We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good the 3rd time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Klang Wiang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Klang Wiang
Ranked #5 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Just as good the 3rd time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights at Baan Klang Wiang. It was our 3rd time there and we still love this place.

It is so relaxing and comfortable, both in the rooms and the very beautifully-furnished seating areas in the courtyard.

As before, it was delightful to sit and have our excellent breakfasts in such an attractive setting, plus the always-available good coffee.

The team are very friendly and helpful to assist with any request, and we were always welcomed with big smiles every time we came back through the door.

We hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aandlkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    64
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
184
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
washington, pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Walk inside this hotel and feel as if you have stepped inside another world. Beautiful common areas and rooms. Convenient location to walk everywhere in the city center. The best breakfasts that I experienced in Thailand. Lovely service staff. So much to do in chiang mai - wish I had stayed longer and look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Go_euaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a fantastic little boutique hotel of ten units wrapped around the most charming atrium, part of it open air part of it covered.

All public areas and rooms are furnished with exquisite antique Asian furniture. The location, at the south end of the Old Town is perfect as it permits rapid access to parts of the city ouside the moat yet you are in the middle of all the action.

This little hotel offers Zen-like serenity, an oasis of peace and quiet just steps away from the activities of this buzzling Asian city.

Bee, Nee, Boa and Prak are doing an excellent job in taking care of the facility and its guests. I would definetely go back.

If I wre he owner or manager I would make two changes: I would provide towels, paper or otherwise, in the atrium powder room and I would provide my guests with freshly brewed real coffee. Nescafe just doesn't cut it for Westerners regardless of its poplularity in Asia.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Fantastic location in the old city close to the south side of the moat. Easy walking distance from Wat Chedi Luang. Seven Eleven store is a couple of minutes walk away which is handy. Beautiful public area which comprises of pool area and breakfast area. Reliable wifi. Spacious, beautifully decorated rooms with lovely bathrooms. The bed was incredibly comfortable which is a bit of a rarity in Thailand. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Would advise you to take out a map with the hotel marked on it if you intend to take Tuk Tuks as not all of the drivers seem to know where the hotel is. If driving you might find the road the hotel is on a little hard to spot from the main road (one way street just inside the moat) as it comes off at an angle and is a narrow road. Look out for the seven eleven and the road is just after it. The hotel has off road parking and the staff are happy to guide you in and out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyndylou1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

My friend and I spent 3 days on a recent trip to Chiang Mai and booked this hotel after a recommendation to stay somewhere in the "Old City". The employees were very friendly and helpful. Whenever we were going somewhere, they would write the address in Thai for us so there would be no confusion for the taxi/tuk-tuk drivers. The breakfast included was delicious in a beautiful setting. We were there over Christmas and on Christmas Day when we came back to the hotel, they had hung a sock with a "Merry Christmas" tag and Ferrero Rocher chocolates on the inside, which was not expected. We had free wifi with no problems. Bring the bug spray if you're planning on sitting outside, though!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Everything was so wonderful with all the little touches you wouldn't notice if they weren't there but loved that they were. Breakfast was delicious; fresh pastries regardless of meal chosen, yummy. The bed was so comfy and cozy, I had trouble getting out of it in the morning. The water pressure was great though not super hot.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazytraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

The Klang Wiang is a charming little boutique hotel, located in a quite area of the old city. It is a walk to the night market but there are other places to explore near-by, for example the morning vegetable and food market just a short walk from the hotel.

We stayed in different hotels in Chiang Mai over the last few years and wanted to test something new this time. It was a good choice to stay in the Klang Wiang, the room is tastefully decorated and the staff very friendly and helpful in any way. If you are looking for a small boutique type hotel, this should be on your shortlist.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,014 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klang Wiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klang Wiang

Property: Baan Klang Wiang
Address: 45 Ratchamanka Soi 6, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Klang Wiang 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Baan Klang Wiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Klang Wiang Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing