We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Botique Excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sirilanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sirilanna Hotel
Ranked #47 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
ormeau
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Botique Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

From the minute we where picked up from the airport in an air conditioned luxury vehicle, we had a great feeling about this place.
At 08.30 am we where then checked into our fantastic pool view room. The room we picked was on the ground floor and had a huge picture window. The room was furnished with hand carved furniture and a bed dig enough for a king. The bathroom had the largest round spa bath we have ever had the opportunity to bath in. There was also a separate rain shower. The staff where considerate and always willing to help in any way possible.
On one occasion we asked about the best way to visit the tigers, the receptionist organized the hotel transport and driver and herself to take us and return for a very modest price.
We would return here in the future and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derick1cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    129
    39
    10
    1
See reviews for
56
245
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

A beautiful boutique hotel. The furnishings were beautiful and the staff lovely. Breakfast was served around the pool. The room was good size, beautifully furnished with a spa bath and seperate shower in a good size bathroom. All balconys looked over the pool. A little gem in the heart of Chaing Mai. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

Was picked up in the airport and had a nice ride to the hotel. We was tired after a long journey (from Copenhagen). Got our nice room at once, with jacuccibath, and shower. The bedroom had a four poster bed and a 40´ LCD television. It was in Lanna style.

We stayed at the hotel 6 nights. The staff was wonderful. Especially the girl in the reception (sorry, forgot the name) and Sofia at thr tourdesk. The hotel is close to the sunday market. It has several resturants in the neighbourhood. We tried the food once in the hotel , and it was very good.
The breakfast could perhaps bee better. It was no buffé. You had to order everything you wanted. It tasted good and you could get everything.

If back in Chianf Mai we would come back and live in Sirilanna again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a123ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel as a part of our honeymoon and we loved it. We were upgraded to a better room and also they let us check in at around 7am when we arrived by the overngiht train from Bangkok which was really nice of them. We got a room on the ground floor right next to the swimming pool.
The location is very good. It is in the old part of the city with everything around inlcuding shops, restaurants, bars, 7-11, exchange and also right next to sunday walking street.
The room is amazing. Bathroom is the size of regular living room with a big shower for two, jacuzzi tub and a lovely water basin. Most of the furniture is made from carved teak wood and it looks nice! There is also a safe and small refrigerator in the room as well as a big LCD with few channels, none of them really good but hey, who wants to watch TV in Thailand, rightt? It was cleaned daily and we really enjoyed staying there :) There were some mosquitos in the room so thats why only 4 stars for Sleep quality.
Swimming pool si very nice size and very refreshing since the water is little cold but it is just what you need when you get back from a days trip.
They also have a travel desk where you can arrange most of your trips. Although we arranged most of them beforehand we never felt too stressed to use their services.
Staff was excellent, very helpfull and always smiling. We felt very welcome.
Breakfast, although served, was very generous and included joghurt, fruit, juices, coffee, eggs, bacon, sausage, ham, french toast, pancaces and more. Enough to get you started.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

We spent 4 weeks touring Thailand, north and south. Also been to Thailand on previous occasions so we have plenty of hotels against which to compare.We stayed 4 nights at the Sirilanna. Initially stayed at another hotel in Chiang Mai but decided we wanted to be more centrally located.We first did a 'walk in' inspection where we were shown around the hotel and the rooms. The hotel is a small privately owned hotel with 13 rooms. We were impressed by the place as it suited us. We wanted a change from the so called larger 4/5 star 'chain' hotels. We did however book our room on line as this gave us a better deal than the quoted rack rate. We found everything about the hotel to our satisfaction. The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful without being intrusive. The breakfast was good, served outside our room by the pool. The room we had was clean, 4 poster bed and flat screen tv. Bathroom has a very large bath tub and also a separate, very large and effective shower.There was free internet and a really nice touch was a complimentary 'happy hour' for a pre dinner drink. The hotel was located within the moated area of the city and was therefore conveniently located with a 'negotiated' 50 BTH fare to most places such as the river area, night market and the inner city temples.What really made our stay enjoyable was the friendlyness of the staff and the homeliness of the place when compared with some of the larger hotels. There are some rooms around the pool area so no stairway access is required. Rooms on the upper floors need stairway access.There was free transportation to the airport in a new clean mini bus.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briarsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

Beautiful room, clean, with modern lanna decoration. Lovely staff in a boutique hotel which is an oasis in this vibrant Thai town.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-anneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

The couples reviews were so good I chose this hotel for our honeymoon. The room is exactly what you see in the picture and the hotel itself is beautiful and convenient.
I was told how easy it was to book things through hotels once you were in Thailand, but the language barrier was very great at this hotel and simple communication seemed challenging. But all in all the staff was very friendly.
Our room was at the end of a hallway that was dimmly lit and lacked good light to unlock the padlock for our door. There was only one key for this, so if I was in the room and my husband was in the computer room the door remained unlocked. Even though it is safe here, we didn't care for this.
The first day there was a fowl smell from the shower as the pipes warmed up but we never experienced that again.
The room had beautiful details but the netting on the bed was decorative and we had many mosquitoes in our room which was not so pleasant. We did have them spray the last night we were there but it didn't help much.
In the same way the bathroom was beautiful but nothing was quite where it should be, the toilet paper was very low to the ground, the sinks did not drain well and the bar of soap and the soap dish were not in the same place at first. Silly but it took a little while to orient. The plug situation was also odd! But the airconditioning was good, the hot water was good, shower presure so-so.
The computer room has three highspeed internet connections but when we went to take notes realized there are none of the business amenities usually found in a computer center, such as paper and pens.
The breakfasts were ok, nothing special.

But we loved our location and were very happy visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsieurTofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#17 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#40 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#57 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.8 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirilanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirilanna Hotel

Property: Sirilanna Hotel
Address: 89/3 Ratchapakinai Road | Phrasing Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirilanna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sirilanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirilanna Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing