We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of MO Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MO Rooms
Ranked #138 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Exeter
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quirky Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Mo Rooms has a great design atmosphere. The hotel is set back from the street, behind reception and the bar. There's plenty of greenery and the rooms all look great from the outside.

We stayed in the Rooster room which is excellent. A little strange that there is no door to the bathroom - so if you're sharing the room, make sure it's with someone you're comfortable around!

The staff are friendly and there's always a decent English speaker nearby.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmschofield19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    53
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
12
72
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sway, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The initial impression we got on entering MO Rooms was one of complete awe. The place looks great with many quirky features. The concept of a room designed around each animal in the Zodiac is original and rather fun. We chose the Monkey themed room, which although a bit overpriced at ~£60 a night, more than lived up to the MO Rooms motto of "art you can live in". It was unlike anything we have seen before!
There were a few downsides to MO Rooms, but nothing to spoil our stay. Firstly, while the plate of fried rice which I had for breakfast was piping hot, my girlfriends western style breakfasts were luke-warm on both days so had clearly either been sat around for a while or not cooked for long enough. In addition, the process of clearing away toast, coffee, tea and help yourself extras began long before we were finished, so we missed the chance for morning coffee even though it was only 9:45 (breakfast served 7-10am).
Secondly, while enhancing the Monkey jungle theme, the Monkey sound effects going off at regular intervals, day and night, did get irritating. (We assume these were sound effects, otherwise noisy birds living in wall cavities). Additionally when paying for a deluxe-suite, you might expect there to be a decent shower, the one provided was more of a visual feature and could have been more powerful.
The final niggle was that while the pool certainly provided a refreshing dip, it looked barely used and not particularly clean. (Visually very cool again).
It's frustrating that there are these little issues, as the concept, service, and sheer experience are slightly undermined, almost to the point of scoring only 3 out of 5. If returning I might try a cheaper room as these might present better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My partner and I had to cut our stay at one of the 5-star resorts and decided to book Mo Rooms since we did not have much choice then. It's always a challenge to make last minute bookings. We picked Mo Rooms because of the interesting themes of the rooms. We were given the "Rat" themed room. Quite interesting and very convenient because it's on the ground level just next to the pool. BUT, there were a lot of mosquitoes!!!!! We bought a mosquito repellent spray from seven-eleven nearby to spray the room. The room looked a bit tired...you might consider repainting. And please do fogging regularly. Friendly staff. :) Parking was quite difficult to find and narrow road to go in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceegee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel service is good. It's a 3 stars hotel but what is more than 3 stars you can experience is about hotel design and architecture. The location is very convenience. The front of the hotel on the Tha Pae road is just a normal building but the side and back, you can see the outstanding architecture. The hotel has a small pool and lots of plant. Breakfast is good but not great.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights for my first time in Chiang Mai in the rabbit room. The hotel and the room were really nice and confortable. The room is not big but if you're looking for a nice place to stay at night after exploring the city all day, it's perfect. One big con on the rabbit room: it's on the ground floor right where people come and go and the only window of the room is to the pathway... So had to keep the curtain closed all the time.

Location is great. It's pretty quiet even though the street outside is busy as hell. Service is not really good: front desk staff speaks very poor English and is really awkward. Breakfast was supposed to be from 7 to 10. Got there at 7.30 and nothing was set up. What I order was basic and not so good. I ate breakfast outside of the hotel every day after that.

To sum it up: cozy and relaxing place if you explore all day. Maybe a bit expensive. Definitely not a hotel where you lounge around all day (the pool is just for show, very tiny).

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the ground floor (rabbit and dragon I think?), if you're picky about peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed in Rooster room last week, and yes: IT WAS FUN! When I woke up I realised I was sleeping in a bird's nest with sticks all around me and it makes a change from the average hotel room. Yes, it is a funky and unusual location. Friendly receptionists and bar staff. Breakfast could be worked on (staff and food) as the room price of 3.000 is kind of expensive compared to other offerings. Yes, I would stay here again. No I have not been disappointed. If you are longer in the city, why not stay here for one or two nights for the experience and than move on to something more reasonably priced?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyprus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

very interesting designed hotel...piccked up some good ideas for my home...service was good but not excellent..nice swimming pool but cold since the sun can not reach it enough...Goat room was very comfortable . breakfast is average . excellent location /..right in the heart of Chiangmai.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#116 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#74 of 376 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Origin
Hotel de Origin
#140 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vieng Mantra Hotel
Vieng Mantra Hotel
#52 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Happy House
Thapae Happy House
#135 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MO Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MO Rooms

Property: MO Rooms
Address: 263/1-2 Tapae Road | Chang Klan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MO Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MO rooms: Each of the TWELVE rooms is an individual artist’s interpretation of THEIR Chinese Zodiac (Sheng Xiao or Birth Animal). The construction MO’s exterior structure was a collaborative project which saw designers, architects and astrologers piling different sizes of the box-shaped rooms on top of each other in accordance with Feng Shui ASTROLOGY. Artists APPLIED the identity of Birth Animal, influencing the entire BUILDING process from the initial concept TO the unique style of furniture and interior to fit with each zodiac. THE orientation and design of doors, windows, beds and toilets AS WELL AS the interpretation of the FIVE body elements (Fire, Wind, Water, Earth and Metal) ARE ALL CONSTRUCTED to provide balance for MO guests.mo design team seeks new possibilities of spatial organization via the blending of past and present ideologies into a livable sculpture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your MO Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mo Rooms Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing