We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, hard, smelly, been given an attitude.”
Review of MO Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MO Rooms
Ranked #182 of 835 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

The design was unique, but the room was smaller than the hotel's picture.
We stayed in the monkey room the 1st night. It was dark and small. the floor was extremely hard, and i had to wear slippers and walk carefully. your toilet and bathroom are open and in the same room with your bed.
On the 2nd day morning, we've been informed to move to another room(goat) with the reason that someone was moving in the monkey room. Well I didn't mind, because the monkey room was smelly and dark.
The Goat room was much better, with the only problem that your bathroom is a piece of wood on big hard rocks, so I felt dangerous when closing eyes when showering. Again, your toilet was open and in same room with your bed.
Last, the reception service was not that good. Because I can feel been given an attitude when we check-in.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BT1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

First of all I have to say Mo Rooms really is a nice place to stay when you're in Chiang Mai. The rooms are designed in a very stylish manner and every room looks different than the other. Someone told me it's all decorated following the rules of Fengh Sui but I have to admit I have no idea of it and so I cannot really tell whether this is true. Rooms are clean and equipped with everything you need. Breakfast is okay (have had it better for a lower price though) and the location is perfect because it is very close to the heart of the old town, some of the most important temples and Chiang Mai's great night markets.

There are only two minuses we have found during our stay. First one is the reception desk, i.e. concierge services. The problem with it is, there aren't any. Doesn't matter if you need assistance with finding a local driver or opening the locked safety box in your room or with making a brief reservation call to the next spa - it's obviously all a bit too complicated for them. So before checking in make sure to have your travel guide at hand and figure out how to manage everything on your own.

The second (minor) minus is the pool. It looks very cool design-wise and is integrated in the hotel very nicely, but don't think of it as a proper swimming pool. It's more what you would call a pond. However, it looks really nice.

However, we liked the atmosphere (nice guests around) and the hotel a lot when we were in Chiang Mai and we can strongly recommend this hotel for everyone who is not interested in the usual and boring hotels, but a more individual setting.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank edlerito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights recently,the arty concept is good but the execution was not up to expectations....should have got interior designers to advise the artists....if you like sleeping on rock hard floors with pillows like bricks and plugs on extensions on the floors,no hanging space to unpack,toilets basically in the room and generally a worn and tired look,then Mo rooms are for you.Staff very friendly,but we finished the bars quarter bottles of Johnny walker and Jameson's the first evening,and by the 3rd evening they had still not re stocked,maybe they are not there to make money....place could do with an update and reprint,definitely will not be returning...ever

Room Tip: Avoid the goat room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank logan2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

One of the most amazing things about Chang Mai I love is that you can find these stunningly unique cafés for a coffee or drink. It's such a treat after a life of Starbucks.

I did not stay in the hotel, but it looked interesting. Might be a better fit for someone younger.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank colinsito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights. It has a great location and you cns literally get to anywhere from here it's very central. Each room is individual and designed really well. We stayed in rooster really good design and bed was very comfy. My only niggle is the pool could do with a top up and maybe a deep clean but everything else lovely including the breakfast all in all would defiantly recommend for a relaxed and fun filled stay in chaing Mai!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mark2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stay in Mo rooms for 3-night trip in Chiang Mai. The room was carefully design with mixed modern and Lanna style. I like the room near by a swimming pool. The room are clean and staff is nice and friendly. I like spending my free time in the hotel's bar with a great cocktails drink. Hotel’s location is just perfect to walk to the heart of the city to enjoy Chiang Mai atmosphere. I would recommend this hotel to anyone if he/she wants to feel like home. It is an absolutely great place to stay. ;)

Room Tip: It is an absolutely great place to stay. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiao Mei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Went there for sipping a latte and having some ice cream...... Very cool cafe and funky place to chill out both on first and second floor. Do not know about the rooms but if you need to hang out in Chiang Mai this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaViPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Thapae Happy House
Thapae Happy House
#94 of 835 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#17 of 835 in Chiang Mai
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Amata Lanna Chiang Mai
Amata Lanna Chiang Mai
#13 of 835 in Chiang Mai
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#50 of 835 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#8 of 835 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MO Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MO Rooms

Address: 263/1-2 Tapae Road | Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £52 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MO Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MO rooms: Each of the TWELVE rooms is an individual artist’s interpretation of THEIR Chinese Zodiac (Sheng Xiao or Birth Animal). The construction MO’s exterior structure was a collaborative project which saw designers, architects and astrologers piling different sizes of the box-shaped rooms on top of each other in accordance with Feng Shui ASTROLOGY. Artists APPLIED the identity of Birth Animal, influencing the entire BUILDING process from the initial concept TO the unique style of furniture and interior to fit with each zodiac. THE orientation and design of doors, windows, beds and toilets AS WELL AS the interpretation of the FIVE body elements (Fire, Wind, Water, Earth and Metal) ARE ALL CONSTRUCTED to provide balance for MO guests.mo design team seeks new possibilities of spatial organization via the blending of past and present ideologies into a livable sculpture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MO Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mo Rooms Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing