We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Chiang Mai visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Klang Wiang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Klang Wiang
Ranked #5 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
215 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great base for Chiang Mai visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Klang Wiang for three days and we're very happy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is plenty tourist info available at the hotel. The rooms are very good, with great shower. The breakfast selection you make the night before and is always more than you can eat. The hotel is located within the walls of the old city which makes everything very accessible, either by walking or song thae (red cars). Pickup from airport is very reasonably priced. They also have a small swimming pool, but the time we were there it was too cold to enjoy. I Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pimmetje_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    64
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
183
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This is a fab hotel - stylish and tasteful decor with well equipped rooms and a great boutique feel. The staff are superb, helpful and friendly, and the location of the hotel means that the old city is easily explored on foot.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

This was my 2nd trip to Chiang Mai. I stayed for 3 nights in 2012 but the hotel I booked then was very very basic. This hotel is certainly not basic that's for sure. It's set within the old city walls of Chiang Mai down a small local side street. Do not but put off by the street as there are many hotels located on similar streets and they are quite safe.

Getting there: At Chiang Mai airport you can easily get a taxi which will cost £2.50 and take about 10 mins. Give the taxi driver the address as he may not know the hotel. Upon entry through the front doors you will know you have made the correct choice in a hotel.

Staff: Well it goes without saying in Thailand they are kind and generous and cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. They should be paid ten times what they get.

Rooms: Finished off perfectly. You have a safe, fridge freezer, kettle, hairdryer, shampoos/shower gels etc. Flat screen tv also. The bed was King size and super comfy. Good air con system too. Powerful shower. The floor had lovely dark wood. It really was a very nice room. Oh and there are only 10 rooms so very peaceful and private. Rooms cleaned every day.

Breakfast: This is served 7:30am to 10am. You just fill a small form out the evening before stating your time you would like it and then you have a choice of food, juices. The standard and quality of the food was fantastic. There is also a coffee machine where you can grab a coffee during the day at no charge. The Breakfast is served in the courtyard and you can watch squirrels run around the trees. It's great.

Value: Again this place would be worth double the price.

Location: Five mins walk will take you into the thick of it. The Saturday and Sunday Night markets are almost round the corner as are lots of food stalls. You can literally eat your dinner for 70p. I would recommend vegetarian only though. The meat can be a bit rough. The regular night bazaar is a 5 min tuk tuk ride away. The hotel is in a quite Street so you won't here much noise.

So would I stay here again? In a flash. I may not return to Chiang Mai for many years but if and when I do gosh I hope this place is still here cause it's the ONLY place I would stay!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Justin_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Central location. Quaint rooms but simple. The rooms were comfortable. We wished the hot water was hotter. Very attentive staff. Huge breakfast with many options. Small hotel so not very many people which was nice. The hotel was not known well at all, so many cab/tuk tuk drivers couldn't find it even with the address written in Thai. May I suggest they write directions off of the main street to help them find it. Also the mosquitos were horrible here. We got more bites inside our hotel room and at breakfast here than anywhere else on the rest of our trip. Maybe mosquito netting around the beds would be helpful. We enjoyed our stay but these are just suggestions to help others enjoy their stay even more :).

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main street. Less noise. They gave us an upgrade on our last night becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is by far a gem in the heart of Chiang Mai!!! We didnt even realize we had arrived!! You don't even notice it unless you're looking for it! It has only 10 rooms. Its small but so cute and wonderfully decorated!! It has a small pool witha small area with chairs to eat or we would sit and sip on wine in the evenings sitting around the tropical plants and trees!! I loved it!!! They gave us excellent service!! Rooms are gorgeous and spacious with a huge shower!!! Verry clean and best quality stay!!! Great place to relax!! we hardly ever saw any other occupants!! we felt like we were the only ones there!!! If i ever go back i'm staying at Baan klang wiang for shure!!! And we could walk to nearby restaurants and at night the street gad all kinds of food vendors ect!!! Its in the old city Chiang Mai!! I highly recommend this hotel for couples or buisness, friends looking to relax!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week in Chiang Mai. We stayed in two properties - both very nice - the Kodchasri Thani and Baan Klang Wiang. Baan Klang Wiang was by far our favorite hotel and perhaps one of the nicest boutique hotel experiences we've had anywhere between my very well traveled partner and myself. It certainly ranks in terms of exquisite accommodations, service, charm, cleanliness and quality and compares well with any boutique hotel in Europe or the Americas. We had room #8 which is the only suite in the hotel (upstairs, far corner). Simply beautiful and tastefully appointed 2 room suite with marvelous bathroom. Bedroom featured a 4 poster king size bed and living room had comfortable couch, chairs, television, sitting area, refrigerator. Nice amenities, toiletries, robes. Generous and well done breakfast is ordered the prior day and completely accommodating of varied tastes and choices from full Asian set to American eggs and bacon. No food served other than breakfast though and no bar. Not an issue for us but that may be of issue for others. Service was kind, always present and thoughtful. Truly a delightful tone, style, and comfort to the property. Well situated tucked away in a quiet residential street across from an older, typical Wat but only a quick stroll away from the Chiang Mai Gate street market where food of every kind is sold from various street vendors and there is much to see. Easy to catch a tuk tuk to the Night Bazaar or the various riverside restaurants. Strolling to anywhere within the Old City is easy and relatively quick. Well known restaurant for traditional Northern Thai (better for lunch than dinner IMO) is within easy 10 min stroll (Huen Phen) as is Wat Chedi Luang. Would recommend staying here without any reservations for anyone visiting Chiang Mai....plan to be back again next fall and specifically staying here!

Room Tip: Only 10 rooms on site. We only saw our room - #8 - the suite. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psaseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed in Chiang Mai for three days and stayed at this hotel for all three nights. It was an absolutely lovely hotel with exquisite decor. Rooms were clean and beautifully furnished (simple but elegant). The bed was really comfortable and there was a nice sitting area with sofa near the window overlooking a garden. The bathroom was modern.

The hotel has an inside courtyard with couches, pillows, and lots of plants - it is a very peaceful, quiet, serene setting. This courtyard is also where breakfast was served. We loved the American breakfasts (great pastries!) but the Asian and Thai breakfasts are a little unusual if you are not used to them. There is also a pool in the courtyard - beautiful, but the water was freezing!

The staff was really lovely and very accommodative. They helped us plan all of our tours and were really helpful (although sometimes their English was a bit hard to understand). Also, really nice security guard/door man helped us with our bags upon arrival and greeted us each day.

We picked the hotel for the location - right in the heart of the city. Easy to walk all over the Old City (as everything is within a 2 mile radius. Although the city can be a little tricky to navigate, this hotel actually had helpful signs on some of the major roads to help you find your way back home. We really enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klang Wiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klang Wiang

Property: Baan Klang Wiang
Address: 45 Ratchamanka Soi 6, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baan Klang Wiang 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Baan Klang Wiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Klang Wiang Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing