We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overall - but a few glitches”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tonnam Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tonnam Homestay
Ranked #22 of 717 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good overall - but a few glitches”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The good; friendly staff / rooms are nice / food is good / a/c works / nice view / internet works

The not so good;
- location is outside Chiang Mai, so transportation is limited (taxi is 240bhat into town)
- cobwebs from light fixtures in rooms
- communications with each of the two owners were not consistent causing stress and dissatisfaction
- very low water pressure, sometimes no hot water
- advertise that airport connections are included. Not the case. We booked a total of 16 room nights, with a 2 day trip in the middle to a small village further north. Thus 2 pick-ups and 2 drop-offs. I had to pay for 3 of the 4.
- 500bhat for cooking class, which was great..but you are not told you are charged another 350baht to eat the food you cooked !!

We have stayed at 3 other guest houses in Chaing Mai previously. I scored all of them 4 or 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john_the_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    40
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
118
109
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

What a great place! Cecile and Yul really have got right. A beautiful traditional teak house by the river with lovely rooms, very friendly staff and a really relaxed ambience. Food not bad either!!!!
You do need to go by taxi to get to the centre, but for a truly traditional experience that is a very small price to pay. We have just spent four nights there and loved every second. Can't recommend it highly enough. Well done Cecile, Yul and all the helpers (especially Pom the chef, the happiest woman we have ever met!!!).

Room Tip: The deluxe room is bigger than the standard but are both same quality and in the main part of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

After 2 days of travel from Ko Tao straight through to Ciang Mai, I immediately felt right at home at the Tonnam Homestay. The place has a pleasant 'vibe' and the staff seem genuinely pleased to be working there. I enjoyed spending some time in the kitchen :-)

The Homestay is more suited towards couples or family, but I felt very well here as a 'solo traveller'.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

It's not in the center of Ciang Mai, but it's no problem to get back and forth.

I look forwards to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Lovely guesthouse run by lovely people! Owners Yul and Cecile are fluent in French, Thai and English which made things very easy for the multinational guests!

The dinners prepared by the resident Chef, Pom (and her assistants) was amongst the best food we had eaten in Thailand. She is also happy for you to assist if you are keen to learn some Thai cooking techniques!

We stayed in a poolside bungalow which was very nice.

The location is away from the hustle & bustle of downtown Chiang Mai which is a bonus in my opinion.

You are really made to feel part of the family at Tonnam - I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Cecile and Yul, are wonderfull owners and operators, attention to detail, very classy rooms and clean bathrooms. We had two rooms from the 7th to 9th of September and it was the best decision we made. We arrived by train and Cecile was there to pick us up at the station, and had organized a very tasty lunch for us. Its very good value and the dinner we had the night before we left was the best meal we had in thailand.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NajmulKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HongKong
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We just came back from a 5 days stay at Tonnam Homestay. It was our first time to chiang mai and we made a right choice to have relaxing holidays here.

It's excellent value homestay in chiang mai. Our bungalow is room no.1, spacious, clean and well wooden decoration, bed is comfortable. The hosts Yui and Cecile are very nice and made us feel like at home. They helped us to arrange one day trip, bring us to visit local market, and do oil massage. And staffs are friendly and always smiling :)

Another highlight is meal, we didn't leave to find any restaurant from outside and stayed here to enjoy every lunch and dinner, the thai food was definite delicious, a little bit spicy, like dim sum, pork salad, soup rice with shrimp, curry chicken, chocolate cake, thai desserts ... all home made by "ah sim" Pom together with three girls in open kitchen. Luckily we had a chance to enjoy a big dinner ( thai style barbecue ).

Most of time we stayed here have a swim, listen music, chat with Yui and cook with Pom. It's a perfect place to relax ... Thanks to Yui, Cecile and Pom gave us amazing holidays. We certainly come back soon as honeymoon and strongly recommend my friends to choose this ONE !

Lily & MC

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCKwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in july in this confortable Homestay, mostly thanks to the couple of owners, Cecile and Yul, who are bringing a personnal attention to their customers but without any excess.
Your requests will have a quick and effective answer (they didn't hesitate to change the bed mattress which confort was a bit hard for us ...)

The wooden bungalows are nice with a bathroom in a natural decor.
The swimming pool above the river is highly awaited after a hot day passed in Chiang Mai area.

You should not miss having a dinner at the Homestay because :
- the cooking is of high quality and remarkably tasty (Pom is a very good cook but also a very kind person),
- the opened dining room above the river is particularly nice in the evening,
- the owners are succeeding in creating a very convivial atmosphere by naturally facilitating links between the customers.

Chiang Mai center is not so far (15/20 minutes). A drop service is proposed in the Homestay and you can take a tuk tuk for the way back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.1 mi away
Villa San Pee-Seua
Villa San Pee-Seua
#28 of 717 in Chiang Mai
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#4 of 717 in Chiang Mai
701 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chiang Mai House for Dreamer
Chiang Mai House for Dreamer
#80 of 717 in Chiang Mai
56 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baitong Homestay
Baitong Homestay
#62 of 806 in Chiang Mai
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonnam Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonnam Homestay

Property: Tonnam Homestay
Address: 216 Pa Tan Road | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 717 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonnam is a traditional Thai house on the Ping River bank. The property includes 6 bungalows around an infinity edge swimming-pool and 4 bedrooms in the teak house. Each accommodation has its own private bathroom with hot water and its balcony with swimming pool and/or river view. At home, we organize Thai cooking classes and massages with professional masseuse. On your arrival, you will always be personally welcomed by the owners themselves: Cecile and Yul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tonnam Homestay Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing