We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel”
Review of Sirilanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sirilanna Hotel
Ranked #53 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a charming hotel in the Old City of Chiang Mai. It is very well located for the Sunday market and only a short ride away from the famous night market. The rooms are beautifully appointed and traditionally Thai in style.

My only gripe with the hotel was that there were three of us staying in a room but they only catered for two people during the whole of our stay, which we felt a little unfair.

The breakfasts are satisfactory, although not as goon as some of the other hotels we stayed at in Thailand.

There are mosquitoes in the rooms, but luckily we were provided with a plug in repellent, which helped.

They have a wonderful person on reception who helps organise trips at exceptionally reasonable rates. We hired a driver from them for the whole day and it cost us under £20!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy_LouBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas break, the hotel is 3 stories Lanna style.

The rooms were fine (except for the hospital green painted walls), the only down side of the rooms was the abundance of mosquitoes, the corridors leading to the rooms were full of them, lots of guests were covered in bites, I complained to the hotel but nothing much was done about it. Funnily we weren't bitten in any other places in Chiang Mai - only the hotel.

The only other annoying thing was the old lady at the Tours Desk who became quite annoying in the way she pushed tours every day as soon as she saw you. And lastly leaving fold up beds in the corridors for our entire stay is a bit tacky.

Would I stay at this hotel again - probably not, there are better properties outside the town walls.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalNomad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My sister and I visited Chiang Mai 11/26/11-11/29/11. We stayed at the Sirilanna because we saw a discount on the room rate just before we departed for our trip. It was a very quiet location in the Old City and it was a good location. They had a wonderful free breakfast every morning by the pool which wasn't huge but good enough after a long day of site seeing. There was free internet on the 2nd floor by a small library - the only free hotel internet we found on the trip! The staff was very friendly and the hotel/room was clean. We emailed the staff just before we arrived to ask for an airport pick-up. They did not email back but a nice air conditioned van was waiting for us with the driver holding a card with our name on it at the airport. This was free and they also took us back to the airport for free when we left - also the only free hotel airport transfers we found on the trip. We were able to walk to any of the street markets at night. The Night Bazzar was about a 20 minute walk (we enjoy the exercise) but we only needed to go there one night and it was worth the walk. The River was just past the Night Bazzar so also about a 20 minute walk. We took a river cruise through Mae Ping River Cruise Co. It stops at a turn around point for some tea and fruit at a little cooking school. The guide didn't really speak English well so there was not commentary along the cruise about the sites. Overall not too exciting but we had 2 hours to kill and it was 200 baht. We ate one night at the Tamarind Village not far from the hotel - the wine was more expensive than the food but we sat out by the pool and the setting was beautiful with a few musicians playing softly in the background. The dinner for the 2 of us was 1,500 baht ($52) - pretty much our most expensive meal the whole trip. Strongly advise eating dinner from street vendors at the night markets - it's much cheaper and much more delicious. While in Chiang Mai, we went on a day mountain biking trip through Chiang Mai Mountain Biking. The office was in the old city, run by American/British group who spoke English as did all the guides. They were very friendly and knowledgeable. It was 1,400 baht (about $40) for a van ride up the mountains, all equipment, the guided ride down and a nice lunch. If you enjoy exercise and want to see what's outside the city, this is recommended. Must get a Thai massage - lots of places to choose from - you can find them for 150-200 baht. FYI, if you want to spend a day with the elephants, do it in Chiang Mai but book it before you go on your trip. They book out a month in advance. Patara Elephant camp let's you spend the day caring for the elephants not just riding them. It's expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMK109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Me and my wife stayed at the Sirilanna for seven nights from 21st November 2011 until the 28th November 2011. I enjoyed our stay very much and would stay there again.

Good Points:
1. Very good location in the Old City. Restaurants, Massage Parlours, Shops, Laundry's all within walking distance. Night Bazaar, Saturday and Sunday Walking Markets all walking distance.
2. Taxis available as soon as you walk out of hotel either on the street corner or passing by.
3. Staff are very polite and friendly although some them had very poor English
4. Rooms are a decent size and very quirky with a Thai Lanna style and a very quirky bathroom. A decent Jacuzzi in the bathroom.
5. A choice of three types of breakfast; American, Continental and Thai. Freshly made and good portions which easily keep you going until lunch.
6. Decent WIFI across hotel
7. Very nice transport from Airport and back.

Bad Points:
1. We stayed on the top floor which is two Storeys up. We could hear all the passers by, Cars, drunken tourists from street level. If your a very light sleeper, than this will be a problem.
2. The curtains in the room were definitely not Black out curtains. The Street lights lit up the room and the room was light and bright as soon as the first rays of sunshine came out in the morning.
3. We stayed in room 303. There was some neglect of the room. The cupboards and wardrobes could do with tightening of the screws and some WD40. Bathroom could also do with some touch ups ie some of the silicon was mouldy around the bath tub and showers. I also noticed a few loose tiles.
4. Mosquito's were also a bring problem. As the room was not far from ground level, as soon as sunset hit they were everywhere. We just made sure we kept our balcony door shut after dark to stop them getting in.
5. TV has about 40 Channels but most of them don't work or have very poor reception.

I have no hesitation in staying here again and have made a point about the negative aspects so other TAs are aware. This is a unique hotel in a great location but you are staying at a very good 3.5 Star possibly push it to a basic 4 star, definitely not a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Javed817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Siriliana is set in the Old Town of Chiang Mai and is a really lovely boutique hotel. The rooms are beautifully presented. The bathrooms are outstanding with Jacuzzi and large walk-in shower rooms. We only had breakfast at the Sirilana but that was very nice too.

However, what really makes this an outstanding hotel is the staff. They are excellent. Welcoming, friendly, very helpful, nothing is too much trouble. On the second day of our stay, it was around 8.00am and we were about to go on a tour (organised by the wonderful Miss Sophie) when my boyfriend asked if they could inform the tour company that it was my birthday. He left it at that and we went to have breakfast. About 15-minutes later, they all walked in singing happy birthday along with a birthday cake. This was just one example of the fantastic level of service we received during our stay and a great start to our holiday.

We also booked three tours through them and they were all excellent particularly the two-day trek with Panda Tours to the Chiang Mai Elephant Camp for Mahout Training and white-water rafting with Peak Adventure – both truly amazing experiences.

Would definitely recommend a stay here..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisto75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Everything about this hotel was perfect. The location is close to the sites as well as some good restaurants and the Staurday market. The room was large and clean with a very nice and comfy bed. Breakfast, served by the pool if you so desire, was excellent. We used the pool every day, ery refreshing. The staff is always present for your needs and with a smile.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heloguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Wonderful service (airport transfer!), people, location (walk everywhere, you REALLY need fast exit from the scrum of Sunday market!), totally romantic (4poster bed, in-room jac), peaceful setting with serene architecture: totally an oasis. Staff helpful, found our mobile phone charger and returned it : ) very good service on email before and after trip. Restaurant tip: staff mentioned Huen Phen http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g293917-d1210654-Reviews-Huen_Phen-Chiang_Mai.html which is (almost) just round the corner, or if that's too far to walk, other smaller restaurants were also good

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimCCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#34 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#29 of 395 in Chiang Mai
528 reviews
1.8 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai Akara - Lanna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirilanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirilanna Hotel

Address: 89/3 Ratchapakinai Road | Phrasing Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £65 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirilanna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirilanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirilanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing