We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine”
Review of Joy's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Joy's House
Ranked #4 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Fantastic experience. Warm and engaging hosts who will stop at nothing to ensure that you have a great stay. Charming location - you will get lost once or twice but once you learn to follow the river you will come to enjoy being a little away from the hustle and bustle of the city streets and in a more authentic location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legsdontfailmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    62
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
205
178
105
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Joy's House is really special not just in Thailand but all over the world. We stayed here two weeks in December 2013 and booked not just the room and dinner but also a week with cultural program and a three-day-trip to the Golden Triangle. You'll find really nice rooms (our luxury room had plenty of space and beautiful decoration and lot of green around), lot of space outside to sit and relax between tropical trees and flowers, a small garden, a swimming pool, a large open breakfast area, a Yoga hall, massage rooms, an open dining area etc. We loved to sit on the colourful seats around and be a part of the vibrant life in the house. Dinner and breakfast were amazing and the students always tryed to be considerate of our various allergies.

The most important and valuable part of this accomodation are the people who live and work here, the professionals and also the students and the children of the Children's Shelter Foundation who stay here sometimes on special occasions. They are all so lovely, so warm-hearted, attentive and helpful at every time, very professional in organising and operating the different trips, that we felt very well from the first moment when they catched us at the airport and the whole time. Especially the trips to the temples of the old city and of Doi Suthep, to the farm of the CSF and to the National Park we enjoyed very very much and will never forget. Even when we had some very special wishes they supported us with patience and compassion. We never found this before on one of our numerous journeys. It was so nice to be here that we changed our plans and came back after some days in the south for Christmas celebration. So we would like to say "Thank you" to the whole "joy's house family" again, with our very best wishes! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnandaSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We love the people, the environment, the breakfast, the services, the cats and dogs......all the things at Joy's house. We had been in the old city for several nights before we moved here, we liked taking a bycicle ride or just walking nearby to see the life of local persons in Chiang Mai. There are 7-11 shop, Express Lotus supermarket, and a medium local market no far away. The swimming pool is lovely, my son like it very much. You can find the most relaxing way for yourself easily.

Joy, the owner of this guest house, also co-owns a Children's Shelter Foundation which locating at a farm. The kids are really impressive, they lead a peaceful and happy life there. Strongly recommend you join the programme staying with the kids at farm during weekend to feel a special life style, which may inspire ourselves a lot.

Room Tip: The room near the swimming poor is quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I like the place, the people, the food, the band, the tour package, etc. My family and I are absolutely satisfied with Joy's House tour package to the North Thailand in 3 Days 2 Nights. Here, I want to convey my appreciation to the tour guide, named Boy, who is patient, warm and wonderful. Another excellent service by Joy's House was the preparation of breakfast at 0530 a.m. specially for us. Our flight was at 0730 a.m. and we had to leave for the airport at 0600 a.m. We asked for early breakfast, and Joy, who is the co-owner, agreed to arrange the breakfast, though simple, specially for without a second thought. We were so thankful and impressive with their warmth and superb service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woon-Hui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We loved this place. Such a great atmosphere. The people really care. Great room. Great breakfast. Excellent service. The location is a bit away from the action, but with a free shuttle twice a day, it's no problem, and there are pros to being in a quieter part of town. The pool could be a little warmer ;-) Definitely refreshing!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family room was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octogarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Joys House is definitely something different.
The staff is very kindly and attending. We had a King room which was very big and nice with plenty of space for 2 extra beds for our children at 6 and 9. The bed was too soft for me (!!) but others found it nice.
Around the guesthouse are many cosy corners with soft chairs and matresses. perfect for chilling out. A big plus is the free wifi and the fact that they have a decent redwine at only 100 baht a glass.
The pool is ok but pretty small. Ok for the kids to play in but not for swimming.
many nice cats and dogs to play with.
Many children. Both good and bad.
The restaurant had a thai set dinner every night at 300 baht and the alacarte selection was not very big.
The breakfast buffet was ok - with a concept of self making the eggs, veggies and so on. I thought it took too much time when I was hungry on the morning but others liked it a lot. The bar worked the same way.
We particepated in their cooking class which was great. Especially the part where we were taken to the local market to shop. Our cooking teacher Chambee was very informative and charming. The cooking was relaxing and fun (our childre also parrticipated) but I missed a little more information of how and what we were cooking.
They have free bikes to borrow. Also for children. A nice little local neighborhood in walking distance with a few groceries. The big Rimping supermarket within 20 min of walking.
All in all a very nice relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

What a place! We were three friends staying at Joy's for one week. We had a GREAT experience we never will forget. Very friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Joy's place is so harmonic and cozy. We loved the decoration, the pool, the simple, but nice rooms, the self service bar, and last but not least the simple, but delicious breakfast. We really enjoyed how we were able to cook our own eggs, waffles and toast in the morning.
Even though Joy's place is 15 minutes from downtown Chiang Mai, it is a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quiet place and something else from the other typical tourist hotels in Chiang Mai. We attended both the cooking class and a day tour to the Children's Shelter Foundation that they offer at the hotel. We had a UNFORGETTABLE experience for life.

First of all the cooking class was so nice, and well organized. We used the bicycles to the market for grocery shopping which was a very nice experience in itself. And then we got to choose 5 dishes that we wanted to learn how to cook. A perfect evening with tasty at delicious Thai food!

The visit to the Children's Shelter Foundation was a new experience to all the three of us.
What a wonderful place, and how great and rewarding it is to see that these kids live in such a nice farm and that they will have a much better life. And we are helping do this by staying at Joy's! It's truly amazing!
We got to pick different vegetables on the farm, and had dinner with the children, they were so polite and cute. We even went to the "hot springs" with them after dinner for a nice, warm bath.
It was hard holding back the tears! Really wanna come back soon!
Thank you so much, Joy and the rest of the staff, for enriching our lives with this experience.
Love from Norway; Barbara, Roar & Line

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Line R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
2.8 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy's House

Property: Joy's House
Address: 114 Moo 9, Sanpeesue Village, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Joy's House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawas dee kah,...We invite you to stay with our family in comfortable traditional houses in our tropical garden with Spa, Massage and Swimming Pool. Our restaurant will offer you the authentic Thai kitchen. We also guide you through NorthThailand. You will experience Thailand beyond the beaten tourist paths. Further more you can visit our Social Project „Children’s Shelter Foundation“ in the mountains. Warmheartedly welcome Joy & Ulli - Joy’s House Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Joy's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joy`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing