen stuffs. Noisy air con, no storage it made it more difficult after we shopped a lot of handcrafts from Sunday market. I will say this hotel main for look but not stay. It's pretty unique, right at the town centre, but be aware, that street is very quiet at night, not even a food stall open except 7-11. Anyway, I will not recommend this hotel to the people who wanted a comfortable place.....by the way, no ANY cover for the creative washroom, it means you will smell EVERYTHING from your "business". Yes, how pleasant it is. ^_^ We travelled with 2 old folks and 3 adults, none of us like this place but luckily that was only one short night.

Staffs are very helpful and friendly, breakfast is nice. Everything looks good, just try not to stay there....

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiptopmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We we've been to this marvellous place at the beginning of our Thailand trip and enjoyed our stay so much! We have to point out the service overall, we had some issues during the stay not directly concerning the hotel and experienced a warm, gentle atmosphere and help from Praphon, the manager.

The rooms are incredibly designed, switching is no problem at all as not everybody feels comfortable in any room. The rooms are clean, staff is friendly and willing to help you almost all around the clock. Aircon depending on the room is a little too loud at some time.
The pool which fits perfectly into the hotel is quite chilled and only ment for a quick drop. But still very clean and stylish!
Breakfast is good, you can choose several things, try the cafe latte instead of regular coffee.
We would recommend this hotel to everyone who's looking for a central hotel in ChiangMai offering an artistic atmosphere.
Thanks to Praphon!

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aboutquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Beautifully styled rooms - I was staying at the rat. There is many hotels that call themselves design or boutique hotels but only few deserve the attribute - mo rooms is definitely one that does!
Situated right at a busy main road near the old city gate you enter the hotel and feel the calm taking control of you. The bar/restaurant and then the pool area will make you forget about the crazy live outside the door.
Rooms are huge, clean and furnished/decorated with outstanding taste - respect!
You will find a small but exquisite choice of Thai and western meals on the menu. Quality of food is impeccable. The bar is a cool place to hang.
It's surely a rather expensive place for Thailand but I would not hesitate to book again at mo rooms.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Back for another week at mo rooms after 8 nights the previous year. It's still amazing, and this time I fell in love with a new room, pig. It's the biggest room and was perfect for such a long stay. There were some lovely changes.. The fabulous decor in the bar and restaurant upstairs. The manga dining room is very quirky and fun. I'm not sure about the new bar space downstairs at the front though. I think it might disguise the hotel too much. After all this is a hotel with a bar, not a bar with a hotel. Thailand is full of bars, but there is only one mo rooms. It definitely changed the ambiance somewhat. I really want more people to experience the rooms. It's exactly what most hotels lack. I just love them. Quirky, joyous, fun.

Room tip: They are all fun, but go for the higher rooms.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in the Monkey Room and have to say the rooms are very realistically shown on their web site.

What they don't show is how uncomfortable the cobbled floor is on your bare feet and that there is absolutely NO storage space within the rooms so nowhere to hang any clothes.

For a few days, not a problem of course and the cobbled floors are so much fun to look at, it's no big deal.

We had no hot water in our room the first night and next morning but this was quickly remedied by the hotel once we'd told them about it.

The pool area looks gorgeous and really fits the whole ethos of the hotel but be aware it is not in the sun at all so is only presumably designed for a quick dip to cool off.

We ordered dinner at the bar one night and it was ok but nothing special (they forgot my food also but delivered it eventually) and breakfast is also ok but nothing more.

Overall we loved the atmosphere of the place and as others have said, it is well positioned in terms of exploring Chiang Mai but if you are staying more than a few days either choose another room (I'm not sure if the others have storage space or not), or go somewhere else.

A really unusual hotel and great to see somewhere with some character and design. It has free wifi throughout which is easy and fairly fast.

Enjoy!

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews